Ratings based on 905 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with old world charm.

Posted May 21, 2017
The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The building has that old world quirkiness which we just loved. It is so central to all the activities around the Rocks and Quay area. Will definitely stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
My gold plus status at Expedia awarded me a room right above the bar with continue singing, drum, and other instruments. It was hard to carry a conversation in the room and impossible to sleep or rest. Hotel staff refused to change to room for me. I stayed there for 3 nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location of this hotel is the best part.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: the location
The location of the hotel is the best part. you are a 5 min walk to both the Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House. The Rocks neighborhood is magnificent for food, drink and social life. the price is also very appealing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice boutique hotel close to Circular Quay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to Circular Quay and the Rocks
Cons: Just the noise from room 23
Unfortunately don't take room 23, right above the bar and very noisy with a band playing till late. Other rooms are fine, small but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Vintage hotel near major attractions

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Vintage hotel near major attractions. If you don't mind old buildings this hotel will be perfect for you. It is short distance to all major attractions including pubs, opera house, Harbor, and harbor bridge. The breakfast they provide is very nice. I love the vintage vibe. They do have an elevator. Only con was the ventilation in bathroom is very limited and they ask you to keep door close while showering to avoid false fire alarm,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario

Location, location, location.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Good price for great location. Clean, small room. Shared bath presented no problem for us. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Free continental breakfast and WiFi. Would stay there again if I want to be located in The Rocks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in the Rocks

Posted Mar 23, 2017
One of the nicest places to stay in Sydney, it was Luke stepping back in time, great location and wonderful staff. Will definitely be back !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan,PR

Good for crashing; not

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: To their credit; the staff I met was very nice and even though its an old structure (and it shows) its very clean. Location to the train station, har
Cons: adjust rates more in line with your facilities your location is not worth that much. (I've stayed in many Hostels and B&B houses in EEUU and Europe)
Location: the best aspect of the place is its location
The term Hotel has been applied loosely here....its more of a B&B/Hostel combination; but surprisingly not a cheap one considering the services offered. I guess they consider their location worth the high rates charged. If I was in my 20's and just looking for a place to crash after drinking away in THE ROCKS area..I would agree The Hotel is built above a bar so don't expect absolute quietness. Shared bathroom, no A/C..so you need to keep your window open and hear people shouting bellow in the alley street, no TV, my internet connection was interrupted several times overnight , just one outlet available from a floor multiplug, my room needed so TLC in terms of maintenance, etc Bfast is mainly a continental at the bar counter on the 1st floor with hard boiled eggs to call it full bfast (at least I was able to catch the news here). I requested to cancel my last two days and moved to a full service Hotel (there are many up Pitt street) that was relatively close to the harbor (20 min walking..$13 Aus in a cab) which although a few $ more expensive; provided all the comforts of a real Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast NSW

Quaint Little Gem in a Perfect Location

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Very cosy and clean. Awesome staff and in a great position. Would definitely stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location at a great price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Cons: Air conditioning in the guest rooms would make it perfect.
The Russel Hotel works very hard to make guests comfortable with attention to little details like turndown service and fresh flowers in your room. The room was comfortable but there was no air conditioning which we found difficult since we had to keep the window open all night and it was noisy outside, not surprising in such a central location. However, for location and value the Russell is hard to beat. We were one minute walk from Circular Quay and all the attractions of the Rocks. We love the area which is why we booked.The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of room with nice toiletries. The hotel even lent us bathing towels and offered sun block. Always ensure you have ensuite, if this is vital, as some room have separate bathrooms. For anyone who doesn't mind having no air conditioning, this hotel is perfect. The room did have a fan.