Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice on the outside but not so much on the inside.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: The room needed to be cleaner. Dirty carpet, dusty bed headboard. Shower didn't drain well, bathroom floor always saturated and bathroom smelt mouldy
Location: Close to a good bus service and some good local shops.
Very disappointing first night when using the AC a cockroach fell out of it and on to me as I was lying on the bed. Not happy at all with this and spent the rest of our stay feeling uncomfortably hot as to nervous to turn the AC on again. Also arrived back from a day out to find our room door not shut properly after staff had serviced the room. Once again not happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, good customer service.
Cons: Better wifi connection.
Location: Convenient, close to food shops and supermarkets.
Close to public transport. Easily accessible. Near restaurants, cafes and supermarket. Good service from staff. Room is clean and comfortable. Had an enjoyable stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great for the price

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Spotlessly clean room, comfortable budget hotel (modern but not brand new) in perfect location for UNSW and hospitals. Great places to eat down the road and wonderful Ritz cinema nearby. (The TV only had one channel! And the lift was out out of order - but I was only on the second floor).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PoW Hospital

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
needed quick clean accommodation near Prince of Wales Hospital the hotel was just what we needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cairns

Excellent position across from prince of wales

Posted Feb 3, 2017
My only reason for staying here for 10 days was because it was close to hospital( Family member in hospital) Positives - great location opposite for me Quiet modern clean room- with little balcony air con. Negatives- lots of things not working - back entrance gate not working , lifts not working , shared kitchen stovetop not working, no toaster - so really only microwave . Front gate not working ( other guests climbed fence) . After 7 days our scan door keys fail and we had to ring after hours and wait fir about1 hr - it was 6.30 pm ! No one on site after 6pm . One day our room not made up despite we out all day - no clean towels and after 7pm before we return to dirty room . Can only recommend if you need to be close to hospital- pls note there is very little choice of accomm in this area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Continues to deteriorate

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Close to hospital and public transport
I have stayed at this place several times, but unfortunately it continues to deteriorate. Price was reasonable. Receptionist kept us waiting whilst she finished her private phone call. She didn't seem as though she wanted to be there. After checking in, and getting a big spiel if we lost the key, and how it would cost us $50, we were then told that the lift was out of order and we found that each of the security doors had been wedged open. Room was smallish but had a nice size balcony. Bed was very uncomfortable. Pillows were so thin that we used our own. Doona was not in a proper case, but wrapped in a sheet. Room was clean and cleaned each day we were there. There was an electric kettle, but you couldn't fit it under the tap so you had to go to the common room (1 1/2 floors down) to fill it with water. Car-park was very poky and very difficult to get in and out of. Checkout was delayed as there was only one receptionist and he was on the phone. Overall, a very disappointing experience. I won't be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good value in a convenient location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I have stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions. Both times I found the rooms to be pleasant and spotless and the beds to be comfortable. I had a double room both times and they were quite compact but I didn't mind as I was traveling by myself. Both rooms had nice balconies. I was also lucky to have rooms facing Blenheim St which is a lot quieter than High St. I only have a few minor criticisms: the rooms could do with some fresh paint; the cabinet in one bathroom was showing wear and the block out blind in my other room didn't have a cord and couldn't be put down so at night there was no privacy.... and the lift wasn't functioning on both visits. But other than that the hotel is very good value and is in a good location: near the hospital, shops, cafes and buses and not too far from the beach. I had no trouble parking on the street but there are time restrictions during the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Very average

Posted Jan 9, 2017
First of all, there is only 4 parking spots So good luck with the parking fines of the road. Very small bathroom and the shower base kept flooding because because of the tiles level !! Room is too samll and the kettle was broken Not happy, never again and i don't recommend it to someone with a car
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Wotif
Horrible experience. Floors werent clean, enough dust on the lights to pick up, shower flooded whole bathroom. T.v didnt work. Told reception and they werent even slightly intersted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Good location,basic accommodation

Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Wotif
OK but lift was not working during a three day stay. Didn't clean room every day as advertised. Very soggy bathroom with drain in middle of bathroom floor. Don't check in after 6pm as there is no functional check in facility. Disappointing for nearly $150 per night.