Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Washington

Hotel Close to Family

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Red lion hotel was nice and comfortable. I only wish that I had known that they were renovating. That didn't really ruin the experience it just made it feel a little creepy while we walked to our room the first time. The elevators are also very small and it was hard to fit our stroller in it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Under Renovation. Rude Front Desk Person.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Room was OK.
Cons: Hire better staff for night shift.
Location: Close to downtown Tacoma. Convenient for business.
Hotel was under renovation but room was clean and in good condition. Front desk check in person, Tonya, was terrible. Rude, surly, and very slow. Definitely the wrong person to be working in the hospitality industry. Wouldn't stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice and the location was convenient.
Major construction in progress. This meant scaffolding outside my window, no pool, spa or laundry room available and waking up to construction workers walking past my 3rd floor window on Saturday morning. The staff was very friendly, but the hotel should not be booking rooms in an area with such a major construction project going on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Bad hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Tv and phone not working. No hand towels. White flake dust all over the bed next to window. The hotel is in remodeling phase.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

hotel under renovation...

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: good location and near the freeway
Cons: do not give out rooms that are not ready
the room I was given should not have been rented out....the main room and the bathroom still had construction materials on the floors and their was a hole in the outside wall with material on the rug and the desk.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We knew that the hotel might be undergoing a renovation, but this was terrible. The rooms were not clean, the door had to be lifted up to close it and the entire hotel smelled like a glade spray...there was police activity outside our room at 1:00 am, and it was very noisy outside. Would never recommend this to anyone...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, Or

Under construction

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Looks like they are in transition from Red Lion to a Holiday Inn. No pool,construction tarps on side of building & scaffolding blowing around all night
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We didn't stay

Posted Oct 6, 2017
When we arrived the hotel was under construction. There was no mention of this on the hotel website. Due to the plastic covering the windows and the stairs being blocked off and covered in construction debris we decided to book somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Appearance
So much construction going on, room door was right next to exposed cords, trash, and construction debris. Carpeted floor around the refrigerator and in a few other areas was wet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yakima WA

Posted Oct 5, 2017
During my stay at the red lion hotel I was under the impression that all the facilities were operational. Upon entering the hotel all I could see was closed for construction signs. I wish that we were told that in the begining.