Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
The room was compact but very clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice. Very convenient location 1 min. Walk to Tachikawa station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon, CA

Tachikawa Hotel friendly to foreigners.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Location: Close to JR station and local restaurants and shopping.
Hotel presents a warm and charming boutique feel immediately as you enter the lobby. Staff is always eager to assist.
2 out of 5
by Swissdy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David

Cramped but adequate

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very cramped. There was ample closet space but only a few hangers to use. The step up to the bathroom was very high, almost needed a second step to get in and getting out of the bathroom was hard as well. The lobby and common areas were very nice as was the staff there. No air-conditioning turned on this time of year so when it is warmer outside the room does get uncomfortably warm. Fortunately it is possible to open the window which helps.
4 out of 5
by Hazel

Peaceful trip to Japan

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and the service was fabulous. The room was very basic but plenty of room for 2. Only tea was provided in the room. It was hot the first 2 days in Tachikawa and the air conditioning in the room was questionable. Every place else it was very cool and comfortable. Be careful of the exposed pipes in the tub area. The hot water pipe gets very hot and can accidentally be touched.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Really great location as it is only a few minutes walk to Tachikawa station and there are endless places to eat in the immediate area. Rooms are standard small Japanese size; however, the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was not bad for and is less than $15 for the buffet. I would recommend this place to a friend and will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Non-smoking room, promised-- not even close.

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location
Cons: You can not re-title a smoking room into a non-smoking one. Everything that absorbs smoke must be removed: carpeting, lamp shades, the bed, etc.
We selected a non-smoking room for our booking at the Tachikawa Grand Hotel. The moment we walked into the room stale tobacco smoke was evident. Previously, the room had been used as a smoking room. The desk clerk even confirmed (in Japanese) our room was a non-smoking booking. Insist on seeing the room first before registering.
4 out of 5
by John

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 13 days. Wonderful staff at front desk and restaurant. Room is smaller than I prefer, lacked drawers, and step up into and down from bathroom was inconvenient. However, the bed was very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good place

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We hated the hotel. We had it booked for 3 nights but after the first night we checked out and ran away. The worst hotel I have ever booked through Expedia. They could barely speak English and didn't accept to refund us for the other 2 nights which sadly we had to cut from the rest of our trip budget. The neighbourhood was old and run-down and while the lobby and exterior of the hotel are in good shape, the room was very old with worn out decor and felt clausterphobic. The staff were completely unsympathetic to our concerns and refused to even consider a refund.