Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent staff, comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: All of the staff were exceptionally helpful. The owner was also regularly on site and was unfailingly courteous and welcoming.
Cons: Only comment is that our bathroom was quite small, and manoeuvring out of it needed some deft work on the door, but overall room was good.
Location: Ortigia is a small island; the hotel is towards the southern tip where there is a castle worth visiting. Numerous restaurants / trattoria nearby.
Stayed at the hotel for a week. Staff were exceptionally hospitable and welcoming - we spoke no Italian but they spoke good English. Breakfasts were good, fruit / cheese / meats / cereal / bread / pastries / gateaux. Wifi worked well. Our rooms was cleaned daily and was very comfortable. Main issue in Ortigia is parking; we did not understand the local parking rules and our car was towed away on first morning. Do not park in yellow bays! White are free, blue you pay. If/when we return, I'd think twice about bringing a hire car. Ortigia itself is a superb venue if you like history, Greek buildings, many historic buildings. A real gem. Loads of restaurants to suit every budget. You can comfortably walk from one end to the other easily, and there is a road onto Syracusa itself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach outside the front door

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Great location good breakfast
Great hotel BUT?.... Unpleasant smell when we first checked in that we assumed was cleaning supplies. Smell got worst on second day and was unbearable when we finally switched on day 3. Suppose it was our fault for not changing rooms earlier.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rome

It's seen better days

Posted Jul 27, 2016
If you consider this to be a four star hotel, consider this: Not a very comfortable mattress, no satellite TV, rusting taps, lime scale in the bathroom, mold on the ceiling. On top of that it looked like someone tried to force their entry into the room (thankfully not during my stay) and the whole doorframe was wobbly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Well located hotel in Baroque gem

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Location and view.
Cons: Breakfast choice was slightly limited
Location: Walk, eat and enjoy the architecture.
Delightful visit in a very charming hotel. Pleasant and helpful staff and gentlemanly owner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Peak District

Good hotel right by the sea.

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness.
Cons: The garden at the back would be lovely if it were tidied up and some seating provided.
Location: The buildings of Ortigia are beautiful and there are plenty of eating places. It is a great base for exploring the south east of Sicily.
We stayed for one week and can thoroughly recommend it. The location is perfect for exploring Ortigia; the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful; the hotel is quiet and if you stay in a room with a sea view-wow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Apr 17, 2016
This was a lovely hotel, very good value for money. We had a sea view room which was definitely worth the extra, as we sat out on the small balcony several times during our stay. The location was great, everything was within walking distance. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Gorgeous! Sea view room, like a dream.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Thank you for the wonderful stay. I had a sea view room and it was absolutely beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Views, Friendly and Professional Staff

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, views, cleanliness, breakfast
Location: Within easy walking distance of all sites in Ortygia, ancient Neapolis, bus and train station (recommend taking a cab if you have luggage)
The Royal Maniace is a four-star hotel that delivers what it promises: a sea-side view, comfortable rooms, tasty breakfast and the best service I received during a three-week trip through Southern Italy. I received the early check-in I requested, breakfast service was prompt, and food quality and room cleanliness was excellent. The breakfast and front desk staff went the extra mile to be helpful, offering suggestions on off-the-beaten-track sites and carneval events, directions and good conversation. The excellent Consantino and his female colleague are the best! The miserable, snotty hotel staff from the QuintoCanto Hotel and Spa in Palermo should take lessons in customer relationship management from this team (for a fee, of course).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, small and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2015
On arrival, there was nowhere to park up and leave the car. So we unloaded our luggage quickly while parked right outside the main entrance. We then had to drive to the Talete area ( near the bridges) to park safely and for free overnight. Not such a big deal - it's a 10-15 minute walk back to the hotel in sunshine through quaint little streets. There are actually 2 parking spaces allocated to the hotel to the left of the front door and we were lucky enough to be able to use 1 of these spaces on 3 nights during our stay. The cleanliness and comfort of the room, location, friendliness and efficiency of the staff together with a very good breakfast all more than compensated for any parking inconvenience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Royal Maniace and hope to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, delighted that we chose it!!

Posted Jun 17, 2015
My boyfriend and I read reviews for many hotels in the area, before picking this hotel, on the coast in Ortigia, the most beautiful part of Siracusa. It surpassed all our expectations! It's a beautiful, quiet hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view of the coast. Breakfast, served in a sunny room facing out to sea was delicious, with an array of foods to suit every palette. I would really recommend this hotel. I don't normally write reviews but was so impressed by this hotel I decided to write one.