Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peaceful haven away from the bustle of Syracuse

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Ground, garden and staff. Excellent value for money.
Cons: Food quality was a little variable but ok.
Location: Plenty to do and see in Syracuse ( archaeological park) and Ortiga.
The hotel is in a lovely garden with a fabulous pool. Whilst the rooms are basic, they are clean and comfortable. What really makes the stay is the friendly nature and helpfulness of the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

A fantastic hotel. We had a fabulous week.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: All parts
Location: We spent many evenings in Ortigia which is a beautiful historic town with great restaurants and architecture. A day to Etna was worth the drive.
The hotel is set in a peaceful setting with picturesque gardens, fabulous amenities and an excellent restaurant. The pools are well maintained and perfect for relaxing around. All the staff were outstanding. We highly recommend a stay her.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and charming hotel.

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I were given a warm welcome on arrival and escorted to our room. We booked the best suite in the hotel which was very comfortable and roomy, and included a large balcony overlooking the hotel gardens and swimming pool. The Hotel was located on the outskirts of Siracusa and set amidst beautiful well kept grounds. The breakfast was generous and varied. We also enjoyed meals at the hotel including Lunch and Evening meal in the Restaurant. The food was very good and the service always courteous. The hotel pool was welcoming and a good size. It was well kept and the poolside furniture was ideal for lazing by the pool. The hotel owners were welcoming and attentive and went out of their way to ensure that our 6day stay was enjoyable and comfortable. The one downside was the difficulties in maintaining a stable wifi signal and tv reception in our room. On the whole, we were very happy with the choice of hotel and would happily recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing retreat

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I had a nice stay at Caiammare. All of the staff was super friendly, the grounds, including the pool, were immaculately maintained. We stayed three nights in late September and it was very quiet for our stay. Often had the pool to ourselves. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and it far exceeded expectations. Delicious food. My only complaints are that our room had an intense, persistent perfume smell I could have done without, and the location is a good 20 minute drive from Ortigia or any other tourist spots. Grateful we had a car. But otherwise a relaxing retreat!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel woth fantastic pool

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay here. The service was exceptional and the staff were very friendly. The hotel was busy at the weekend with a great atmosphere but very relaxed and peaceful through the week. There are two pools and a jacuzzi and the hotel facilities also include a well equipped gym and sauna and there is a brilliant restaurant which even uses food grown on site. The room was a good size and was kept very clean.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from UK

Great hotel for a visit to the Syracusa area.

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel. New management & staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Hotel is set in beautiful gardens, very peaceful, with two large pools. Dinners and breakfasts very good. We enjoyed our four days there enormously, close (by car) to Syacusa and the coast, very relaxed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Nice and quiet

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: Lovely building only 18 bedrooms. The gardens are excellent and there is an impressive drive up, great if you want to be far from the maddening crowd
Cons: Breakfast/Dining area seems to lack something,
Location: Near by are three restaurants on the coast facing Syracuse about 5 mins , small beach 5 mins drive.
Great Pool Quiet location Lovely Gardens Breakfast acceptable, evening meal -there is better close by. Needs a car , 5 miles from the town, a mile from the beach and small restaurants Can be difficult to find without Sat nav or a good map. Staff great. All very laid back. We went in October and it was very quiet and relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2015
End of season so things closing down. But staff were excellent and made us very welcome keeping pool and bar open...especially Sophia and Mario. One point, you definitely need a car here, but the hotel would make life easier if they provided a courtesy bus to the beach and town centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel that looks the part, but beware !

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
An earlier reviewer said that they didn't understand what this hotel was 'trying to be' .For us, this hotel is typical of a hotel that has the cusp of high European standards, but in reality, is Sicilian. We spent 5 nights at the hotel, in a very comfortable junior suite, but on 4 of the nights, the hotel held events for the local population that infringed on our stay. No mention was made of these events at the time of booking, and if they had been mentioned , we would have stayed elsewhere. Loud music went on until at least midnight on 3 of the 4 nights, and hotel guests and eventees were not kept separate. These events also prevented access to the front of the hotel for dining, as this is where the events were concentrated The hotel is 20 minutes outside of Siracusa, so a car is essential. If you stay at the hotel during the day, be aware that the hotel has a mix of residential and agriculture surrounding it, so noise levels during the day also mean that in our opinion, there is nothing tranquil about the residence, and there is nothing within a reasonable walking distance 4 star is way above this experience. Although the dinner menu was restricted , Breakfast was reasonable. The grounds of the hotel were being attended to, but the closure of the two pools for a full day for cleaning ( rather than night ) was perplexing. Again, no info on this action was conveyed to guests. The hotel offers little info on the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Lovely hotel in good location

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grounds, lovely buildings and helpful, pleasant staff.
Location: We had already been touring the local area before visiting this hotel, so apart from the nearby beach we could not say what else was close by.
This was a relaxing and pleasant stay with everything we needed at hand. The facilities were good and it was great to be able to order drinks all day by the pool and lunch was available if we wanted it. The dinners were excellent and great quality and the chef visited the tables during our stay. Be prepared though for fish being the main ingredient, as normal in Italy. Our room was very nice and pleasantly furnished (although we were a bit bemused at having a disabled bathroom - toilet was VERY high!). Also the room could have benefited from a bit more natural light. The pool area was immaculate with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. As we had a rental car we were able to visit the local beach, which was less than 10 minutes drive away.