Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J. Connecticut

A lovely hotel right on the water.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Orbitz
We were there before the high season so we were pampered and loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bourne End UK

Beautiful Boutique Sicilian Hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Everything, the location, the staff, the buffet breakfast was delicious great choice. The staff were excellent, attentive and happy in their work.
Cons: If I had one thing to say I was slightly disappointed that there wasn't any free drinking water or a drinking fountain outside near the beach.
Location: The location was a 15minute walk to the town of Ortigia which had an array of great restaurants and food. The market is a must on a Saturday morning.
What a wonderful hotel you will not be disappointed to stay here. As soon as you step into the resort it has the wow factor. The pathway leading to the hotel has on its right the only sandy beach in Siracusa which is a big plus as you can dine everyday with almost your toes dipping into the sea. On arrival you immediately feel special as you are greeted on the patio before you step inside into this tastefully decorated and furnished reception and relaxing seating area. You can tell that the hosts Salvo and Laura really want you to share their home and nothing is too much trouble. This is also comes across with all the staff. You feel they enjoy their work and happy to help. Not forgetting Buddie their dog who gave us entertainment and joy every day. We loved our stay here and can't recommend it enough. Everyday the sun shined and we had smiley faces too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Lovely hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Satisfied on all counts
Location: Lots of interesting archaeological sites, restaurants, and shops. The walk into town is a bit dreary, but safe.
Lovely place, great staff, excellent food. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Could not be closer to the beach!!

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Best of both worlds - right on the beach but 10 minute walk into Ortigia & 15 mins to Greek amphitheatre - loved the dog too!!
Cons: The shower leaked !! (Big deal !!)
Location: If you are only there for a few days there's plenty to do within walking distance - Ortigia is beautiful, sights, cafe's etc...
Great hotel - small but with everything you need - a private beach, beautifully kept, - lovely rooms, fantastic terrace for dining/drinks overlooking the bay & very friendly efficient staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with nice beach

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
2nd visit to this hotel. Situated about a 15 minute walk from Ortygia old town - but we quite enjoy the walk into town after you pass the nearby streets around the hotel where it's a bit dilapidated and smelly. We've stayed in Ortygia several times before and actually found it a bit too noisy, crowded and difficult to park if you come via car. Hotel is nicely appointed and thoughtfully decorated. Stayed in a classic room both times we've stayed and they are a bit small but we don't spend much time in them. Hotel's big plus point is the lovely sandy beach area with nice (uncrowded) lounge chairs and is well serviced by beach staff. Breakfast is served in a nice spot overlooking the water and the selection of meats, cheese, fruits and pastries is good. Coffee is terrible and something they should definitely improve given how well everywhere else in Sicily does it. The coffee was bad that always factored in going to the local bar down the road and getting one each morning. Staff are lovely but quite a few lack basic English and you find yourself waiting quite a while when they fetch the few English speaking staff to tend to your matter. Overall though, hotel is lovely and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Keith from Stevenage

Wonderful holiday

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed 2 weeks in one of their very comfortable and well appointed apartments in August 2015. The AC was much appreciated and very effective on all 3 levels of the apartment. We had access to their very well groomed beach where the service was superb and beds etc free of charge. Ortigia is the place to go for dinner where the prices are cheap, e.g. only E12 for a bottle of Prosecco on the main piazza. No hesitation in recommending this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England

What an amazing find!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Décor, beachfront, bar areas, dining area, friendly staff
Cons: Chest of drawers in the rooms, maybe a dresser.
Location: The location is about a 15 minute walk (through some rundown areas, and along the dock front) from the island of Ortigia - a fantastic place to wander
We stayed a week at the Musciara, basing ourselves there while we explored the area. This hotel is fantastic, a wonderful location on the seafront, a private beach kept amazingly clean all day, beautiful décor thanks to the skill and hard work of the owner(s). An excellent breakfast buffet is included and served where you can eat overlooking the sea, as well as lunches and dinners if desired. The high standard goes throughout, from the china, glasses etc, through to the great shower, towels and the bedding. I would say this hotel is excellent overall, but gave the room an OK as there wasn't much storage to unpack and we lived out of our suitcases. The staff were efficient and friendly, and couldn't do enough for you. We will go back!
5 out of 5
by Ted & Betty from USA

Sea Side Luxury Experience

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
Siracusa Musciara Resort is a wonderful sea side experience, a small haven carved out of a busy city location. You will not find a cleaner facility anywhere, both indoors and outdoors. We joked that Laura is a "clean freak", for she insists that all her crew very much focus continually on cleanliness and service. They even rake smooth the sand every morning. And it is a true sand beach, the only one we saw in our stay in Sicily. Outstanding breakfast offering and an excellent, though somewhat limited, menu for lunch and dinner. Service, for food, at the beach, everywhere is terrific. The location is a bit tough to find (what location in Sicily isn't?). Very convenient and an easy walk to the sights in Ortigia. Also convenient for day trips to Noto, Marzamemi, and the surrounding areas. These should be on the "must visit" list. All in all, Musciara is real shining gem in a large city.
5 out of 5
by Raul del Alto from Mexico City

A jewel in Siracusa

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
We could not have been happier with our choice to stay here. Attentive and warm staff and the owners are always on the premises to make sure that everything runs smoothly. They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The hotel is a dream of a boutique property. Thank you for everything, Musciara!!!
2 out of 5
by Winter visitor

Noisy Evenings

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The beach beds were open!!! This was the only place were we found loungers for use at the end of April. Sicily considers April still winter.
Cons: Remove the ridiculous rule cards from these 300 euro rooms!!!!
Location: The fun-fair across the bay pumped out load drum and base all evening
The petty rule cards this hotel put in our room - that guests must not consume their own food and drink meant that we couldn't officially enjoy a glass of wine we'd bought while we listened to the dulcet tones of drum and base wafting across the harbour!!! When one has paid 300 euros for a room one expects to be able to enjoy a glass of your own wine!