Ratings based on 831 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VIC

Great location, small room

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The location was fantastic, the bars and amenities around were fantastic, but unfortunately the room was tiny and was unable to sleep due to the horrendous noise from the allway all night long, such a shame as the staff were great and looked good, but we came home after 3 days completely sleep deprived.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful, but at least it is small

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Luggage storage worked well.
Cons: More staff. Cleaner rooms
Location: Catch a cab and go to a good part of the city.
The physical plant is run-down. It comes across as dirty and unfinished in places. Under-staffed. The housekeeping service only made it to our room once in three days. No bell staff to help with luggage up the initial flight of stairs. "Unlimited wifi" applies only if booking directly with the hotel. "Third party bookings", such as Expedia, are limited. Hmmm. None of the cab drivers have ever heard of the hotel, so if you book there be prepared to offer a description. Bayswater St. is also unknown, so tell them it is near "Williams and Darlinghurst". If you don't, you'll get a otur of the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal,Canada

Good location but few facilities

Posted Feb 8, 2017
The hotel staff were friendly and informative but the hotel had only the bare necessities No restaurant,no exercise facilities or pool.The price was OK for what is available in Sydney.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Clean hotel close to all attractions

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: It was clean. It had Location. Friendly staff. Good price.
Location: You can walk to all attractions eg Sydney Opera House,China Town, the markets, the entire CBD. Every where in Sydney are magnificent parks .
My stay was in two separate bookings,4 and then 5 nights at the end of our trip. Both times we got very clean rooms and the facilities were well kept. Staff was always available and very accommodating and helpful. If you're fit location was great because everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The only caveat was that during the first four nights we had a room close to the front of the hotel where we heard all the noise from bar people after 11:30am to approximately 2:30am. (Kings Cross has a lot of bars/clubs and we heard a lot of Aussie chanting) The upside of this was very good cheap breakfasts available close by and no problems throughout the day. The hotel gave me an upgrade to our room and put us at the back of the hotel where it was quiet. You won't find better unless you are willing to pay considerably more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Hyde Park

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Restaurants, Hyde Park, Museums, Opera House and Botanic Garden.
Great location, close to restaurants an plenty of amenities. Easy within walking distance to Hyde Park and with a little more effort one can walk almost all the Sydney (downtown) attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff and very helpful

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Cons: Room with a view!
Location: Handy to get to a lot of things
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, rooms cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedding cleaned very regularly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Although this hotel is in the notorious Kings Cross, it was a good location/value for the money. We were able to easily walk to everything that we wanted to see and the staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent, england

Good location, sometimes noisy

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Great location by the tube. Walls pretty thin. Excellent air conditioning. Wifi unavailable for first week and communication could have been better. Great place for a base in the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

Good Location, 3 too many cockroaches

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Cleanliness, facilities
Location: Location was fine. close to a train station.
3 cockroaches found on the first night. Poor effort. Good location - close to Kings Cross Station, easily accessible. No WiFi for the entire stay of the trip Way too expensive for what you get Would not recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No wifi

Posted Dec 18, 2016
No wifi it was awful service and so small very deceiving