Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Posted Feb 11, 2017
The location of the hotel is good. But the hotel is very old and is lacking detail cleaning. From the carpet to the bathroom not clean. Is you want wifi you need to pay for it. By mistake I left my room without my key. I had to pay $20 dollars for them to open my room. we booked the airport shuttle thru the Hotel $14 per person total of $56 dollars. The shuttle never arrived for us. We waited from 7:29AM to 8:18AM. We had to take our own taxi and pay $60 to the taxi. I'm assume my $56 are not going to be refunded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location Fantastic

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Location Location, excellent views, great price for the Penthouse suite
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hunter.

Ignorance is bliss

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The door locked
Cons: Seriously?
Location: Oxford st, says it all.
Oxford st Sydney!!! Ok if your an alternate gay maniac. WOW. The hotel was hot, humid, cramped and noisy. Shower handles fell off, probably cracked a tile, who know's. the bed squeaked and the mattress was from the 70s. All in all an hilarious adventure but never I mean never again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Business travelers

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Wotif
I was in the roof top room which had just been refurbished so it was very clean, but as a business traveler, there was no table or chairs in the room, had to work on the bed, no blinds so room was very bright early in the morning. Due to room being on the rooftop there was constantly someone outside of my door smoking. As a business traveler I would never stay there again. If I was on holidays with my wife, maybe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Convenient and reasonable

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: My particular room had an AWESOME VIEW and a nice terrace.
Cons: This hotel desperately needs an elevator. The staff was nice, but they could use lessons on "going out of their way to be attentive".
Location: Convenient to downtown. Excellent bus service to CBD outside the door.
Though my room was nice and the view was outstanding, I was not happy with the fact that the hotel had no elevator. The room was clean and the staff was "OK", but the hallway and staircase was shabby. The location was convenient to almost all of the tourist sites and especially Hyde Park. The first two nights were very reasonable in price, but when I extended the room for a 3rd night (which happened to be a Friday), the cost of the room doubled and it was not a bargain for that 3rd night. It took 70 steps to reach my room, so I don't recommend this hotel for someone who may have a problem climbing stairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Bad in all senses

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Absolutely nothing...dont stay here. The hotel is located in a bad area.
Cons: Close to a fetish sex shop, adult shops and a liqour shop. This place is not for families.
Location: Close to sydney city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, outdated facilities
Cons: Outdated facilities, no lift, stairs on a slight lean
Location: Great location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The room appears to have not been updated for over 20 years. Plumbing drips water continuously. Entrance to hotel was not clean. No elevator to rooms. WIFI is not included in the rooms, and the WIFI availability is not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Good for lower-priced hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Must be close to the gay heart of the city. Plenty of takeaway food nearby, restaurants, pubs, mini marts and other shops.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. My wife was concerned about one of the windows not closing properly, but in the end, I don't think it mattered (2nd-floor room). There was distinct wear and repair on some of the tiles in the bathroom, but it looked like part of the history of the building. If that is the case, I would leave it as it is! There was nothing unsafe about it. Lugging the luggage up the stairs was difficult (I'm not young), but the guy on the desk was happy to help. This hotel is mainly about the rooms; there is a reception desk, a single chair and a small table down stairs, but that was it - nothing fancy. That said, it didn't make any difference to the room! The bathroom was clean and worked fine. There were the usual things: tea/coffee, fridge, microwave, etc. There was nothing you could buy at the hotel (no vending machines, bar facilities, etc), but there were plenty of food shops and a couple of 24-hour minimart-type shops nearby (across the road) so supplies were easy to get. There is NO PARKING as part of the hotel, so great for backpackers, but not much good for those with a car (I don't know where you'd park if you had a car). A great room, but no good if you need parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Excellent room for the price

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The location. Waking up to see the Harbour Bridge from my bed. Price was extremely good.
Cons: There are so many bloody stairs, not that this can be changed, but it was a challenge.
Location: Oxford street is full of life and entertainment. Never a dull moment, even at 4am!
We really enjoyed this accommodation. Excellent location. Price was good. It's original and charming. Not a high class hotel but did everything we needed. Management was excellent. Be warned, there are HEAPS of stairs. It's a tall thin building so be prepared to go up and up and up!