Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel close to amenities

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Lovely building and location
Cons: Tea/coffee making facilities, working extractor fans in bathroom
Location: Close to Ortigia (5 minute walk), good selection of restaurants /drinking places within a few minutes of walking.
Hotel has a grand setting with a good location (but a little shabbiness with very old and worn rugs in lounge and carpets in the halls - not sure if these were meant to be that way - as the hotel has obviously been refurbished in recent years). Staff were pleasant and overall helpful. Breakfast was standard - but with a good selection of pastries. Rooms were clean, of a decent size and with air conditioning. Negatives were en-suite bathrooms without windows and without a working extractor fan - so retained smell of damp (although bathroom facilities were good and bath had a jacuzzi). No coffee/tea making facilities - but a small fridge with refreshments in the rooom, and granite on tap in the hotel lounge. Parking our hire car was sometimes a problem - especially at the weekend in the evenings.
5 out of 5
by Garry

Fantastic location

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful old building with classic decor inside. Service impeccable. Breakfast buffet style with loads to choose from. I would go back in a heart beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Best of two worlds

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The hotel is located right outside of Ortigia. U can walk there in ten minutes. Easy to park by the hotel then access the old town. The room is spacious in Italy standard. The only room to improve is 1) no cofffee machine, 2) the breakfast is average, not bad, but not 4 star in my book. Small details. Overall a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in this hotel for our anniversary and we're very pleased to have been upgraded to a suite on our arrival. The staff were lovely, and breakfast was excellent. Granted it's on a busy road and it's very difficult to park but the location to Ortigia was great. Restaurants on Ortigia were excellent. I would recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Room Centrally Located

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Location, good, free wifi, great breakfast, spacioius well appointed room., great staff.
Location: Ortigia Island. Teatro Greco, Teatro Romano.
The hotel was conveniently located halfway between the central railway station and the island of Ortigia. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and well appointed and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Very happy with my stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Magnifico

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Staff, breakfast, room, location, nice modern renovation.
Cons: No
Location: Short walk to the island and short taxi ride to the Greek ampitheatre.
Outstanding hotel has to be the top of the line 4 star bordering on a 5 star in my opinion. Best hotel on our trip could not ask for anything better. If it had a parking garage it would almost heaven!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

classy but in a good way

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Nice, clean, good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Hotel close to Ortega

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Great location close to Ortega and good cafes. Within 5 minute walk to Ortega which has good views and cafes. Best breakfast at hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great room. Fine location

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Located just off Ortigia, but easy walk. They upgraded us. Tall ceilings. Nicely decorated. Thank goodness, an elevator. Very nice breakfast including baby Cannolis.