Ratings based on 733 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Had a great time - complimentary breakfast was great. The pool and outside facilities could use some work. Overall, the rooms were clean and kept up.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

would rather sleep in my car

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pulled up to hotel which seemed to be in a really ghetto area, and looked NOTHING like the photos on the website. Didn't think too much of it so we went inside and tried to check in. The lady at the front desk took my ID and started laughing. She then looked up my reservation and told me that it had been CANCELLED!!!!!!! Mind you I had been getting email updates letting me know my room was ready for check in. I never recived any type of communication stating that my reservation had been cancelled. I proceeded to tell that to the lady staff at the desk and she told me her manager had cancelled the reservation (from what I could understand, her English was not the best). I then asked if they had any rooms available and she said that they did, but they wouldn't honor it at the price I had originally booked it for on Expedia. I got angry and tried to reason with her but she basically said there wasn't anything they could do so I got my things and walked out the door. I called Expedia and they told me that my reservation had NOT been cancelled so I have no idea what the hotel did. Pretty much every hotel was booked in Tacoma so we almost didn't have a place to rest our heads for the night thanks to this dump. Thankfully we found a place but my advice is to NEVER EVER STAY HERE. Avoid it at all costs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Not worth the price. It was very run down and in rough shape. Mold on the ceiling in the shower, dirty outside. The inside, however, was at least clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Save your money!!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Upon entering I saw that things were outdated but the bed was clean and tidy and so was the towels. I'm not hard to please so it wasn't a big deal to me. I know the hotel can not control the environment but there was a lot of druggies. We had lots of kids knock on the door and run. There were random women that stopped by the room, we never answered the door being it was always at 2 am or after. Now what the hotel could control was the fact that the was absolutely no cold air coming from the ac unit. It was also outdated. We called the front office and was told someone would be by and no one ever showed. So for 5 days we cooked in that room. Furthermore, the electricity went out for about 15 mins. My husband went to the front office and was told that it was the whole block, he called the hire next door and sure enough they had electricity. Room service did a great job at cleaning daily but for what we paid we expected better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln Park, Mi.

Nice hotel close to JBLM.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: We were close to JBLM . We had a smoking room. The lady in the office showed me how to work their computer and print our boarding passes.
Cons: Although the room was clean, the rug was stained.
Location: We were close to Tacoma, Olympia, and Bremerton. The ship tour was great.
Room was very clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Even though we were close to I-5, the room was quiet, and so were the other guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Continental breakfast could use more choices like scrambled eggs/bacon/sausage. Overall, experience was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Worse experience ever!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: It's not worth my time to provide recommendation.
Location: There are a lot of other places to stay at.
I am very disappointed with this hotel. I booked and paid for 3 rooms 3 weeks ahead. When I arrived at the hotel, was told they had cancelled the rooms. Their reasons were a staff cancelled it in the morning, and she does not know the reason. On my reservation Expedia had stated “Your room/unit will be guaranteed for late arrival”. I arrived the hotel at 7:00 PM ! The staff stated if I wanted to speak to manager I would have to wait until Monday. She said that the hotel sent me the email in the morning. What a joke, I had already left for my trip with an expectation that I would have the 3 rooms for my whole party to stay at. We have to rush around town looking for new accommodation. Now I have to track down Expedia to get my money back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Families welcome

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Great accommodations for a family of 5. So grateful for the double room suite. Staff was amazing at accomodating our continued stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Noisey, hotel in poor condition! Non working hot tub, 40 foot container and pallets lying around,barking dogs,kids running around cars back in parking with exhuast going into room. Worst hotel we have stayed in! Bad rep for Howard Johnson. Will never stay there again! Don't stay there!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma

Worst hotel stay ever.

Posted May 30, 2017
I had the worst experience, the sheets for our king size bed where queen size and they didn't have any of the right size when we asked. Instead of guest this hotel had people living there with loud children. The room was dirty and ac didn't work.