Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arezzo

Buona posizione

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Gradevole soggiorno Personale molto cortese Buona la colazione
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charme und Komfort

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Cons: Luftstrom bei Klimaanlage - ist derzeit so montiert/ eingestellt, dass man den kalten Lufstrom immer in das Gesicht/ Schulter bekommt - Grippegefahr
Tolles Hotel, freundliche Rezeption Kleines Verbesserungspotential: Klimaanlage ist so montiert, dass es leider "zieht" und man diese daher in der Nacht nicht wirklich nutzen kann
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely renovated old hotel, excellent location

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff ,decor and the breakfasts were amazing. The hotel was not too big and did not feel impersonal.
Cons: More Coat hangers and the "Cook to order menu" to be on the tables .
Location: Excellent location if you do not have a car to see all the main attractions, Palazzo Duomo, ruins of Appollo..it is also an easy walk into syracuse.
The hotel is in a fantastic location with sea views and just short walks to all of Ortigia's main attractions plus trattoria's bars and the daily market which is a must see. You can easily walk to Syracuse and the Archaeological park and the hotel is very helpful with offering advice if you require it regarding public transport if you wish to venture further a field. The free soft drinks in the mini bar and the free drinks provided in the reception area were a real treat and a lovely touch along with the basket of fruit in our room on arrival. The breakfasts were amazing, the choice of fresh fruits were particularly outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK/US

Family memories in Ortigia

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Location, view, room comfort, friendliness of staff. Small quiet room off lobby with fountain is lovely.
Cons: Quiet music at breakfast and certainly dinner would be nice. Our TV didn't work, but we didn't ask to have it fixed.
Location: Ortigia is fun to explore. Eat at Retroscena (twice), Don Camillo and al Mazari. See the Teatro Greco. Agrigento, Mt. Etna, Piazza Armerina, Taormina
We had 2 rooms, one for my husband, myself and our youngest son. The other for our son and daughter in law. We had lovely rooms looking out to the sea. The beds were cozy, the showers were rainy. We had to ask for the A/C to be turned down in both rooms. Attended to immediately. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant the 1st night, delicious!!! Breakfast were excellent. Eggs any way, caprese salad, lots of whole fresh fruit, make your own cannoli. Great coffees and juice choices. We were waiting very sad family news from the US. Hotel reception staff very sympatheic and happy to take phone message if word came while we were out. Excellent restaurant suggestions. 3rd trip to Sicily, 2nd to Ortigia. Would definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roma

Semplicemente fantastico

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Hotel centrale, struttura splendida, personale disponibile professionale e cortesissimo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Providence, RI

A truly charming hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: I liked everything about it.
Cons: A full length mirror in the room. Every woman needs one.
Location: The hotel offers free bicycles to get around. The major sights are in walking distance.
I stayed 3 nights in Siracusa and I was so happy with my choice of hotel. Its situated on the Island of Ortigia which is the only area to think about staying if you go to Siracusa. The staff were so helpful and pleasant, my bedroom was very comfortable and attractive, the breakfasts superb and the location perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The reception staff were very helpful and friendly
Cons: The restaurant service and food was not the best.
Location: Close to everything
It's an old building so the rooms are a little on the small side but nicely decorated and out had a sea view which was lovely. Breakfast was a buffet of mainly fruit and pastries but with a menu from which you could order eggs and cold meats. We ate in the restaurant one night and the meal was not all that inspiring. Certainly we didn't choose to eat there again. Also the hotel bar and restaurant don't open until 8pm which was inconvenient for us. The hotel is nicely situated though and a short walk from anything in Ortegia. The big downside is there is nowhere to sit outside and that was a big drawback for us. The roof terrace is only for use by those booking the spa room. Shame as it would enhance the whole hotel to have a rooftop terrace/ bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Cool retreat

Posted Jul 6, 2015
We stayed in the annexe to the main hotel just across the narrow street . Out of the heat , returning to the cool stone floored large hall was like a sanctuary . The lounge area is well laid out and there are free tea, coffee , cold drinks facilities . Our bedroom was a good size and scrupulously clean . Staff were friendly and cheerful , very attentive without being overbearing .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Charming and Friendly Hotel Conveniently Located

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Easy to park, nice room, friendly and helpful staff.
Parking was easy, the hotel is charming and conveniently located. The staff was very helpful and even made us a dinner reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great hotel ,tastefully refurbished.

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The welcoming, friendly staff and the tasteful way the palazzos have been restored retaining many of the original features.
Location: Although the hotel is on the quiet side of the peninsula there are plenty of restaurants nearby and it is only a 5 mins walk to other side and sites.
Welcoming and friendly staff who were extremely helpful. The breakfasts are amazing with lots of choice on the cold buffet and also on the menu. When we were shown to our room -462- and looked out of the French doors - WOW! The doors opened onto an amazing, very large sun terrace with extremely comfortable sun loungers and a table and chairs. The sea view was fantastic. My only small complaint was that there was no drawer space but, to be honest, we managed fine and we were there for 10 days. Everything was very clean and well maintained.