Ratings based on 616 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Verzaubert und künstlerisch

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Die zentrale Lage, die verspielten Kleinigkeiten, wie z.B. der tägliche Spruch auf dem Bett mit der kleinen Schokolade.
Das Gemeinschaftsbad wird sehr oft gesäubert. Das Flair allgemein bewirkt eine kontemplatorische Grundstimmung. Im Pub zu frühstücken hat was. Die zentrale Lage noch viel mehr. Das Team ist freundlich, sehr hilfsbereit und strahlt einen gewissen Stolz auf ihr The Russell Hotel aus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Brilliant Location

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: We find the location brilliant and enjoy the warmth and charm for a reasonable price. Loved the fresh flowers in the room and the chocolates.
Cons: The corridors are starting to show wear and need the paintwork attended to hear and there and some of the carpets are looking a bit tired.
Location: Staying at the Russel gives you easy access to all you could want yo see and do in Sydney.
We have stayed at the Russel hotel several times over many years and this little gem still remains our pick whenever we stay in Sydney. The hotel is located on George street right opposite circular quay in a brilliant location that gives you access to the Rocks area, the city, the bridge, opera house, botanical gardens, circular quay, trains, ferry and buses - you really are in the heart of Sydney. The Russell is a charming little hotel with a heritage feel in historic old buildings. Rooms are furnished with antiques and heritage prints and soft furnishings which gives a lovely country guest house feel - very warm and welcoming. Ensuite bathrooms are compact but work well and there is plenty of hot water with good pressure. A simple but very adequate breakfast is served in the bar underneath the hotel, with the bar being as added bonus for evening drinks without the rooms being affected by the noise. We had a first level front room on this visit and it was very quiet (apart from a few creaking floorboards) even though it was right on George St with trains passing nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel in awesome location but slightly tired

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Great location, and quiet rooms.
Cons: The interior needs a refresh.
Location: Lots of tourist destinations, shopping and restaurants. Catch the train or the ferry to further afield.
Positives first. We arrived and checked in easily. It is in an awesome location, close to the harbour, tourist district, all the restaurants and the train station so lots of options. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Our room faced away from the harbour which at first we were disappointed with but later we realised was actually a benefit as it was really quiet which was great. The continental breakfast was also good though it would be nice to run it a bit later into the morning. Overall the ambience was cute and quaint. The not so good. The carpet in the room was stained and it smelt musty. The fridge was so noisy we unplugged it. The bathroom also smelt musty and did not vent well. You have to keep the door closed otherwise the fire alarm goes off and you will be charged for the fire service callout. The hallways are a rabbit warren and lots of little stairs as it is over two buildings which arent quite the same level. definitely not an option for a wheelchair. TV was also quite small. Overall as a base to see Sydney i think it was great - just didnt quite live up to its Expedia rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Clean
Location: Circular quay
Lovely clean rooms. Nice location and breakfast ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Friendly, comfortable and accessible
Cons: Nothing comes to mind
Location: First class, 5 mins walk to the Opera House. All buses and trains nearbye
Terrific value at this location and very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Old style charm

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: location old world charm breakfast
Location: Lunch at Rocks café Dinner at Meat and Wine Co at the Intercontental Rocks marlets on the weekends are a wonderful way to spend the afternoon
Stayed at the Russell over the weekend and ran in the Sydney 10km event. Hotel was in a wonderful location at the heart of the rocks, a short stroll from Circular quay and all this has to offer Hotel was old charm boutique style accommodation in the heart of the rocks, staff friendly, wonderful continental breakfast ... Highly recommend - only negative was small double bed but we are used to King at home Highly recommend Rocks Café for lunch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Superb location, great staff, beautiful historical building. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Issaquah, WA

Perfect Location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location!
Cons: Wardrode size. Hotel is on upper floors of several building with different height ceilings. This requires going up and down stairs. NO CHOICE!
Location: Circular Quay (half a block away) is the center with boats in and out anywhere you want. Opera house, trains and food are all close by.
This was our base for a two and a half day visit to Sydney. We flew in and jumped on the rail to Circular Quay and walked two blocks to hotel. We were early, but they had a room for us. We had heard in some reviews that it was noisy. I would suspect that the others had a room looking onto George St where two pubs exist on the first floor in the same building. We were given an inside room that shared a semi-private courtyard with one other room. We had no problems with noise. The room was well appointed however the wardrobe was very small for hanging clothes, Hangers had to be hung on hooks and the wardrobe was not deep enough for clothes to hang properly. Location is A-ONE. We walked all over, lots of shopping and eating opportunities. We were a block and a half from the ocean cruise terminal and an easy walk even with luggage (on rollers). I would want to stay here again on next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Top location

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Good location
Cons: Water for shower can be hotter
Location: 3 minutes walk to Circular Quay
3 minutes to Circular Quay. Value for Money. Book rate included breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Fantastic Position - Quirky Historial Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Very convenient location, quirky hotel.
Cons: Very happy - maybe more hot options for breakfast
Location: Located in The Rocks - what else is there to say!
Loved the position, staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean. Having stayed at some of the major hotels I would definitely prefer to return to The Russell Hotel. No Children. Shared bathroom wasn't an issue.