Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

1.7 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
1.7 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Not even close to a hotel.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Some supervision of inmates, calling it 1 star hostel instead of a hotel, not having the reception based in a nightclub three blocks away, cleaning it
Location: It is fairly centrally located in Sydney CBD so has that going for it
If you like partying until 3 AM using the communal shower as a toilet and and the communal toilet floor as a toilet then this is the place for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I wouldn't as I would make sure I didn't book anything like it again
Location: Pretty seedy
I accidently booked to stay at this place without reading that you had to share facilities. For $100 a night and all you got was a bed to sleep in is outrageous. I feel sorry for the backpackers that have to pay this. The room was clean but it was absolutely freezing cold.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

#they need to clean the rooms !!

Posted Sep 9, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything it is not a hotel
bloody terrible it is not a hotel , you won't let your pigs live there !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Lee from Gold Coast, QLD, Australia

Noisy Friday

Posted Apr 29, 2012
Pros: Price and Location
Cons: Locker needed!
Location: The reception is hard to find. The location of hostel is good
It is noisy on Friday night because there is a bar under the hostel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz from New Zealand

Clean but basic

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Staff in bar
Cons: noise
Location: great location
Room was clean but basic - ideal as a backpackers. Staff at bar downstairs were fantastic and made me feel welcome as I was on my own. Only issue was that the reception was 2 blocks away and I don't remember seeing that on the hotel details as I would have got dropped off in taxi in a different place. Fine for younger people but as an over 50 it was a bit much.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

shocker

Posted Mar 5, 2012
Room was full of clothing from a permanent tenant who worked at hotel Reception was at least 500m away from hotel Loud music blaring all night....mnore a night club scene Liquor bottles empty all over landing Would only suit young party animal
1 out of 5
by Sabra from USA

Don't forget the s in hostel

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Cons: Staff was rude.
First of all, despite its name, the Stratton is a hostel not a hotel. The reception area to check in and check out is two blocks away in another building. Check out is at 10 a.m. By the time we left our room at 10, walked to reception, picked up a coffee on the way, it was 10:30 and the guy at the front desk refused to give us our $20 deposit back for the keys ($10 for each key) because it was after ten. If we had used that extra $20 we ended up having to pay, we could've stayed in a real hotel. It was awful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maia from 京都

レセプションが別

Posted Mar 10, 2014
まずレセプションが別の場所に有るので一ブロックほど歩かなければならない。 客室、浴室、キッチンなどは中の下といったところか。 スタッフの対応はよかった。
1 out of 5
by MJ

Auf jeden Fall meiden wenn man schlafen will

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Nichts
Cons: Abreissen!
Wahnsinnig laut da alle Türen automatische Schlieser haben und die Türen ins Schloss krachen lassen. An schlaf ist absolut nicht zu denken!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jin

I think this place is pretty good.

Posted Oct 12, 2013
First this hostel is very hard to check-in. because check-in place is a little far from the Hostel. but guide is so kind. except that this place is perfect!