Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, convenient location at a great price

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Healthier options for breakfast. Fruit and yogurt would be nice.
Location: Beautiful location just a couple of minutes to town and the lake. Extra blankets in the rooms are getting old and could be replaced.
We loved our stay. The staff is great, the room was updated and very clean, the grounds and walking paths were beautiful, lovely pool, and a very reasonable price for the area in summer. We've been coming to Syracuse/Wawasee our whole lives but this was our first stay at Brookepoint. Already booked another weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Kari , Hotel Management
wow. Thank you ! It sounds like you see what we see here. Not everyone gets such a beautiful view to work from. We will look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ada, OK

great place to stay

Posted Jun 28, 2017
this hotel has a tranquil feel to it, very welcoming atmosphere. It's more like being in a huge cabin, than a hotel..with friendly and nice staff..always ready to help with any need. If you can't climb stairs, request a room on the first floor, because there are no elevators. Rooms include a full breakfast bar, food is ok, but coffee is delicious. No meals served other than breakfast. Swimming pool was very nice, warm salt water, clean area. It was a very enjoyable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Kari , Hotel Management
Thank you Sandy! We are so proud of the staff here. I am glad you noticed our secret weapon : great coffee! lol
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Spoiled Stay

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
The facility is welcoming and comfortable. Nice pool and work out room. Cozy lobby and beautiful outdoor area with wooded trails. But people in neighboring room had out of control kids making lots of noise We called the desk once and walked down once to complain but no offer was extended to move us. A domestic quarrel woke us at 6:30. We got breakfast and checked out before 9, much earlier than planned but it wasn't relaxing or romantic being there! We filled out the feedback form in the room and stopped at the desk and explained why we were leaving. We were told we'd hear back from them so they could help make up for our disappointing stay. We never did.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
This is very disappointing to hear your stay was not as you had hoped. I will talk with my front desk staff to ensure this does not happen again. We do appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel. We do try hard to couples romance getaways away from guests with children, sometimes this conflict is unavoidable. I do apologize for your inconveniences. We wish you safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

A welcoming country inn.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: The mattress was too hard for my tastes.
We booked a room here because we didn't want to pay the fees for a room at a major hotel chain. It was exactly what we needed-a quiet, rural setting, surrounded by lakes. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast (included) was excellent and had our favorite breakfast items. The setting was very relaxing with acres of lawn and woods. We only wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the evening bonfire.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Trish, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review for us! We are always happy to hear that our guests are able to rest and relax with us! We do hope you'll make plans to visit again! Safe travels.
5 out of 5
by carol J

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. Very quiet and comfortable. We did not get to spend a lot of time here this time but would certainly stay here again if we were back in the area. The breakfast was great too!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very kind review! We are so happy to hear you enjoy your stay and our breakfast! We pride ourselves in giving our guests a fulfilling breakfast to start their day! We do look forward to you staying with us again! Safe traveling.
4 out of 5
by Annette

Dirty, dirty room

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very dirty room. Found what looked to be cat food on the counter and on the carpet thru out the room. Then walked into the bathroom and found the last guests new clothing tags on the floor. Finding all of this makes me believe the room was not cleaned!!! I took the cat food and tags to the front desk and complained, she looked at me like I was crazy!! Just ridiculous!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for this happening. I will be using this as an opportunity to train our staff. This is not the standard by which we hold our housekeepers. I do hope the rest of your stay was pleasant! We hope to see you again. Safe travels
5 out of 5
by wendy

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review! Safe travels until we meet again!
1 out of 5
by Kent

Got ripped off

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Never stayed - booked for the week - due to weather conditions didn't arrive until next day and they had cancelled the rest of my reservation. Said there were no more rooms available - the rented my room and charged me too. Had to go 35 miles down the road to find a hotel. Bad deal - hotel.com never refunded me like they said they would. Called them 2 times and said I would get email confirming refund but never received.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
We are so very sorry to hear that this happened. It is unfortunate that we weren't able to have a room for you. We do rely on Hotels.com to handle any refunds that happen through their service. We are not able to do anything within their system. I encourage you to contact them again for resolution. Safe travels!
5 out of 5
by Chris

Hotel with great extras.

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Always stay there when in the area. Thru Hotels .con you get a great rate, they have a pool,exercise room. A great full breakfast. And even free chocolate chip cookies ,fresh , in the evening. Also a nice walking path.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you enjoy our hotel as much as we do! We love our cookies too! Safe travels until we meet again!
1 out of 5
by kim

NOT a good stay at all.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
I called a few days before our trip to ask how far the hotel was from shipsy, was told "no more than 20 minutes" it was 55 minutes away. 55 minutes. When we arrived we went to our room to half of the lights not working. When i told the front desk lady she handed me a light bulb. for about an hour of our stay the neighbors were having loud relationships. (I know you cant stop that but it really put the cherry on top of the cake). Needed ice, was charged 50 cents for a cup of ice. I would NOT stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Ben P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We do apologize for the miscommunication on the distance to Shipshewana. I do find that the issue with the lights and our staff giving you a light bulb is unacceptable on our part - and I apologize. This is not the way we handle things for our guest. We have since taken care of this issue, so no other guest will have to deal with it. We do hope you'll give us another opportunity to improve our rating for you. Safe travels!