Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Great 3 star in central Athens

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Suggestions from the receptionist
Cons: The breakfast area.
Location: See the review
My ratings above are based on the 3 star rating and attending expectations. The Achilleas Hotel offers very good value for money. Its proximity to Syntagma Square and the thriving life of central Athens is a definite plus. We were greeted by a receptionist who was very friendly, spoke English very well, and made fabulous recommendations for dinner. The room was fine. Breakfast had the full range of offerings that I've come to expect in European hotels, though the eating area feels narrow and confining. (I think it would be a nice touch if they were to offer coffee through table service rather than a dispenser.) Incidentally, there's an excellent if unassuming restaurant serving exquisite fish/seafood dishes just across the way (Triantafyllos) and the bus service to the airport from Syntagma Square is excellent 24/7 (every 15"-20").
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
It was a great room with a great view!! I would stay here again if I went back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small hotel in fantastic location with great staf

Posted Jul 4, 2017
A 5-minute walk from Syntagma and Monastekiri. Everything is closeby. 90s decor but comfortable and the family room we had was very spacious, almost like a studio. Staff are extremely helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doylestown, PA

Well-located and comfortable

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Terrific location (Syntagma and Plaka) and pleasant front desk staff. WifFi was fine. Despite our location next to the elevator, the room was quiet.
Cons: You get what you pay for. We did not expect luxury bedding or a large bathroom. Room temperature was a challenge but an extra blanket was sufficient.
Location: The hotel is in a nice neighborhood, within easy walking distance to restaurants, archaeological sites and a metro station (good airport transport).
This is a solid 3 star hotel. It has the expected amenities - nothing luxurious (room size, bathroom size, bedding, breakfast) but everything one needs as a base for exploring the City. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The parking garage next door was convenient and surprisingly reasonable (33 Euros for 2 nights). Breakfast was adequate with the limited variety that one expects at a 3 star hotel. We had booked online at the last minute (a reduced rate was a pleasant surprise) but out reservation was in order and the hotel was expecting us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Only one problem, but it's big.

Posted May 2, 2017
Centrally located, good value with no complaints...except for the antiquated showers. I had 2 rooms there, both had shower heads attached below waist level. One was a sit down tub with a straight shower curtain that left half the tub open. Trying to shower required a pre-shower strategy to successfully shower but not flood the place. Too bad because this is the only negative, and I'm always willing to overlook little things but this was truly a pain. For older folks or children just forget it. Can't recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from metro NY

Very nice!

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Orbitz
The reception and staff were very friendly and helpful. We are a family of 4 and it accommodated 2 adults and 2 children very well. The room and linens were very clean. A great breakfast with lots of choices and nice eating area. Great central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Fantastic hotel for its price

Posted Feb 19, 2017
I was a little worried as i booked this hotel as a surpise for my husbands 50th so all the responsibility was on me. When we arrive we was greeted by a extremely friendly & welcoming lady at the desk. Our room was brilliant, perhaps in need of a little tlc but that didnt spoil our stay at all, main thing was the room was very clean & our beds were made daily & towels changed. 1st day we noticed fridge was not working & it was changed straight away. The breakfast wasnt what i was expecting but sure enough it was fresh & plenty there. We would definately stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Charis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Davood

It's not worth

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Such a bad experience, price is high and facilities is not good. Breakfast was awful. With this money you will get better hotels in that area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Overall very good