Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cairns

Excellent position across from prince of wales

Posted Feb 3, 2017
My only reason for staying here for 10 days was because it was close to hospital( Family member in hospital) Positives - great location opposite for me Quiet modern clean room- with little balcony air con. Negatives- lots of things not working - back entrance gate not working , lifts not working , shared kitchen stovetop not working, no toaster - so really only microwave . Front gate not working ( other guests climbed fence) . After 7 days our scan door keys fail and we had to ring after hours and wait fir about1 hr - it was 6.30 pm ! No one on site after 6pm . One day our room not made up despite we out all day - no clean towels and after 7pm before we return to dirty room . Can only recommend if you need to be close to hospital- pls note there is very little choice of accomm in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Good value in a convenient location

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I have stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions. Both times I found the rooms to be pleasant and spotless and the beds to be comfortable. I had a double room both times and they were quite compact but I didn't mind as I was traveling by myself. Both rooms had nice balconies. I was also lucky to have rooms facing Blenheim St which is a lot quieter than High St. I only have a few minor criticisms: the rooms could do with some fresh paint; the cabinet in one bathroom was showing wear and the block out blind in my other room didn't have a cord and couldn't be put down so at night there was no privacy.... and the lift wasn't functioning on both visits. But other than that the hotel is very good value and is in a good location: near the hospital, shops, cafes and buses and not too far from the beach. I had no trouble parking on the street but there are time restrictions during the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Very average

Posted Jan 9, 2017
First of all, there is only 4 parking spots So good luck with the parking fines of the road. Very small bathroom and the shower base kept flooding because because of the tiles level !! Room is too samll and the kettle was broken Not happy, never again and i don't recommend it to someone with a car
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mouldy and dirty but close to hospitals

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Location - near hospitals.
Cons: Rooms need opening windows in the bathrooms, removal of black mould and better cleaning. A paint touch up wouldn't hurt either.
I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights so I could spend time with a relative in hospital. Hotel is across the road (rear of the hotel) from the Children's and Prince of Wales hospitals. The main problem seems to be the door on the bathroom cannot be left open, and there are no opening windows in the bathroom. The only ventilation in the bathroom is a small exhaust fan. This has left the bathroom mouldy and smelly. The rest of the room wasn't much better, with the only one Foxtel channel working, dirty carpet and marked walls. They advise the rooms are cleaned every second day, but during the 3 nights I was there they didn't clean the room once, even though on the 2nd and 3rd days I hung the room service request on the door. Great location if you need to visit the hospital. If you can't find anywhere else to stay I suggest you bring some bleach with you and hope for the best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Overall disappointing!

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Location to my training course.
Cons: Cleanliness, take hotel out of name and say it like it is 'lodge or apts', man reception, have iron & boards in rooms. I could go on ....
Location: Close to Coogee Beach, Sydney Children's Hospital and Prince of Wales Hospital (both directly across the road). Randwick Race Course 15 minute walk.
Not a hotel but more like a lodge or student apts. Too late to cancel when I arrived, reception not open all the time as a 'hotel' would be. Room not clean, cereal under pillows and on floor, mouldy pillows, fingernails on bed, tobacco on chair. Generally needed a really good clean. Two single beds pushed together to make a queen bed ... The whole experience was disappointing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Units in convenient location

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: location; modern, cleanliness
Cons: man reception all day; put in a decent wifi router; change from king size beds to queen beds; service the rooms daily
Location: near downtown Randwick, and "The Spot" with many good restaurants, reasonable walk to Coogee beach, near UNSW, kids hospital and racecourse
Reception often unmanned. Internet does not work in the room despite staff insisting that it does. Room not serviced daily. Huge king size bed was good but it takes up almost the whole floor - so no space to move when working at the desk. The room was clean and the bathroom was ample. A good place to sleep. In a quite area. Handy to shops and some great restaurants. Not overpriced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive for what you get.

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Basic small rooms on main road with no double glazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel, good for business stay

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Loved having the balcony. Rooms could do with being freshened up, hotel information book was grubby and contained wrong information. But generally fine for a couple of nights
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Low buget apartment in a good position

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: It was around the corner from the family
Cons: Needs a good revamp
Location: Location was good
We stayed here for two nights really only sleeping there as had family around the corner The room was small and a bit tired but clean good shower We got what we paid for
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to Hospitals and UNSW

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Pros: It is in a great location for certain destinations
Cons: Maintenance, cleanliness and smell of rooms which is overpowering
Location: Children's Hospital and UNSW
The building is new but it is an unusual hotel. It operates more like serviced apartments. Reception is only open from about 8am to 6pm. Maintenance issues are "looked into tomorrow" the rooms are small and smell. The bathrooms are tiny. The linen and towels are clean and of good quality. There is no doubt that maintenance and some elements of cleanliness are an issue. The hotel is functional and in a great location for the Children's Hospital and University of NSW