Ratings based on 698 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Excellent location right next to Circular Qyay

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Air Conditioning. Hard to remove up and down steps.
Location: Close to Circular Quay and transportation to everywhere. Cannot beat the location!
Location excellent. VERY old building. Many, many steps to negotiate, both up and down, making it rather difficult for older people. No air conditioning. Staff friendly, and helpful. Best recommendation is the location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Convenient location

Posted Jan 26, 2016
It faces George street, which is a main street in Sydney city, so it was very convenient for us to go anywhere. Sometimes a toilet was not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Hotel is central to all the sights

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: So close to everything.
Cons: Air conditioning in bedrooms.
Location: Circular Quay is very close by with ferries departing all the time. Hop on hop off bus stop just down street. At weekends Rocks Market takes place.
I booked this hotel on the recommendation of my daughter who said I needed to stay in the Rocks area of Sydney. It is a small old fashioned hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really nice and quite adequate. The only gripe I would have is that with no air conditioning my room was very warm at night and I found it difficult to sleep. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Russell Hotel and will stay here again if I'm visiting Sydney.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Qld

Wonderful hotel - so much character!

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Always love staying at the Russell Hotel! It ticks all the boxes - style, character, proximity to the glorious harbour, brekkie is great and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Great location, excellent access to everything.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Very clean rooms and very friendly staff. Excellent continental breakie downstairs and great atmosphere in the Bar area.
Cons: clean and tidy rooms fitted with a ceiling fan, but they could really be improved with the addition of an air con.
Location: Location excellent. Easy walking to The Rocks areas, Barangaroo, Bridge walks, Circular Quay, Opera House .
The Hotel was clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was excellent. The hotel is so close to accessing so many things and a short walk to all activities and sites in the area. No transport required. Ferries a short walk away, trains, buses, hop on/off buses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Hotel in excellent location in The Rocks.

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Free WiFi, historical building, inviting decor in the rooms, rooftop deck and comfortable lounge. Continental breakfast.
Location: Excellent location for ferries, cruise tours, trains, opera house and Harbor Bridge. Walking distance to cruise ship terminal.
Easy walking distance to the cruise terminal, train station and ferry terminal. Although they have a lift, you still have steps to climb up and down to get to the rooms, reception and the free breakfast location. Also be aware the entrance is not street level but up a steep incline. Otherwise, I would recommend this quaint hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales, UK

Very nice hotel but a noisy room.

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Lots of character, not too big, conveniently situated for sight-seeing. Breakfast.
Cons: The noise in room 27.
Location: Bars, restaurants, Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Ferries, The Observatory, Government House & Botanic Gardens, shops. Ideal.
This hotel is ideally placed for visiting the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Opera House and the Circular Quay Ferries. There are lots of places to eat and the hotel breakfast was really good. Everything was great except for the incredibly noisy machinery I could hear all night from my bed-settee in the lounge area of our suite room 27. It was not even so loud when I walked into the proper bedroom area. The drinks fridge was noisy and illuminated. The air-conditioning obviously made a bit of a noise. But the worst thing was a dreadful vibrating, growling noise I could not track down. I wondered whether it was the noisy piece of machinery on the roof garden. In fact I wondered about it so much in the course of my two-night stay, that I imagined it crashing through the ceiling on top of me! Apart from that I loved this hotel - full of character and in a good situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey B.C.

Excellent quaint hotel on Circular quay

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Everything: like an old style English Hotel
Location: Perfect for getting onto a cruise ship at Circular Quay
Inside room with no view and very quiet. Satisfying breakfast and pleasant helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great location and close to lots of action

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Pros: close to the docks and ferries.
Cons: Rooms are tired.
Location: The ferries are close so you can access do the harbor cruise and visit the zoo and Manley Beach ...the views are great
Very nice hotel in the Rocks. Quite an expensive area so don't expect any deals on shopping or meals. Great walking to the harbor and the ferries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for our brief stay.

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Quirky old place in a great location.
Cons: Any upgrades would risk charm reduction!
Location: Great location. No end of shops, restaurants, bars, street markets, parks, waterfront, etc.
Hotel is walking distance from all that is Circular Quay and The Rocks. Perfect location for jet lag recovery!