Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nz

Good location

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Classic backpackers dig ... Very helpful staff and reasonably priced
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Coast

Great location. Cheap room that sufficed.

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Wotif
You get what you psy for. Don't expect much though breakfast was poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Affordable backpackers close to Central Station

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities a bit worn down & old.
Location: Close to Central station.
You are obviously getting what you pay for, but I've certainly stayed in worse places. Very basic facilities even for an individual single room with shared bathrooms, but I was just after a place to sleep really &this was fine for what I needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK cheap room

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
You get what you pay for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Wotif
Friendly staff, less facilities (I stayed in a shared 4-bed dorm, can't expect more). Otherwise bathrooms were clean and room was okay. Not bad. Would recommend for a cheap stay in CBD.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good location comes at a cost.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Wotif
The hostel was ideally located for our weekend convention. Short walk away from a lot of nice places to eat and from the harbour. Unfortunately the state of the hostel is very shoddy. The bathrooms don't drain well so there is always a wet floor for hours after someone has showered. The rooms are pretty small (which is what your paying for really) but were comfortable enough for the short amount of time spent in there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Au

Please do not book through wotif or anyone else.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Wotif
This hostel is a disgrace! The people who run this hostel have no care for peoples safety. The rooms, showers and toilets are disgusting. We refused to stay even one night. Wotif refused refund as did hostel management.PLEASE DON'T STAY HERE YOU'LL RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY. P.S I HAVE REPORTED THEM TO AUTHORITIES REGARDING ELECTRICAL HAZARDS AND LACK OF HYGIENE.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water!

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location and price. Beds quite comfortable and clean.
Cons: Please fix plumbing and nails sticking out of floorboards.
Location: Chinatown and great eateries close by.
Great location, good price, bit noisy outside but to be expected in city centre. Room quite clean and bed quite comfortable, with clean sheets. Shared bathroom had no running hot water - both morning and evening! Thank goodness it was a warm day! Went to get a glass of water in shared kitchen late at night and dirty dishes, cups, cutlery all over the place - really filthy. It was cleaned up in the morning, though. Good solid construction so couldn't hear any other guests. We stayed in family room no. 3 and there were a couple of large nails sticking out of the floorboards in the middle of the room. I was barefoot so could have injured myself really badly. We covered them up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Orange

budget accom in the CBD

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: it's position in the CBD
Location: Central station and Chinatown.
it's right there, next to Central, at Chinatown. It is budget accommodation in the centre of the City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Stephens

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: Centre of Chinatown. Ideal if you like yum cha and markets.
Old building. Very basic. But it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Worst part was road work below our window all night. Might want to check if the road works are complete before choosing to stay.