Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cullompton, Devon, UK

Great central hotel for exploring Siracusa

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Small and very friendly family run hotel, the staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
Cons: The controls to the air conditioning unit were a mystery, and seemed to have a mind of their own!
Location: The hotel is situated in Ortigia, the historical centre of Siracusa. Plenty to see & do within walking distance, don't miss the morning market!
This was our second stay at Hotel Gutkowski, and we hope it won't be our last. We came originally with our two teenage children and stayed five days, seven years ago, and had a wonderful holiday. This time, we came just as a couple for a one week stay. The welcome, kind & extremely informative, was every bit as we had remembered. The hotel is situated in the historic centre of Siracusa, Ortigia, and there is so much to see & do by foot. The hotel is simply furnished in eclectic style. The rooms have both air conditioning & ceiling fans, absolutely essential, even in September. The restaurant has greatly expanded since our original stay, and we enjoyed two superb meals there, in addition to a varied buffet breakfast every morning. On the second floor there is a large terrace overlookig the sea, where guests are welcome to enjoy drinks, etc. A couple of times we bought food from the incredible local market to have a picnic lunch on the terrace, and enjoy the view. Very highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Anthea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location and warm hospitality

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: While the public spaces of the hotel were nicely furnished, the bedrooms could stand a little refinement,
Location: Just strolling around the narrow streets of the old town on the island of Ortygia and soaking in its classic, urban charms warmed our hearts
The somewhat prosaic appearance and furnishings of the bedrooms were more than compensated by the exceedingly friendly greeting afforded by Christine, manager of the hotel. The free parking space a few meters from the front door provided an additional enhancement. Breakfast, marked by a copious supply of Sicily's divine grapefruits and oranges started our days on a high note.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Convenient Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: A nice place, simple, but good. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast.
Close to entrance to Ortigia so having a car was okay. Other hotels are harder to get to. Parking is public, so you have to either pay or work a little. Everything in Ortigia is within walking distance. We had the room on the large terrace looking at the see. The room is small but the view is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Do yerself a favour and stay at hotel gutkowski it is fabulous
5 out of 5
by Emre from Nicosia

Best in Ortigia

Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel. Very tasteful. Amazing breakfast. Super helpful staff. Great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great boutique hotel. We had one of the rooms with the sea view which was amazing. Very pretty rooms with a clean but quirky look. Quick walk to anywhere in Ortigia. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
by John from Ross on Wye

Ortagia in winter.

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff great, helpful, good English. Hotel handy for all Ortagia's facilities. Good continental breakfast and small bistro menu in the evenings. Visited 11-18th November so very quiet. Ortagia still lively, though some restuarants closed for winter.
5 out of 5
by Frances from Milton Keynes

Fabulous boutique hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
We loved this hotel - great location and really friendly staff. Fabulous decor and sea views! Would definitely recommend this hotel. Great little touches like free bike hire and free granita on the beautiful roof terrace between 5-7 really made this hotel extra special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the center of Ortegia

Posted Jul 4, 2015
This is a beautiful hotel close to everythibg you want to see and do in Siracusa. We would stay here again.