Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Nice Place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Handy to everything.
Didn't like the climb up 2 flights of stairs as the lift stops at level 4. I was put on level 5. Hotel room's need a good makeover as they are very rundown looking. The hotel is handy to bus stop, train station and taxi rank. Supermarket also close by. Lots of places to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Good boutique hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel is close to train station, weekend market, Coles is just down the street, and there is a 24hrs pie face. 4 stars for facilities as the lift is scary for start
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to get into the centre of Sydney

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Easy access to the city.
Cons: Sound proof rooms more and replace teabags, used cups etc. When the room is serviced.
Location: Excellent location. Good food options especially Parson's.
Had to move rooms after one night due to early morning rubbish collections but then the room was quiet. The staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, basic Central Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Check-in after 23 hours flying was a bit slow. This was mainly because someone took a long time complaining about internet connection,
Location: Location is perfect, underground nearby and nice restaurants all within walking distance
My stay was fine, room clean, staff nice, central location. I only need a hotel room to store my luggage and sleeping so this served my needs ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok but not stellar

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room layout and decor
Location: Great location close to all amenities
First room was awful but after negotiation was upgraded to an acceptable room. Leaking plumbing in bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great staff, not so good location/policies

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Staff, friendliness, cleanliness
Cons: Cancellation policy; more information about what the hotel offers (and doesn't), so people can make an informed decision before booking.
Location: There is a great Cafe and Wine bar, Uliveto, down the street (to the right of the hotel). The staff is very friendly and the food is delicious.
The staff is beyond helpful and does whatever they can to please you. They always have a smile on their face and a nice word to say. They make reservations for you, call places to confirm trips, schedule anything you ask, etc. You definitely can count on them. They offer complimentary WiFi but it is limited. After a certain amount, they charge you. It is a small hotel (the ground level + 3 floors) and it's difficult to see from the street when you arrive (our taxi had to turn around and look for it). It is just a door facing the street between a tobacco shop and a coffee shop (it almost blends in). The rooms and bathrooms are clean, but very small. When you sit on the toilet your knees will probably hit the sink if you're more than 5 feet tall (my husband had to sit sideways). The location is somewhat shady. There are numerous "gentlemen" clubs, VIP massage houses, and shops offering likewise products. Not family friendly. In addition it's very difficult to sleep through the night due to the constant noise: traffic, sirens (police, firetrucks, ambulances), trash truck, etc. We were very frustrated with their policy. We were unable to receive our money back when we canceled our first night, 3 days in advance (we were flying from Auckland and they flight was postponed for the next day). We booked this hotel under the impression that it was a 4-star hotel in a good area, with good restaurants, and good options. Unfortunately not. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, maybe a 2.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location with cheap price

Posted Jul 5, 2016
small modern and clean room with good location which is close to bus and train station. staff is friendly and private bathroom was good with excellent shower room. however, there was some people talking and shouting in loud voice which made my sleep quality bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

DISAPPOINTED - Room not 4 star/strange experience

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The receptionist was very polite. Bed linen looked nice.
Cons: Do not deceive guests, dingy, noisy room sold online as "4 star mystery hotel" and advised I was upgraded! ... you will only harm your brand.
Purchased room via Expedia as a last minute "Sydney 4 Star Mystery Hotel", the address then revealed some poor reviews. After check in and 45 minutes in the room pondering my situation, I left as the room was not 4 star, I was traveling alone, felt duped by the standard of the room and felt I may not sleep due to noise and not feeling entirely safe. Inside the open front doors of the hotel, the reception desk was in a hall that lead directly on to rooms, the receptionist promised a quiet room, pointed up the hall and said my room was up there, he said he was giving me an 'upgrade' and said my phone probably would not work in the room (strangely it worked fine). My room,101, was first in the hall, only stairs between reception then 5 metres to street beyond. Despite nice linen/lamps, the room looked dingy, was quite basic and not 4 star. The coffee table was scratched and scored - I could hear the fellow at reception sniffing, street noise and trains rumbling beneath my feet. I phoned Expedia advising it was not 4 star, I felt disappointed and little unsettled there on my own, therefore was leaving and would like a refund. They did so but advised the hotel was not going to refund to Expedia. I was offered another 'upgrade' but refused as the hotel had already lost my trust from being deceptive - not conducive to a relaxing stay, I then drove another three hours late evening to reach home. Expedia were wonderful. Hotel not
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location but unfortunately so unclean

Posted May 24, 2016
This hotel is in a prime location right near public transit. It's just a shame as I felt so uncomfortable sleeping there. Between the cockroaches, blood stained carpets, black hairs in the sheets and noise in the hallways all evening, I felt like I woke up every hour. The hotel did offer a room move, but it was past midnight so I declined. Unfortunately I would not recommend these accommodations to family or friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Great location, walking distance to everything

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Location and the modern features of the rooms and hotel
Cons: didnt have any spare pillows in the entire hotel
Location: Walking distance to the city, close to food, coles and clubs/bars
spacious room with really helpful staff. The hotel is close to so much, food, entertainment and a taxi stand is right out the front of the hotel entrance. I would stay here again and recommend to family and friends