Ratings based on 1,363 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Under constrution

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Hotel has been under construction for 11 months. Air con not working in our room. Not vacuumed when they serviced room. Main lift broke down so had to use service lift. Customer then got stuck in that lift. Staff were friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renovation Nightmare

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Whilst every hotel needs a renovation it should be made known. The lifts didn't work every now and then, the gym was closed, scaffolding outside the window and generally not a pleasant environment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel under reno no amenenatis

Posted May 2, 2017
Lift did not work part one day. Floor in room never vacuumed over four days. Only 2 bath towels and one small hand towel over four days and no sheet changes. Fridge in room frozen solid like rock needed defrost. Did cool much. Room climate control did not heat good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Refurbishment in progress

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Staff very helpful
Cons: Improvement with general cleanliness.
Location: Close to CBD
Kitchen plates and utensils in cupboard and drawer dirty with food. No detergent or tea towel to wash them myself. Still not washed although bed had been remade after 24 hours. Room cold and no extra blankets available. Scales for weighing luggage very useful.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Martell

HOTEL UNDER MAJOR RENOVATION

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Bed and room space.
Cons: Finish the Renovation.
Location: The location was EXCELLENT being 10 minutes from the Quay, a few minutes from the St. James underground Train Station (used ofter, incl Airport).
A Shock on arrival with the front entrance boarded up; Lobby in ok shape; but only one elevator in lobby. Only 3 floors being used (6,7 & 8). Maid service VERY disappointing; with us having to continually ask for a dish cloths and soap and even though we requested our bed linen be changed on the 3rd day of a 6 night stay, it was never done. The front dest tried to help and did print our boarding passes. Room was spacious and bed comfortable. Bathroom was ok with old fashion taps - beware of controlling the shower temperature. Wifi was weak and unreliable. Some day this may be a nice hotel when the reno's are completed. We should have been given a major discount - all they said is that we paid Expedia and nothing they could do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Great location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location,location, location.
Cons: Don't be too stingy with towels, tea, coffee, etc. Provide a bottle opener, sharp knife perhaps.
Location: Pitt Street Mall, QVB. Train station
Excellent location. Very close to Martin Place train station. Despite the refurbishment scaffolding, lift replacement, hotel quiet and clean. The only thing weird was the 'one washcloth, no hand towels' policy. Two bath towels, and only one washcloth provided. I don't want to share a washcloth with my friend. Had to ask for an extra washcloth and a couple of hand towels. Told that handtowels weren't provided, but we did receive extra washcloths in lieu. Also the complimentary shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, shower cap were randomly replaced. Otherwise all good. Luggage storage available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Very convenient location. Walking distance to many destinations. Close to train access for others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Relatively short walk from Circular Quay. Hotel is being remodeled; so the elevator was frequently out of service. An alternate was available, but not very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located just off Martin Place

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Location: Located metres from Martin Place, easy access to Queen St Mall, Kinokuniya, State Library, Hyde Park, and easily accessible transport - bus or train
This hotel is so convenient for my intended purpose, located within a 5min walk of where I needed to be in the heart of the city. It is undergoing a facelift so here's hoping it gets a much needed upgrade. Only real disappointment was the lack of tea/coffee - the kettle and UHT milk were available, but not the tea - ouch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boggabri Nsw

centrally located and convenient

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: Courts
Exceptionally helpful staff.Centrally located to courts and solicitors chambers. This made what was quite distressing time bearable.