Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie

Useful if you need the Hospital

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Proximity to hospital.
Cons: The hotel is old. It needs revamping if you are to continue to charge the rates you do.
This hotel is overpriced. However, it has everything you would expect from a Travelodge, including a microwave which is handy. If you need to go to the Macquarie University Hospital, it's your best choice as it is just across a carpark. I wish I had been offered the 10% discount club membership before I stayed a second time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Quiet, Friendly and convenient

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Very clean rooms and happy, friendly staff makes for my comfortable stay.
Cons: Maybe a few more selections on the rom service menu.
Location: The hotel is a short walk to the Macquarie centre shopping complex with busses and taxi rank on its doorstep. The train station is across the road.
I have stayed at this hotel before and the service and facilities are consistent. The staff has always been very friendly and eager to help. It is quiet and access to trains and busses is a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tassie

Value for money

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We arrived at 7pm. Staff was nice and helpful when our key didn't work to open the room. Room was clean and upgraded. We love it. Kitchen and utilities dining table flat screen TV and comfortable bed. Bathroom and toilet are good. Will come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location
Cons: dining room and bar were both closed Sunday - the day we were there
Location: convenient to cemetery
Was in Sydney for a funeral so not a happy occasion. Nowhere to eat nearby and dining room shut. Only motel I have ever stayed in where there was an extra charge for parking. Reception staff very abrupt.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for business travel

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Stay here regular during work trips and find it to be a functional, if not spectacular, stay. The rooms are clean and tidy, the staff helpful and the breakfast buffet tasty (limited options though)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Close to conference centre

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The location and the staff were OK
Cons: See above
Aircon didn't cool room properly; it worked hard to cool the doorway and had almost no effect on the rest of the room. Friends said the same thing about other rooms . Toilet ran continuously. For price, no gym or pool. Range of food at restaurant basic and no toaster in room. Courtesy bus ran from 7.10am to 9.30am so in pouring rain we had to cadge lifts to get to shopping centre and railway station. Fridge was inside a cupboard so struggled to get cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Queensland

Great setting within the University grounds.

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The central location and the ability to walk through the park to the Shopping Center Very pleasant.
Cons: Your kitchen and serving staff needs a complete change.The food was appalling to the point my Wife was sick after eating. The serving staff were rude.
Location: See earlier comments
It was good apart from the Restaurant food which was unbelievably bad. Front desk and Bar staff were Excellent. The Restaurant Staff were the worst I have every experienced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albury

Good Location terrible service

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Wotif
Unable to check in before 2pm went back to hotel after 2pm and only one room available. Staff didn't seem to know what rooms were ready and took ages to get service. Room finally ready after 3.30pm. Very noisy motel bus loads of tourists in and out of rooms. Breakfast buffet lacked choice and was nearly cold. Not worth cost.
3 out of 5
by warren from newcastle

a mess up overall

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
well after booking on this site- that i have used b4- upon check they tell me that now kids are only up to age 10- even though when selecting -children are up to age 17.wanted to charge extra wherever they can-see brekky no bed for child had to sleep on lounge that wasnt a sofa bed. (14yr old) wanted to charge us for extra person at brekky - brekky was only just brekky wouldnt stay again. 3/10
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra

Quiet hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Wotif
Nice and quiet hotel. extremly pleasant staff but overpriced at $200 per night