Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Very Spacious apartment

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: The location was great The spaciousness of the room was fantastic full size fridge cooking ability
Cons: The cleanliness really needs some work. Exhaust fans were clogged, marks on walls look like they have been there for years. The building is very old
Location: Circular Quay is close, Shops are close Cafes are super close
This one bedroom apartment would be perfect for long term stay because it is so large. The balcony is great, so is the living areas and the sleeping area. This was such a well priced hotel and it was close to Circular Quay. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to stay either long term or short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

very central

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: so handy to everything,would come here again.
was very happy,would recommend this place for sure
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Front office manager-Sam, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location, room facilities. Value for money.
Cons: Updated decor, but the other plusses outweigh this.
Location: Centrally located for walking to most Sydney attractions that visitors wish to visit. Good selection of restaurants nearby in Darling Harbour.
We stayed at the York for 3 nights post-cruise. It is ideally located for walking access to downtown, Circular Quay, the Rocks and Darling Harbour restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. The suite had cooking and laundry facilities, and the Wynyard station supermarket is close by. It was perfect for our needs and we would certainly return if in Sydney.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Front Office manager , Hotel Management
appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The price and location.
Cons: Just needs a bit of tlc
Location: Everything is within walking distance, the opera house, the ferry terminals on circular key. Taxis had a bit of a problem because of road closures.
Everything you want in an apartment. Air con, washer and dryer, fully operational kitchen. Plenty of tea and coffee, even fresh milk on arrival. If anything the only thing we could say is it is a bit tired, very basic bed and bedding and could do with a coat of paint but otherwise all very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Front office Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your post. I am very pleased to hear that you found the location to be so convenient. I hope that the next time you are in Sydney you have the opportunity of experiencing one of our new Swiss Super Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island BC

Excellent location and great room amenities

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Room amenities, location.
Cons: The bathroom was rather outdated and "tired", could use some work but certainly clean. Fantastic kitchen and washer and dryer.
Location: Close to all Sydney activities. We walked everywhere. Also right beside Wynyard Train station.
Second time at this hotel. Can't get better facilities in a hotel in this location in Sydney. A very comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Sam , Hotel Management
We are pleased to read your review following your recent visit at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are delighted you took advantage of our central location and took comfort in our accommodation rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Dishonest

Posted Feb 5, 2017
There was a little issue with check in however staff were eventually able to find the booking details. Rooms are big. Although the complex is out dated they have tried to renovate the rooms and included some paintings on the walls. Kitchen and bathroom are still not renovated but enough for what we needed. Bed wasn't that comfortable but air con was working. It was a bit loud but we were able to ignore it. A few days after checking out, I looked at my credit card statement and found an unknown sum of $7. Although this is not a large value, there was no email regarding where the charges came from. I have emailed them twice with no response. We did not use the minibar either. I don't value dishonesty very highly and I don't think this is the best way to run a hotel. At least email an invoice to what the charges were from. Nothing was said during checkout either. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Sam, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am sorry to learn that there been some charges you didn't consume. I believe the sooner we investigated the charge the $7 been refunded straight to your account Your feedback is vital in order for us to improve. I very much appreciate you sharing your concerns. I do hope that you will return to The York by Swiss-Belhotel and give us the opportunity to make your visit even better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth wa

I stayed here 31 years ago

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Clean, central, apartments
Cons: Washing powder put in the kitchen, like the drinks & snacks , someone to call a taxi to the front door
Location: Central location, wasn't anything directly near by for me , not that I stumbled a cross
Stayed last year, plus this year , very central , feel very comfortable , I just need to get a nice view and very high floor , as the room on 13 th on main York st was very noisy , couldn't be bothered to move , as I moved last year and had to pay extra , they don't seem to reward you for being loyal ! . Staff all very nice .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Sam Fakih, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel during your stay. We are delighted we had the opportunity to have you again with us and you keep enjoying the best our apartments can provide .We look forward to welcome you back again with us Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great location, Quay and darling harbour easy walking distance. Apartment had a view of North Sydney which we didn't expect..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Sam Fakih, Hotel Management
Location is extremely convenient, regardless of the destination. With public transport just minutes walk away, and a couple minutes walk to George street, it does make the day more productive. Looking forward to have you again with us Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Great cental location.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Fantastic location close to bus trains and easy walk to circular Quay and Darling harbour. Apartment more spacious than expected. Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Sam Fakih, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the awesome ratings of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting . We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Clean comfortable and centrally located to food, transit and walking distance to sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Sam Fakih, Hotel Management
We have an extremely convenient location, for all sorts of activities this big city has to offer. We appreciate your time for rating our serviced apartments. Looking forward to your future stays! Kind Regards