Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shiv kumar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ganga

Nice hotel with lots of space.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Somerset in Chennai for 3 days. The rooms are spacious and location is good. Hotel staff is awesome and extremely helpful. I have to mention Suresh and another person at front desk who are very good at making guests comfortable at the hotel. They have a good pool& gym and room has everything you need. The only downside I found was that the mattress was uncomfortable. I would stay here again if I have to travel to Chennai with family .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Manager - Guest Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your compliments with my colleagues. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.Warm Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Best Stay in Chennai so far

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Central AC Very clean rooms and bathrooms Courteous employees Excellent breakfast restaurant
Cons: The hallways on the floors can have better AC cooling.
Location: Great location. Grocery store nearby with all necessary food items Massage and spa center nearby. Great shopping locations within 15 min.
Recently spent one week at Somerset Greenways in May 2017. Central AC in hot summer was a real welcome for our family. Staff are extremely courteous. Check in process went very smoothly. The 2 bedroom apartment was well furnished and very clean. WE used the kitchen amenities regularly. The hotel staff were very quick in responding to questions and concerns regarding equipment and supplies. The Dining Co. restaurant was very good for the morning breakfast. Very authentic south indian and north indian breakfast was available along with continental items. We are really glad that we chose this apartment for our recent visit to Chennai. Had a very pleasant and memorable stay. Will definitely return back in future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Prabhu, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Greenways Chennai, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
by m

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was super convenient; management was friendly, efficient and effective. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all friends travelling to Chennai. Rooms were spacious, bathrooms clean with quality toiletries and breakfasts were sumptuous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, food choices needs to improve

Posted May 22, 2016
Good, well connected to the city, value for money deals
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2016 by Prabhu, Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We will definately look into food choices as per guests requirement. We hope to welcome you again. Warm Regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

This is not a 5 star hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Rooftop pool. Free Wi-fi
Cons: Change the rating. This is NOT 5 star!!
Location: Streets outside are lined with rubbish. 2 minute walk away is a Subway which was very good value. I had breakfast there each morning.
At best I would rate it 4 star. The Restaurant is ok but again nothing like 5 star. The rooftop pool is very good and that's the reason I gave a 4 for facilities. At night you can hear the dogs barking in the street below. Outside the hotel its pretty grim with a lot of rubbish left lying around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by Prabhu, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing this review. We regret that this incident left you with a negative impression. We had already changed our Food and Bevarage vendor and now operating by SOCIAL Group which we have very good response, also one side of view have this barking issue which we had closed by installing double glass. Kindly excuse us by giving us another chance to show case of our Product. Thank You. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Kangaroo Valley Australia

Monsoon visit

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Location - for me close to where I had to go each day to visit local friends. Cooking facilities and laundry in room.
Cons: Some better tracking of weather or other external issues affecting guest and offering updates and solutions.
Location: I was there to visit friends so didn't do sightseeing. However there's Atalakshmi Temple in Besant Nagar and several beaches nearby.
I visited during the worst monsoon in Chennai for 25 years so my experience this time was very different to my idyllic stay in January earlier in 2015. The street the hotel is on floods badly in very wet weather which makes it hard to get autos or taxis. So for a couple of days I had to wade out to the main road. The staff were as helpful as they could be but constrained by the lack of transport. The rooms are very comfortable and well serviced. Not the worst place to be stranded for a day or two by any means. My suggestions for improvement would be to allow you to charge restaurant items to your tab and pay at the end. The current arrangement is pay as you go which can be slow. Also at peak times some extra staff on the desk would be helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by Prabhu, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing this review. We also organised food bill in the room account which guest's can settle their bills upon their departure. We look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
by S RAJAN

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Prabhu, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for rating us. Warm Regards