Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Old World Grand Hotel in great location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: . The location, the view from the restaurant, the room facilities and the grand feel of the hotel.
Cons: Let guests know that only higher level rooms will see the acropolis from their room.
Location: The location was excellent - an interesting walk to the Temple of Zeus, Acropolis and Agora and the National Gardens on your door step
The King George is a grand hotel, slightly faded from its hey day but still has a lovely atmosphere. Located on Constitution Square you can watch the traditionally dressed Greek soldiers on guard outside the parliament building. The roads are very busy just by the hotel but they give a great chance to people watch from the balcony - you can even see people boarding and getting off the red, four carriage, road trains, people coming and going from McDonalds and the locals enjoying the busy gardens on the square. The view of the Acropolis from the restaurant is fabulous, unfortunately unless you are in a room above about floor 6 you can't see the Acropolis from your room due to the built up nature of the square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Amazing hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Fantastic hotel. Great staff, gorgeous view of the Acropolis during dinner. The hotel made arrangements for us to get to our ship and meet us at the airport. Could not have Bennett more helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando FL

King George Hotel Athens

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Absolutely amazing hotel. Furnishings, decor, cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding. The staff was very helpful as well. I highly recommend this hotel. The suite we had was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Top-Tier!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Location: Perfect location - Syntagma Square
We LOVED our stay at King George Hotel. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Perfect location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Peru

Stylish and modern comfort in Athens center

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Highlights - they had inter leading rooms, so Family was much more comfortable - the room was quite large (compared to plaza hotels that are quite small - room service with chef food and silver cutlery - the gym was available at basement - in door swimming pool and sauna available in the GB hotel besides - 7 floor restaurant with acropolis view and 2 sections: open and air conditioned - this hotel el was a nice surprise, I feel got much value for my money
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Central location but pricey for what it is

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We stayed on June 27 for one night in a classic room. I had asked upon check-in if the room was near an elevator as I did not a room near the elevator. I was told no, but upon arrival to our room it was right across the elevator. We went back to the front desk and they changed our room 414 which faced the back of the building. I want to mention that the front desk did not take kindly to our booking through Expedia. They told me I should have booked directly with the hotel in order to get a better room.(something to think about for the future as the other hotel I booked in Mykonos said the same thing). Pros -Great Location- -Tudor Hall Restaurant - great food, service and the view of the Acropolis is stunning!!!! Cons -Turndown service was a miss as they did not clean up the coffee we had nor was it refilled so we can make coffee in the morning -Shower was hot and cold without adjusting the water....a few times it would just get very hot and then go right to cold Overall for a very expensive rate for one night you get a great location and the view of the back of the hotel - I suggest researching a bit before choosing this location....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
great hotel. Forget about it why do I need to put in 50 characters? This is ridiculous . Give me a break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel of 2 week Italy and Greece tour

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Was great location near Plaka and amazing room. Worth the higher price.
1 out of 5
by David

No coffee makers in rooms - repairs not timely

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The couch in the room was broken and has been broken for some time. There was also no coffee pot in the room. When I called the management to discuss the problems, they said it was against hotel policy to have a coffee pot in the room and to fix the couch that could not be sat on, instead of addressing the problems. It turns out that other rooms in the hotel had coffee pots and instead of giving me one, they just refused to do anything about it. As for the couch, they need to repair it, even though it may actually need to be replaced. But to tell me it was against hotel policy to make repairs made me realize that they just did not want to do the work. The AC also did not work in the room and they refused to send a technician to the room to correct the issue. They said that I would have to wait to the following day, so I had to try to sleep in a hot room, which is not good. I rented a room that was not adequate or comfortable. After I left, I received a "we are sorry email" but did not offer any compensation or to correct anything in the future. I highly recommend not staying here cause if there are any problems with your room, they will not be addressed during your stay.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Best Location in Athens

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
There is not a better location for visiting Athens. The square outside the hotel is beautiful, especially at night. The hotel itself is not luxurious in the modern style, but very comfortable and when you have a view of the acropolis from your room, it is hard not to be thrilled. The hotel is associated with the Grand Bretagne next door so access to Alexander's Lounge with its outside courtyard seating was very pleasant. We ate at the Tudor Hall restaurant in the hotel and had the best meal of our 4 week trip. The city tour buses stop within a three minute walk and the two hour tour is well worth doing to get an idea of the area outside of the historic district. We walked to the acropolis and museum and thouroughly enjoyed the hotel itself and the location is terrific.