Ratings based on 866 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Great hotel - close to University

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Great hotel. Terrific banquet dinner. Very clean hotel room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Extremely helpful staff beautiful hotel. Very reasonable rate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Convenient to Syracuse University

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Lobby decor, shuttle to Syracuse
Cons: Quality of restaurant food.
Location: A few blocks from Syracuse University
We were referred by a friend to the Genesee Grand, as it is just a few blocks to Syracuse University. We were pleased with the accommodations. The lobby has a lovely decor, a koi pond, and a coffee bar. The restaurant's dinner was just ok, but convenient. We were surprised there was no refrigerator (or snacks) in the room but saw that it was available on request -- not really all that important to us. Room was clean an comfortable. Found a reasonable rate online. Convenient shuttle to Syracuse, even though it's close enough to walk. We were running late so it was perfect. I would stay here again, but perhaps opt for a suite instead of the smaller double next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

University visit

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great location, friendly staff & clean/comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel and dinning bar area.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Great experience here. The staff is great and area is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Enjoyed the atmosphere, disappointed that the "free shuttle" service was never available. However, the staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middleburgh

Downtown hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Cons: I had to change the initial room i was given due to the overwhelming fumes of fresh paint. Then I was given a room on the second floor and it was fine
I stayed there so i can get a little walk to the meeting at the Sheritan Hotel. Close enough for a nice walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice accomodations and location near the hospital.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Dining room was beautiful but a little expensive
Location: Near the work environment that I had to be close to for the week
Had to stay here due to major snowstorm and the staff was very helpful to make reservations on short notice. The rooms were nicely decorated and I would recommend this facility to my friends and family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Some Concerns

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Beautifully decorated, extravagant.
Cons: Add tea to the free coffee bar in the main lobby. Add coffee maker or microwave to rooms. Vacuum - how could broken glass be missed
Location: The location was good for us due to my daughter living across the street at Copper Beech Commons.
Beautiful hotel but pricey. We found broken glass outside the bathroom door on the rug (!) inside our room. If it weren't for the glass glistening in the light we may not have seen it and stepped on it. No coffee pot in room, nor microwave. However, there was a free coffee bar in the other building in the main lobby, but no tea, so I had to pay for tea at the little breakfast bar that served pastries, juice, etc. while the coffee drinkers got their coffee for free. A little sad to see the koi pond - the fish were hunched together in the far corner - no foliage for them to hide under as they seemed to need to, not even cheap plastic greenery. Sad to see that. It was a beautiful hotel, but probably will go elsewhere next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york,ny

Near SU campus

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Nice hotel walking distance from SU campus, bar and restaurant service above average Rooms small but comfortable