Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sea view balcony but far from Otigia

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Location is the main let down, although it is on the coast with sea view balconies the area it is in seems run down and there's nothing else around there for tourists. The hosts were lovely, the room was nice and the breakfast adequate but if I were to visit Syracuse again I would choose a hotel on Otigia where all the sights and restaurants are.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great staff. OK location. A few restruants close.

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Great staff.
Cons: Neighbor had very few restruants nearby.
Location: Location is probably the only downside. Only 3 restruants within walking distance.
Great experience. Room had balcony 15 feet above the Med.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gem of a place

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable room overlooking the sea
Cons: Nothing
Location: About a 20 minute hike to the old town. Restaurants nearby.
Located somewhat away from the bustle of old town, this B&B is a perfect oasis for a stay in Siracuse. Hosted by friendly staff who are helpful and love the hospitality business. Breakfasts are varied and plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular terrace views

Posted Jun 14, 2015
I stayed with my adult son for three nights. This B&B proved an outstanding choice. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. The room was attractive, clean, and comfortable, with a well appointed bathroom. (There is A/C.) The clifftop views of the sea both from our room terrace and that off the common room where breakfast is served are gorgeous. Breakfast was varied and nutritious by typical Italian standards. They offer beach towels, shoes, and other equipment for swimming, which you can do off the rocks just outside the backdoor of the lower level, a beautiful spot. There is also a rooftop terrace available to all. It is only ten minutes walk into Ortigia, the old part of town with the most interesting streets to wander and restaurants to eat at. There is a bus available if you are tired after a day of wandering (just 50 euro cents). Really, everything was just superb at this wonderful place. Hope to return some day to Syracuse, and if I do, I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Fabulous place, stunning views, disabled access

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Everything, especially our wonderful hosts, Sabrina and Claudia, who ensured that our stay was just perfect, thank you!
Location: Archeological museum and Greek ruins are a must
We decided to stay just outside of Ortygia but within walking distance (about 15-20 minutes) and we made the right choice. Located on a high bluff overlooking the Ionian Sea, the Giuggiulena Villa was the absolutely perfect spot. Our room was spacious, lovely, and most comfortable. Our hosts made sure that all our needs were taken care of , accommodated our rented car right next to the entrance, and spent a good amount of time, reviewing the map of the area to point out the Greek ruins, archeological museum (among the finest I have visited), their favorite restaurants (excellent suggestions) and other points of interest. The breakfast was extraordinary, a buffet fit for royalty. We decided to stay longer and put off leaving Syracusa because we hated to leave. ***Note: For any disabled travelers, this is an ideal place to stay. We ended up in the room designated "disabled" with an accessible balcony and large bathroom and shower, that could be reached by a small elevator from first floor, a rarity among B&Bs in Sicily!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from Aylesbury, uk

Made to feel so welcome, a lovely B&B

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: sea views but the great hospitality of Luisa who did a fantastic job of lookig after us
Cons: nothing, this really was a lovely hotel
Location: was 20-25 mins walk to the island. ok for us as we needed to walk off the lovely breakfast. central for the ruins and Island
What a great place, Luisa made us very welcome with homemade cake and Coffee and was happy to offer us suggestions of things to do and places to eat during our trip. She went out of her way to make sure we had a great stay. Our room was spacious with a balcony right over the sea. Very romantic to see the sun rise over the sea in the morning. Breakfast was very good, a varied selection. You are approx 25 mins walk from the island and the same from the ancient ruins. One recommendation for anyone staying and walking to the island is to take the upper road rather than the road that joins the hotel (theres a path up if you turn left out of the B&B road after a short distance on your right). The path is much wider, even and better lit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel on a rock face!

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Everything! Especially the balcony, quietness of the room, relaxed atmosphere, snorkelling from the Hotel.
Location: Close walking distance to Ortigia - 20 minutes, where we visited the Puppet Theatre, Cathedral, the local market (very interesting), bars, restaurants
Fantastic Hotel on a rock face! Snorkelling equipment and towels available (free) where you can access the sea from the basement of the Hotel! The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony where you can watch the sunrise each morning. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Sabrina (Manager) was such a fantastic host, really funny, helpful and accommodating, providing us with lots of information and drove us in to Ortigia on our arrival to save a 20 minute walk or the taxi ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

완벽한 뷰를 가진 호텔

Posted Nov 15, 2016
오르티지섬하고 가깝지는 않습니다. 하지만 오르티지섬 안은 복잡하고 ztl구역이기때문에 안에 있는 호텔보다는 이 호텔 추천해요. 우선 뷰가 너무 좋구요 호스트도 굉장히 친절합니다. 다시 또 가고 싶네요
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Deutschland, München

Wenn wieder Syracusa, dann wieder Guigguilena!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Das Hotel liegt direkt am Meer, d.h. Die Balkone liegen schon über dem Wasser und man hat direkten Zugang über eine Treppe dazu. Badeschuhe standen bereit um sich gut auf den Klippen bewegen zukönnen. Direkt aus dem Haus zum Schwimmen/Schnorcheln zu gehen war klasse. Das Hotel hat kostenlose Fahräder die wir zum Erkunden der Umgebung, zu Fahrten in die Stadt und des archäologischen Parks nutzen konnten. das Haus liegt zwar etws ausserhalb (20 min zu Fuss in Zentrum von Ortigia), aber das war kein Problem ( guter Spaziergang nach dem Essen), dafür wohnt man sehr ruhig. Frühstück auf dem obersten Balkon war einfach ein guter Start in den Tag. Rundum ein gelungener Aufenthalt, der gern wiederholt werden kann.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brasil

Um hotel para sonhar

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Gostei de tudo e as pessoas que te recebem lá, tornam tudo melhor.
Location: Além da história, vá ao mercado livre e divirta-se com os vendedores sicilianos, enquanto toma um vinho local e saboreia os frutos do mar da região.
O hotel é pequeno e muito bom, parece que estamos na casa de um amigo antigo e agradável. Café da manhã variado e saboroso, servido por pessoas que fazem todo o possível para que você fique satisfeito. O quarto com vista para o mar não tem vista para o mar, está sobre o mar. Maravilhoso. Tomara que possa um dia voltar. Recomendo a todos, sem medo de errar.