Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Dahlia

Great hotel - not a 5 star luxury resort

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
This was a one night stay at the end of our trip in the French Polynesia. The hotel itself is very modern, great building, the elevator is a little loud (in a I'm-brand-new-and-being-used-for-the-first-time kind of way). They have smoking and non-smoking rooms available (HOT TIP: the smoking rooms basically just include a balcony, so if you want a balcony choose a smoking room). They have a restaurant in the hotel, but when we asked the concierge about food options she recommended that we still go out to nearby options (I like honesty). We had an issue with our first room, and they initially gave us a room with 2 double beds and we had requested a queen bed. Front desk sorted everything out for us and was very nice and friendly about it. Hotel has a free parking garage and free wifi in the lobby. Now I will move to the "negatives" which I stress are most likely due to our previous luxury stay. When we pulled up to the hotel in the car, there was no one to greet us or direct us to the garage. No one to offer to take bags or help unload the car. It was raining, but no umbrellas were offered. I believe this is a hotel that sees more business travelers. If you are coming for a romantic holiday and are ending your stay in Papeete, I don't recommend. If you are starting your vacation here then I highly recommend, it's a great hotel in a great location. Your expectations will still not be too high and I think this where we got a little disappointed with our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stopover hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
This was our stopover hotel. We stayed going and returning and our room on the return was like an apartment. Very nice and we enjoyed it. The area is not so great but for one night it is fine. Le Velvet is the house restaurant and it is excellent. We ate there three times!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Outstanding French Restaurant

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff were very pleasant and responsive. Good location - very close to downtown, yet away from the town center. Close to Cruise Ship Terminal
Cons: The 110/220 outlet in the bathrooms does not work for safety reasons, so curling irons, etc. must be used without a mirror.
Location: Located within easy walking distance of the famous Market and Pearl Market, as well as shops and restaurants.
The Le Velvet restaurant in this hotel serves delicious French cuisine, open for lunch and dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It gets the job done but is too expensive.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The hotel was continently located but is way too expensive for what they offer. The breakfast is 40 usd per person. They also take advantage of the exchange rate. The pool was empty. This was not expressed anywhere. The AC in the room couldn't keep up during the day. The shower didn't have a curtain and water would end up going everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Nice hotel close to port

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Orbitz
We stayed there as a rest stop for our cruise. We only stayed about 4 hours and had to pay the full night's rate because they don't offer a day rate. In fact none of the other hotels would do a day rate only. It was quiet and we got the rest we needed coming off an overnight flight
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sordid

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Sordid hotel. No wifi in the rooms, only in lobby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bring your flash lights & seeing eye dog.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Good location. Food trucks and shopping.
So dark that is is impossible to even use the bathroom mirror. Even the hallways are dangerous with such low lighting The floors are super slippery shiny tile - not good for the bathroom. The kitchen looks good but two forks, two spoons and that is about it! The staff is indifferent and not helpful. I would say the owners have never stepped into the hotel! The location is good but they really need to learn customer service. I recommend finding a hotel a little out of town and take a taxi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but delapidated

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is run down and in need of upgrading. Rooms were ok but facilities poor. The swimming pool had tiles peeling off and the water was murky with things floating in it. The breakfast is vastly overpriced - US$42 for an "American breakfast"!!!! On the positive side - easy walking distance to the marina and food trucks, staff friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I guess okay for an overnight.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel disappoints. No WiFi in room. One of the two elevators broken. Very low light in corridor.