Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark, Notts.

Great location!

Posted Dec 28, 2017
The hotel was chosen because of the location- overlooking the sea- and it's proximity to the centre of Ortigia. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The bathroom was tired and could do with come TLC, but everything worked just fine. (It did lack hanging / shelf facilities for towels- which were changed every day- clothing, toiletries, etc.) The bed was extremely generous and comfortable, with crisp white linen. We were very happy with our choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Had a great 1-night stay here. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful, room was large with a view and particularly nice shower, and breakfast was great. A few people have commented on bathroom smell - for us it was there at first but went away almost immediately after we checked in. Since we were there in low season we were able to self-park with the help of staff. Would absolutely return and highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
A very special place in a beautiful and historic location. Sleep with the windows open to hear how close to the sea you are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Average hotel overlooking the sea on Ortigia

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Great view. Breakfast was pretty good for Italy and the hotel is located in a pretty and quiet part of the island.
Cons: Bathroom.
Although the room was nice and we had a great view over the sea, the hotel was let down by by the bathroom. There were regular disgusting smells coming from the plumbing, there was mould around the shower enclosure and the shower try filled up when using the shower meaning you'd be standing in your own suds. It's not what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The room's door was also extremely noisy and difficult to shut.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scoble UK.

Fabulous. Thank you.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
On honeymoon. The hotel made it perfect. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Wonderful location in Syracuse

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Location and setting. Ortigia is much nicer than the main part of the city.
Location: Close to Duoma Piazza, easy walk to Roman ruins
Beautiful hotel on the water-- wonderful view. Very convenient to the activity of the city. NEar excellent restaurants. Only difficult was finding it with the car. One of the critical streets was blocked and the GPS couldn't manage that. Drove round and round through very narrow streets. Finally got there and gave car to hotel valet parking-- best money I ever spent. Parking is very limited and you certainly don't want or need to use your car during your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aachen Alemania

Nice hotel but only few rooms have view to the sea

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Cons: our room had bad smell coming from the toilet drain
Nice hotel, nice location but most of the rooms do not have a view to the sea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Fantastic location in a unique area.

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Ortigia is beautiful, with a great atmosphere, numerous places to eat, lovely architecture and important artworks and archeological sites.
4 out of 5
by jeanne

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
Good area. Hotel and breakfast mediocre. Not quite 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Lovely Hotel overlooking the sea. Great bed,clean rooms, breakfast was ok,possibly worth having the room only and go for breakfast in one nearby caffè