Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Clean bright, free car parking fantastic service lovely staff and great roof top pool.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great stay!

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel offers a good standard of accommodation. The rooms are not large but are modern and well appointed. There is a rooftop pool, bar and dining area. The barman was particularly friendly, welcoming and an asset to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from niagara falls canada

Walking distance to some of the archeological site

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Only difficulty was the tight parking spaces but we managed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great staff but facilities need improvement

Posted Aug 3, 2017
I stayed here for ten days on holiday exploring Syracuse. Some aspects of this hotel were excellent, namely: 1) The staff were all friendly and helpful; 2) the room was spotlessly clean; and 3) the air conditioning worked perfectly. However, I have some complaints! 1) I had opted for a deal with breakfast included in the room rate. When I arrived, I was charged 10 euros a day extra for breakfast. 2) I had specifically selected this hotel because it appeared (from the grossly faked photo on the website) to have a proper swimming pool. When I arrived, it turned out to be not much more than a toddlers' paddling pool, only fit for a goldfish to manage any decent swimming. 3) The hotel doesn't offer a proper dinner menu, and since it's situated the other end of town from the tourist night life, there isn't much alternative choice. But once again, full credit to the wonderful staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Maurizio Garofalo - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Silverman, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Siracusa Prometeo. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Regarding your complaint about the breakfast, I can assure you that you have purchased a discount rate that does not include breakfast, for this reason at the arrival the receptionist informed you about all the options to have breakfast. As far as swimming pool is concerned, it is a "roof" pool that offers coolness and relaxation, with whirlpool and upstream features. Our hotel is located in front of the archaeological area, the historic center is no more than 1500 meters and is easily accessible by electric shuttles bus which stops 100 meters from our hotel at a cost of € 1 per person. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours Sincerely, Maurizio Garofalo - General Manager Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Clean, comfortable with effective ac! Very nice rooftop bar and pool. Good base for a visit to Syracuse as long as you don't mind staying away from the main bar and restaurant area of the town (which we didn't). Free car park although a bit snug and an adventure to get in and out of. Recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Stylish hotel, excellent facilities

Posted Jul 24, 2017
A lovely, modern hotel within walking distance of the old town, and directly opposite the Greek / Roman ruins. Excellent facilities and friendly staff. A lovely place to stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, good staff

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Round-the-clock front desk, which was rare in Sicily.
Cons: There could be truth in advertising.
The hotel is very nice and the staff is very helpful. The pool is also great. The bed was very comfortable. However, be aware that they will not refund money for any reason. We were in Sicily when wild fires took out the train route to the entire eastern board and this forced us to make some changes. I did not attempt to cancel ,my reservations, just move my three nights. So I booked a fourth and asked for the last to be cancelled when we arrived and they would not do it. Expedia takes its cut up front so they lose money if they accept a cancellation. And the ad says "Free Cancellation." THIS IS NOT TRUE. Also, the location: the hotel is a two minute walk to to the Archaeological Museum, which is excellent, and the archaeological park, which is also excellent. However, it is a twenty-five minute walk to Ortigia, the delightful old city, or one can take a bus for two euro, but those are not air conditioned and are packed on the weekends. Next time we will just stay in Ortigia. The new part of the city is devoid of charm and the restaurant in the hotel was the most expensive and least memorable meal we had the entire trip.
5 out of 5
by Sandra

Great service

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good location for visiting the Greek Theatre complex. We used the local bus to historical centre due to the extreme heat. Pool was great. Staff were very helpful and friendly, thanks to Umberto at reception and Andreas at the pool bar. Would highly recommend staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Boyko

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great staff

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Wotif
Comfortable room, great care taken with cleanliness. Restaurant staff in particular were professional, friendly and always willing to accommodate special requests. Would definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends