Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Staff are brilliant. Location is fantastic, walking distance to the Harbour Bridge and darling harbour. The train station is just a minute away. Unfortunately we had an issue with the air con. They said they called the maintenance guy but the next day the aircon was still not working.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to NSW Art Gallery

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Easy walk through the hospital and park to NSW Art Galley for a conference. A room for the night, tidy, clean and reasonably quiet given it is central city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lithgow NSW

Convenient walk to popular locations.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Very comfy bed and good pillows.
Cons: Bathroom could have been cleaned better. Mold on bottom of shower curtain. Maybe it was only our room.
We shopped at Pitt St Mall. We walked to Opera House for a show, had dinner at Circular Quay. Next day walked to Darling Harbour for breakfast. Also handy to St James railway station and not far to station on Martin Place for the Bondi line.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

nice hotel in the heart of Sydney

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Excellent position, walking distance to Martin Place train station . Close to shops , mall , food courts. Quiet , large room.
Cons: Noise from renovations !! Horrible. TV needs replacement - antique. AC unit is noisy,heating doesn't work.
Location: Hotel is in the CBD , plenty of shopping and food options. Martin Place train station is less than 200m away.
We went to Sydney for 3 night and Travelodge was a good option for us : in the CBD , walking distance from shops and food courts and also from Martin Place train station (you can use the train station elevator if you have heavy luggage and when you reach the surface is less than 200m walk). Price for one room was affordable - we got a good size room (not a matchbox) with TV, fridge and a sink in the room as well. Cutlery and dishes available as well if you need to prepare a breakfast by yourself. Room was quiet and far from elevators, top floor - we slept well. Bathroom looks a bit worn out but OK. TV was a disappointment (old and basic), poor image and only 7 (!) channels. Wi-Fi is not free , it costs you $10 /day , we knew it but still below expectations for a 31/2 star hotel. Heating was a problem, luckily the weather was warm. The AC unit is old, noisy and it doesn't work properly on heating (cooling only). There is no option to eat in the hotel - actually the hotel consists of 5-6 levels in the building but not the entire building. Renovations are still happening at the mezzanine level - strong noise and vibrations felt like an earthquake. We were told they work 9 to 5 but they started drilling at 7.30 AM. Personnel is helpful and friendly, we checked in and out quickly. Overall, if you're happy eating out and Wi-Fi is not a major issue , price and location make Travelodge a good option for any traveler.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Convenient location close to major attractions

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Great location, basic but comfortable. As the stay wore on, staff did forget to restock room with tea and coffee making condiments which became frustrating. Staff also forgot to take out rubbish on a few occasions. The laundry also requires change and the washing powder dispensary also ran out. Was great value for money, the cafe across the road does excellent breakfasts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff.
Cons: Air conditioning / heating unit very noisy.
Location: Close to Hyde Park, Hyde Park Barracks. Within walking distance to Botanic Gardens and Opera House.
The hotel is within walking distance from all the major attractions. You can easily take the train from the airport to the Travelodge Phillip Street. Martin Place Staion is very close by. If you are staying over the weekend, there is not much open around the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Noise

Posted Jul 17, 2016
There was a fair bit of works happening on different floors which isn't the nicest thing to wake up to on a Saturday morning
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Tx

Disappointing

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Great location. Stayed 2 nights. No hot water one night. Did not offer a discount or to comp the room. Just an apology. Plus the "free" internet was misleading. Only the first 100mb of service was free. Used that up in an hour just reading the news.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Middle of the city, close to Martin Place

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Very affordable accommodation, walk to shopping mall, great brekky place across the road! Would stay again! Very convenient!
4 out of 5
by Gary from Wiltshire UK

Central location.

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 nights stay using the hotel as a place to just sleep as we spent all of our time out and about in Sydney