Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel in a good position

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Arrived at 11 am and attentive desk staff advised us to return after 2 pm, and looked after our cases. Perfect stroll and lunch at Duomo minutes away. I had to ask if a change of room possible as one given was airless, no view out. Third choice was fine and all done courteously. Rooms of good quality, excellent bed but ... tv no signal for World News and aircon iffy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Charming little hotel!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Lovely hotel, very pleasant and accommodating staff, free hot buffet breakfast. Rooms look out on the ocean, mine had a huge terrace. Within walking distance to everything, lots of sights, shops, restaurants and a fabulous street market that goes on and on. I will definitely stay there again and I highly highly recommend it. And the price was very reasonable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Good hotel in a beautiful location.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautifully situated, within a very easy walk to the Duomo.
Cons: Do not change a thing!
Location: Situated on the seafront, with a very cheap bus service to Syracuse. Ortigia market is sensational, just right for Rick Stein's taste.
This was a visit to Syracuse for 2 days in the middle of our holiday to Sicily. We travelled down from Palermo by train when Mount Etna decided to erupt. Our hotel is situated in Ortigia, which is beautiful, and found the people to be extremely friendly. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, great location and great price

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We really enjoyed staying in this hotel which had good room and a good buffet breakfast. The location is excellent on the sea front and the off season was very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely stay

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Great location easy walking everywhere. City shuttle bus stops outside front door
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect end to Sicilian adventure. Staff and hotel couldn't have been better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean. Great view from patio door.

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very happy with location and value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent staff, comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: All of the staff were exceptionally helpful. The owner was also regularly on site and was unfailingly courteous and welcoming.
Cons: Only comment is that our bathroom was quite small, and manoeuvring out of it needed some deft work on the door, but overall room was good.
Location: Ortigia is a small island; the hotel is towards the southern tip where there is a castle worth visiting. Numerous restaurants / trattoria nearby.
Stayed at the hotel for a week. Staff were exceptionally hospitable and welcoming - we spoke no Italian but they spoke good English. Breakfasts were good, fruit / cheese / meats / cereal / bread / pastries / gateaux. Wifi worked well. Our rooms was cleaned daily and was very comfortable. Main issue in Ortigia is parking; we did not understand the local parking rules and our car was towed away on first morning. Do not park in yellow bays! White are free, blue you pay. If/when we return, I'd think twice about bringing a hire car. Ortigia itself is a superb venue if you like history, Greek buildings, many historic buildings. A real gem. Loads of restaurants to suit every budget. You can comfortably walk from one end to the other easily, and there is a road onto Syracusa itself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing quality

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel did not feel like a 4 star hotel. The rooms were run down and smelled oppressively of heavily perfumed cleaners. It actually gave me a headache. The view was incredible but ruined because we didn't want to be in room due to smell. The people at hotel were nice but hotel just felt shabby. The walls were scratched up and the bathroom fixtures were rusty. Parking is near impossible and it took them way too long to volunteer that they had a valet. Again - nice people - hotel just not at level implied by rest of reviews and star ratings. I felt it important to write a review because I felt so misguided by what I had read.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, but get directions!

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
We were driving and suggest that you ask the hotel for specific directions. We kept going around in circles in one-way streets until a friendly local took us there. Thankfully we had an Italian-speaker in our party. We had the hotel valet-park the car and then either walked or took taxis. Once we were in the hotel it was lovely. Recommend you stay at least two nights in Ortigia - it's lovely.