Ratings based on 1,154 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Porlland OR

Very disappointing: under renovation!!!

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: See above. You need to provide coffee; inspect fitness room often; get things up to snuff before you re-open the space.
Location: Not much.
As soon as we checked in, we noticed an obnoxious odor in the halls and elevator. This was explained as a "disinfectant" sprayed by the maids. It took several hours to dissolve. Had to leave air conditioner on all night to make it go away. The "fitness center" was not fit: the bike seat was broken so unable to use bike. The water was warm, not cold. PIllows were terrible, and bed was lumpy. No coffee in the room. Breakfast consisted of cold eggs and tepid bacon. Nice things: the staff is very good, nice people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

HORROR SHOW

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: everything
This hotel was absolutely the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. The hallway was like a dorm room, filthy and dusty and white plaster from the walls was falling off everywhere. My first room was filthy and looked like a murder scene. My second room was no better and the locks didnt work. I checked out and didnt even deal with it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017
The room had water on the floor. There was hair in the sheets and towels. I called the desk they got us a new room. There was hair in the towels and the sheets looked okay but i didnt want to put a black light to the test.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good stay.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was pretty good. I was pleasantly surprised about scrambled eggs and sausage! The room was very comfortable.
The room and hotel was great. Tacoma is a rougher area than I am used to and one night there were some rough folks making a ruckus but it was not on the hotel grounds. The other nights I stayed were much quieter.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
We wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, we are sorry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as the situation will be addressed. Once again we are sorry.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ocean Shores WA

Hotel under construction everywhere

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Staff at the frontime desk were nice
Cons: Read above
Location: Centrally located in Tacoma with many places and things nearby.
I have stayed in hotels during construction but the experience was not this bad. The tub, sand mirror had chips. The shower head needed to be replaced. We had to pull out the cabinet in our second room to plug in the microwave. The first room we were moved from because the phone did not work and the refrigerator poor water on the floor when the door was opened. The second room had a Greenway between the window and pool. There were no privacy curtains only sheers. Luckily we did not have to spend a lot of time there and I will not again. The beds were not made nor were the floors vacuumed and while they advertise free water you have to go to the front desk to get it, they do not replenish in the room daily. I will not go back, it was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
We wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Very disappointed

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Staff training. Better facility maintenance.
Location: I wish I could.
My husband were eager for our stay at the Red Lion, but quickly became frustrated. First, when we checked in, we got no information about where to find things, for instance the pool/spa, vending machines, coffee, etc., so when I attempted to call the front desk from the phone in our room, it took me 10 minutes to get the phone to connect. The front desk even attempted to call our room and that didn't work. Yikes! The bed was so uncomfortable, and even though the view from the room left much to be desired, they could have at least cleaned up the grounds on that side of the building. Air conditioner/heater was very loud, as was the refrigerator. The timer on the spa was not working properly so required someone to get out of the spa and reset it every 3-4 minutes. Then it would take 5 minutes to turn on. Everything was an effort. No details provided on check in regarding local activities, what cable channels were provided, nothing. We got checked in and checked out. No conversation from staff. It was not inviting at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
We wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Under construction

Posted May 8, 2017
Staff was pleasant. However, the hotel is remodeling and not very pleasant. Molding was off and carpet was dirty in hallway. In my room the window was open because the A.C. unit was broken.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for brining this to our attention as it will be addressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newberg, OR

Right off the freeway.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Read the above statement.
Cons: The floor in the pool area needs to be redone.
Location: It was just off the freeway, but I didn't find much to do near the hotel. The Point Defiance Zoo is close though.
It looked like they were remodeling, you could smell the new paint. But OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH the beds were so comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon. Waffles too. Cereal, bagels, english muffins, it was all so yummy. They also had a snack shack so you didn't have to leave the hotel if you didn't want to. We will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are more then pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the feedback as well as it helps us grow and improve in all aspects , we look forward to seeing you in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad smell and is under renovation.

Posted May 1, 2017
We only needed a place to stay for a night since our kids were in a chess tournament in Tacoma. Expedia or the Hotel should have at least mentioned on the websites that the hotel was under renovation. We booked it because it had 4 stars!!! Firstly there was a terrible smell not just in the hotel but in the room too. Not to mention no trims anywhere, wires hanging in a hallways, a huge dark stained patch on the ceiling of our room, the curtains were stained and power outlets were either ripped off or in a sad state. But the bed and linen was clean and the staff was really nice and breakfast was okay. The kids really wanted to go swimming but after just walking into the hotel room we decided against it. I'm sorry, not recommending this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, thank you for taking the time to leave a review as it helps us grow and improve in all aspects. Once again we are sorry.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastern Washington

Hotel under construction

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: I think this has the potential to be a nice hotel. I'd just hold off until they've had a chance to remodel.
Location: It is a good location to Pacific Lutheran University.
Someday this hotel might be a good choice, but it is just starting renovation/construction. I had requested a King bed with jetted tub. I received a room with a strange two-bedroom layout with jetted tub. Very dark room, broken TV in the living room area; and mold found just above the A/C unit. Curtains were decorative and did not close which seemed odd for a hotel. Jetted tub was dirty with dust and clearly had not been cleaned/dusted in some time. Sheets were clean, however, the brown decorative bed skirt had a very noticeable stain. Which would have been quickly resolved if it had been changed and washed. Upon check-out I did share my experience with the staff. They were very apologetic, appearing to make the excuse that the hotel was just starting construction to renovate the property. For the price I paid for this hotel, I expected it to be clean, have curtains that close, and provide enough light to be able to able to see around the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Yesenia, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed.