Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mid-Atlantic

An okay place to lay your head, but nothing more

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and brought requested items promptly.
Cons: Bedding. Breakfast.
Location: It's kind of in a light industrial zone. No restaurants or other amenities within walking distance.
It was fine for one night, but it would be pretty grim for an extended stay. Facilities are a bit grubby, with thin, scratchy blankets and '70s-era nylon bedspreads. Breakfast options (pre-packaged muffins, instant oatmeal, and granola bars) are poor, and the advertised airport shuttle wasn't operating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Although you were overall pleased with our Front Desk service, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations while you were here. I have shared your concerns with the appropriate teams to take corrective measures. We hope to have one more chance so we can make your next visit pleasant in all respect. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: easy access to highway
Cons: sufficient bedding for pull out bed; enough complementary supplies
Friendly staff... our only complaint was there was not enough bedding for the pull out bed, and they had run out of complementary shampoo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Extended Stay America. We're pleased to know you had a comfortable stay with us and that our cordial team served you well. However, we're sorry for the inconvenience you had with the pull out bed and lack of in-room amenities. We value your business and look forward to seeing you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rockville md

Very convenient for traveling

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice and clean rooms. Very nice and welcoming staff who go out of their way for a guest. I'm going to recommend this hotel to a friend in the future and also stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ray, thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about Extended Stay America. We are delighted to read you has an amazing time here and were impressed with the service provided by our courteous associates. Your compliments will be shared with the entire team for a job well done. Thanks once more for your business, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from College Park, MD 20740

Vacation in Warwick.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: How close it was to my family's place, and to a shopping center, everything you need.
Cons: I cant think of anything at this time.
Location: The location is near a shopping center which consists of a grocery store and other shops. Gas station.
I chose this hotel because it was close to my family's house that I was visiting. I had not seen them for about 25 years. I was even happier when it ended up being walking distance to my family's house. The room was great, with a full size fridge and kitchen, you just cant go wrong, everything is there you may need. I would recommend Extended Stay to others and am planning on coming back before the year is out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Denise, thank you for the fantastic review of Extended Stay America - Providence - Airport. We are delighted to read you liked your well-equipped room and our location which was perfect for your needs. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Its private

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Some of the staff are super accommodating. Only a certain couple are difficult and will not budge on book sworn policy. But at 1000/wk out of my pocket, i expected top notch treatment. I most likely will not return
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We appreciate you being our guest at Extended Stay America - Providence – Airport. It’s our pleasure knowing you truly enjoyed the excellent service provided by our staff. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience caused and regret the same. We hope you will consider staying with us once again as we would love to provide you with a much better stay. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating...

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Carpet was stainedalmosr everywhere. Kitchen cabinets were very outdated n worn, and completely empty. No dished, nor silverware...nothing. What's the point of "extended stay with no extended stay supplies"? Breakfast consisted of coffee, power bars, prepackaged tiny muffins and packaged dry oatmeal. Very disappointed and will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
You are absolutely correct to expect a clean, well-maintained property, and I apologize for failing to provide that for you. We are taking steps to ensure every detail from the first impression at check-in to final check-out will focus on exceptional customer service, and impeccable attention to detail in all areas of our property. Please know, to ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope we have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for last minute.

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
It was doable for last minute but very no frill. Kids on the floor above were running through the halls until 11 at night - sounded like they may have been riding a Big Wheel. Shower wall was dirty and room smelled VERY badly (like the spice curry) - we were too tired to complain. Told person at the desk when we checked out but she ignored me. At least they had decent coffee and muffins in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for evaluating your stay. We want every guest who stays with us to have a comfortable experience and to depart with a lasting favorable impression. We fell short in making that happen for you, and we are truly sorry. Although your experience is not typical of our service delivery, we obviously have room to improve, and I assure you we will. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another opportunity to serve you with the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location great customer service

Posted May 18, 2017
Great. Room a little warm in bathroom. Overall great people great place
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so pleased you had a great stay at Extended Stay America - Providence - Airport. We truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff and comfortable suites. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
A little challenging to get to
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Michael, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Providence - Airport. It’s nice to read you had an overall pleasant stay, but we apologize if any inconveniences were experienced. We appreciate your feedback and hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to our hotel in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Connie

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Staff wasn't very pleasant. Kitchenettes great but limited supplies available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Connie, I am disappointed read about the issues you experienced and that we failed to provide the attentive service you deserved. Our main focus has always been on guest service and I promise we will use your evaluation as an incentive to step up our game. We hope you give us another chance and stay with us the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager