Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Jan from Bethesda

Excellent location, though no private bath

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room (with shared bath) was adequate as was the breakfast. The location, however, was excellent and the owner most engaging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Clean bed for the night

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Wotif
Room was spacious and pretty clean with ok views of harbour from balcony. Very close to bridge to Ortigia where you will spend most your time. The owner wasn't around when we arrived in the afternoon, I was buzzing the building door with no answer and had to ask a few locals for help before eventually one friendly business owner across the road called the owner for me and he arrived about 15 minutes later. I would strongly recommend scheduling an arrival time with the owner so you are not left on the street confused and waiting. The owner did help me find a street park which was good and he had plenty of info on the town. Breakfast was fairly ordinary. Fresh coffee was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Dennis from San Diego

Good location to see sites

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
Pepe and Salvo do a great job. They provided a lot of information about Syracusa including travel tips for the area. On street parking is difficult. Must call to check-in, Except for parking location makes walking to sites very good. Rooms are very stark and not warm. Shared bath is kept clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

great location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The owner and the staff really wanted you to enjoy your stay, they were very helpful providing a map and recommending places to eat and things to see.
Cons: Getting in the first time, it is not really clear what you have to do. A tenant of the building let me in and took me to reception.
Location: Nice street with cafes and shops, short walk over the bridge onto Ortegia with all its attractions. Easy walk from the bus station.
Lovely stay, made to feel very welcome. Good, clean facilities and relaxed atmosphere with access to the kitchen so you could make coffee or cook a full meal if you wanted. Very close to Ortegia but without the increased cost. There is a lift which is good as the rooms are on the 5th floor. I had a huge room with a balcony and the bathrooms are well equipped.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good value, helpful host

Posted Jul 8, 2014
We had a pleasant stay at Le Grand Bleu. The host was extremely helpful. His advice allowed us the best use of our time. We were disappointed that our room was not en suite. However, the bathrooms were clean and readily accessible. The location was ideal. It was extremely close to the Ortigia and convenient to other sites in Siracusa.
5 out of 5
by cynthia from naples fl

great value, great host

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Thank-you Salvo for the integrity of keeping costs low without cutting quality and care. Excellent tourism advice and proper service. Gotta love Siracusa! What a great location amoung the everyday people in a great neighborhood with the tourist trap a stones throw away and a view of the marina from the balcony!
5 out of 5
by Frenske from London

Excellent location, clean rooms

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels
Nice accomodation with some nice views. Location is good, close to Ortigia and walking distance to Neapolis. Only minus was that the owner was not in when we arrived. Owner was very friendly and had a lot of suggestions.
5 out of 5
by elina and harti from finland

like at home

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels
We were warmest welcomed Form the first Moment of our stay. Salvo and Josef are born for service of customers, they provided us with the best information of syracusa and surrounding, history,culture,best places to eat, markets,shopping,barber and swimming etc.thank you, hope to see you again.b&b is marvellously situated just next to old city and room was big and clean with a balcony to old town and sea.