Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Au

Please do not book through wotif or anyone else.

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Wotif
This hostel is a disgrace! The people who run this hostel have no care for peoples safety. The rooms, showers and toilets are disgusting. We refused to stay even one night. Wotif refused refund as did hostel management.PLEASE DON'T STAY HERE YOU'LL RUIN YOUR HOLIDAY. P.S I HAVE REPORTED THEM TO AUTHORITIES REGARDING ELECTRICAL HAZARDS AND LACK OF HYGIENE.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water!

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location and price. Beds quite comfortable and clean.
Cons: Please fix plumbing and nails sticking out of floorboards.
Location: Chinatown and great eateries close by.
Great location, good price, bit noisy outside but to be expected in city centre. Room quite clean and bed quite comfortable, with clean sheets. Shared bathroom had no running hot water - both morning and evening! Thank goodness it was a warm day! Went to get a glass of water in shared kitchen late at night and dirty dishes, cups, cutlery all over the place - really filthy. It was cleaned up in the morning, though. Good solid construction so couldn't hear any other guests. We stayed in family room no. 3 and there were a couple of large nails sticking out of the floorboards in the middle of the room. I was barefoot so could have injured myself really badly. We covered them up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Orange

budget accom in the CBD

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: it's position in the CBD
Location: Central station and Chinatown.
it's right there, next to Central, at Chinatown. It is budget accommodation in the centre of the City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Stephens

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Lastminute
Location: Centre of Chinatown. Ideal if you like yum cha and markets.
Old building. Very basic. But it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Worst part was road work below our window all night. Might want to check if the road works are complete before choosing to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from regional NSW

nice stroll to the city centre

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: in the heart of the city, a hop skip and jump from central train station
Cons: the size of the shower cubicals, perhaps somewhere where people could get changed, unless you want to scare other hostel guest with a nudie run
Location: paddys markets, george street.
our room was very basic, small the showers are suitable for very skinny people who can whirl around like superman in his phone box, to get changed into their clean dry clothes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will stay again

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: .Very safe and secure, clean, great central location, staff very helpful and friendly. Beds comfortable and clean.
Cons: only complaint was that the pillows were a bit flat so hard on the neck.
Location: Central Station, Power house Museum, Markets, plenty of food places
very friendly staff, very clean and a great central location. Great size family room for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Affordable and convenient - Close to city & Market

Posted May 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The friendly hosts and guests.
Cons: Fresh paint and really good scrub in the bathrooms.
Location: Markets and city right at you doorstep.
It has been very good, the people are very nice and friendly. The general areas are kept clean, though is still quite dirty. Just a few things could really make it much better and lighter. The rooms have been warm and linen is provided with a small breakfast, tea and coffee. Bonus!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms were filthy with splats all over wall and crumbs on sheet ( and a pube ) so obviously don't change sheets . Black mould covering bathroom walls and soap scum ext . Beds lumpy and they don't wash mink blanket so smelly and gross . No real welcome or goodbye just a grunt . Kitchen fairly clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, NSW

The Essentials Were Clean, But...

Posted May 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Price & location. Nice receptionists.
Cons: Cleanliness of the public areas - all need a thorough scrub; but the towels, sheets, pillows plus sinks, toilets and shower stalls were clean.
Location: An easy walk from Central Station, close to the Capitol Theatre, 15 minute stroll to the Queen Victoria Building.
It's very basic old-style pub accomodation. I had a double bed to myself with shared bath; on George Street, an easy walk from Central Station. The receptionist was kind and pleasant. 20 dollar room key deposit, returned on departure. I am confident that the pillows, the sheets on the bed and the towels were clean. Not so sure about the blanket on the bed: I didn't let it touch me or my belongings. The mattress was thin but ok for one night. The floor was clean. The moulding along the floor was thick with dust. There was a large, new, effective fan I used and a small flat screen tv I didn't. The ceiling in one of the 2 toilets on my floor was water damaged, stained and crumbling plaster. The basin and the toilet were clean. I didn't use the shower; it was shared on a mixed gender floor and felt way less private than I'm comfortable with. For both sets of showers, a plastic curtain covered the doorway to two shower stalls with doors, and there was another, also clean basin. I was only there for one night, so that was ok, but I wouldn't be comfortable with that situation if I'd've stayed longer. The public spaces weren't well presented. The kitchen needs a thorough scrub. I washed my teacup before (and of course, after) I used it. Mostly for student & backpackers. You get what you pay for: it suited my purpose for one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Noisy but very Center location.