Ratings based on 1,322 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent hotel. Definitely the best in Athens

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Fantastic hotel. Very polite and professional staff. Breakfast buffet was incredible and top-notch. Lots of diverse food options, desserts, breads, juices, fruits, eggs. Hotel is very clean and quiet. My room was impeccably cleaned everyday with a little Greek chocolate next to my pillow. Toiletries were very nice and of good quality. The only cons were that the air conditioning and wifi was a little weak but I was coming back to my room tired everyday from touring around so it didn't matter too much. Location was perfect. Just a short walk away from the hop-on hop-off bus which was a perfect way to see the city and explore from this. Very close to Plaka, and Monastiraki which had excellent shops, lots of restaurants, and sights. Close to the Greek parliament and national garden which were very nice sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from myrtle beach, sc

Nice, clean hotel right in the center of the city.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Cons: The bed. Mattress was not very comfortable. Very stiff and hard.
Location: Excellent location within close proximity of everything you want to see and do in Athens. Was also easy to get to the beach from this hotel.
Great staff and hotel. It's in the best location in Athens, and right next to the metro station. Everything you would want to see in Athens is within walking distance. Excellent breakfast too. Only complaint was the bed...not comfortable at all. Had to lay an extra comforter on it to provide some cushion so you didn't feel like you were sleeping on a board. A more comfortable bed would have pushed it to 5 stars in my opinion. Not sure if all the beds were like ours or were we just the lucky room with the stiff mattress. The room was very quiet though. Being on a busy street, once the windows/door was latched shut, you heard nothing from the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Plaka

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We have stayed at Amalia for years. It has gotten steadily better. It has an excellent breakfast but no coffee in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Friendly and helpful and staff. Great location close to transport and main shopping area. Excellent buffet breakfast. Great views from Roof Garden. Would definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Florida

Very nice hotel. Walking distance to many places.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Great location if you are able to walk, if not the subway, buses and taxi cabs were another option. Our group of six liked walking.
Had to check out at midnight because of our early morning flight. They packed us a goodie bag for the six of us. Sandwiches, water, juice, apples, oranges and a sweet for desert. Was not expecting that. They have a great breakfast included. Many things to choose from. Very good even fresh squeezed orange juice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel in the center of the city.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Breakfast in the hotel was great. Location of the hotel made possible to visit many landmarks of Athens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Walking distance to Acropolis, Parliament, Plaka, National Garden and metro/bus/hop on hop off stops!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Situated in the centre of Athens.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Good size rooms, some with views, and nice breakfast and cafe. Also in a very central location.
Cons: Nothing I can think of. Everything was to my complete satisfaction.
Location: Very close to all means of transport, such as Metro, tram & airport bus. Very close to Botanical Gardens, shopping, restaurants, cafes, Plaka area.
We always feel very pampered whenever we stay at this hotel. The staff at reception, cafe and breakfast room are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. A lot of the attractions are within walking distance, or a short distance away, e.g Lycabettus, Acropolis, Athens Museum, Plaka, Flea Market at Monastiraki, shopping precinct, restaurants, cafes, Botanical Gardens and all means of transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great location close to all points of interest

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Close to points of interest and shopping Breakfast was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O.

Perfect location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Very nice hotel located in central Athens. Across from the National Gardens and a short walk (10-15 minutes) from the Acropolis.