Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath

Disappointing at best

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Not much, other than the location.
Cons: The service mindedness of staff. The hotel is not living up to its former glory and could do with an upgrade.
We stayed at this hotel seven years ago and had a wonderful experience. This time not. On arrival the staff could be best described as grumpy. The room was dark and dingy. For the three nights we were there the air-conditioning was not working. Three times I informed the reception with no action being taken. This was at the same time as a heat wave was sweeping southern Europe. In fairness we got 20% off the room as a result, but to be honest it was little compensation for three sleepless and hot nights.
3 out of 5
by Jamie

Very nice hotel, rooms needs modernizing

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with a great location, pool and spa facility good, the roof top bar and restaurant is a must at sunset, great cocktails and food amazing, sea view rooms do have an incredible sea view, great staff and close to everything on the island. Our room was very clean however did look a little tied, out dated and in need of a refit, especially the bathroom. Overall a good hotel at a reasonable rate but it could be so much nicer if they updated the rooms to a better standard.
5 out of 5
by Julie

Loved Les Etrangers Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Gorgeous hotel! Large room with superb view of the sea. Beautiful decor quite 1930s. Extremely clean. Great facilities. Loved the difference top bar/terrace. Nice breakfast again great views over the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted May 12, 2017
Very nice, comfortable room with balcony overlooking the waterfront and some comp mini-bar snacks included. Bed was straightened up throughout the day, great rooftop for cocktails, nice breakfast, relaxing spa, fantastic location. Very nice hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location

Posted May 3, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location with terrific views. Worth paying extra for sea view. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast included in the room price huge and a real mixture of traditional and Sicilian food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Quick to check in and out. Food was excellent
Cons: There was no full length mirror in the room. The coffee was too weak it could have been stronger
Location: Walking distance from mariner, lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Would go back again
Beautiful hotel. Well located apart from no full length mirror.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location hotel, but didn't live up to 5 star

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was in a great location. Room was not as we had expected for a junior suite, it was a bedroom and bathroom with an extra small area with one small chair and table, which added nothing useful, so we felt a little disappointed. That being said we were out all day so this was not a problem. We booked the hotel for the spa as it was our 25th anniversary and we wanted a treat. Not a spa as we had expected, it was small and extremely busy and noisy more like a public baths than a spa. Location was fantastic and central to everything we needed. Our sea view was tremendous. Overall we enjoyed our stay but overall we felt it was not worth the extra we payed for the special stay we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

exceptional

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: bathrooms
location fantastic beautiful view very charming. In Ortega and very convenient
5 out of 5
by Beatrice

luxury for a reasonable price

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing breakfast on 5th floor, with a beautiful view over the sea. Nice spa included in price. Within walking distance of everything there is to see in Syracuse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

incredible hotel right on the edge of the sea

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Cons: spa timings could be increased. bathrooms need to be modernized/fixed
in Ortega at a great location. hotel itself is beautiful full of charm and character. service excellent.