Ratings based on 1,115 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Didn't know this is petfriendly w/c caused allergy

Posted Mar 24, 2017
I hope future guests shld be made aware upon check-in that every beddings of every room are changed only upon request which means they just straighten up your sheets everyday & replace towels Too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to I-5 Freeway

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Though the Room was clean and spacious, it had the scent of staleness ! Outlets were old and lamp plug, fell out of outlet, as Phone charger did as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed. Every review helps us grow and improve in all aspects, thank you. This will be addressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Very run down!!! You can tell there trying to up date but the people doing the work is not doing a good job!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed. Every review helps us grow and improve in all aspects, thank you. This will be addressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tacoma,wa

Don't be fooled by the pictures online!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
What a horrible experience! I will let the pics speak for themselves, I had to switch rooms 3 times and it just progressively got worse with each room! The staff was apologetic, continuously pointing out that the hotel had been recently purchased and is under "renovation". Booked a King room thru Expedia, ended up in a Suite with a hot tub for half price, but it should have been FREE!!! Stained curtains, horribly stained furniture, gapping hole in ceiling, mold, soap scum, fingerprints, dirty towels, unvacummed floors, toilet seats that are loose enough to swivel,.....did I leave anything out? HORRIBLE!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, thank you for taking the time to leave a review as it helps us grow and improve in all aspects and will be addressed, we are sorry once again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do Not Recommend

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Nothing really, small shopping center and odd bars. It's too far before Tacoma. Stay downtown.
Hotel right off of highway. Interesting crowd of folks around. First room we got smelled so terrible from cigarette smoke we had to get another room. Hotel room itself was very dirty. Bed linens were dirty/stained, bathroom was dirty. Stains on the carpet. Heater reeked when in use. Hotel is right across from a VERY LOUD bar! It went on until all hours of the morning and sounded like cars were drag racing down the road outside so didn't get any sleep. Will not return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Great stay. Nice and easy . Only annoying thing is heater didn't stay on all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are more then pleased you enjoyed you stay. Thank you for the feedback as it helps us grow and improve in all aspects. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia Washington

Left with buyers remorse & bruises!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Upon checking in the staff did not offer any of the usual ammentities I feel due to having been a customer through a travel site & not their own. Additionally the clerk yelled in Spanish at her housekeeping staff over the phone when checking if the room was ready on time so it is no wonder they didn't clean it very well! Booked this particular hotel because of a pool I thought was of decent quality but it is not indoors as you have to walk through the rain outdoors to get to a seperate building where a dimly light dirty pool & hot tub were not even worth the time upon initial inspection! The biggest issue is that when showering the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not function & neither did the heat/air conditioning wall unit so the condensation became unbearable as well as the tub & tile became so slipper I fell trying to get out of the tub hitting my head & hip area on the hard tub surfaces! I have tried to contact red lion for some compensation for my injuries but their email server will not receive my emails & no one will return my calls as I am always diverted to a manager who never seems to be available! Expedia if you can help in any way I'd appreciate it! Stay away from Red Lion Tacoma!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, we are sorry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed. This will be relayed onto the managers.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not good

Posted Mar 1, 2017
I was put in the "Expedia" room, the worse room in the hotel- it was the smallest and remodeled for handicap so no bathtub and a corner taken out for the elevator. The shower flooded all over the floor, the closet was so dark, I could not see in. There was "action" outside my room all night, thus a security guard on duty. They told me if you book through Expedia, they give you the worst rooms, they actually told me this... really.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay, we are sorry. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, as they help us learn where we can grow and improve. This issue will be addressed with our staff, thanks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Nice staff, very run-down facility

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel staff was very friendly. Tanya did a great job keeping up with a very busy breakfast area. The hotel itself was dirty--stuff on the floors of the hallways, peeling paint and wallpaper. Our room in particular had a lamp hanging on the wall crooked, dark hairs in the bathroom, dust and dirt along the edges of the carpet. Garbage behind the nightstand. I didn't feel comfortable walking around barefoot. I was glad we were only there one night. We won't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to apologize for the condition of your stay. We are sorry about the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as it will be addressed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Decent hotel, close to the convention center.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This hotel was comfortable enough, though I will say had I been there before I wouldn't have brought children. Its within walking distance to most things you could need during your stay and has a fitness center and pool. If you need something last minute it's not a bad choice. It is a little steep considering the condition of the building, but not unreasonable. I would give 3.5 of 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Yesenia G, Hotel Management
At Red Lion we wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you took the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.