Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Lots of Potential

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Maintenance and repair of facilities.
Location: In the middle of Papeete. Walking distance of everything in the city.
Stayed Jan 25 to Jan 29. This could be a grand hotel if the facilities and fixtures were kept up to date and/or repaired. The location is both heaven and hell. Heaven: It is located on the main thoroughfare of Tahiti downtown. It is in walking distance of virtually everything in Papeete and, should one prefer an auto, has a spacious no-fee garage beneath the hotel. Hell: It is located on the main thoroughfare of Tahiti downtown. We had a street view with a "not so picturesque" 3-story apartment/shops building across the street (laundry and boxer shorts clad gentleman on display, etc.). Street noise was loud and constant. The room was spacious and well appointed, but furnishings were somewhat used and abused (don't turn over the sofa cushions)! There were lots of minor repairs needed throughout the hotel. Room service was nonexistent as was the pool staff. The ice machines on the floor (3) had been recently removed (even the maids were surprised) so for ice we trekked to the hotel bar. The pool was very nice for swimming laps or just soaking. Depth was about a meter and a half throughout. The restaurant food was extraordinary and the bar was nice. The staff of both were excellent. The front desk staff were also excellent and extremely helpful. Again, save for traffic noise, this could be a grand hotel if the facilities and fixtures were kept up to date and/or repaired. Even as is, it compares favorably with "luxury" hotels near Papeete. I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver island canada

Bad hotel in a very tired, noisy city

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Not much.
Cons: I think the city of Papeete is not worth staying in
Location: We took a long bus ride in the local bus which was an experience and went to the Museum of Tahiti . It was excellent.
The hotel was difficult to get to from cruise ship. The sign indicating the name of the hotel was so small we missed it. NO internet in room only in the uncomfortable lobby. The breakfast was $22 USD and so, so. Very few restaurants near by. There was ONLY one mirror in the room and that was in the bathroom which had VERY poor lighting, The hallway to the rooms was very poorly lighted and had elevated areas by some doors. No safe in the room and the apartment across from our room looked questionable. I would definitely not recommend Papeete or this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton, MI

Great Hotel for Families in Transit through Tahiti

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Large 2 bedroom suite was perfect for family of 4. Very nice staff. Free parking. Good location to walk into town (shopping center, market, ferry)
Cons: Wifi in the room would help -- but bring an Ethernet adapter, and you can access Internet from the room
Location: There is not much in Papeete -- but consider renting a car if you have 1/2 a day and driving around the island!
I booked this hotel 4 months ago & then was worried that I had made a bad decision from some recent reviews. My fears were unfounded. We stayed there on our inbound and outbound trips and were very happy with the hotel. We arrived early after a flight from LAX. While we could not get into our room until 1 pm, reception offered us access to the pool & showers. This was greatly appreciated. Access to the convenience store next door at the gas station was a huge benefit. Even though the policy is no outside food or drink, we brought in food several times. Our suite had a full kitchen (no microwave) with some utensils, plates, etc. It was great to have easy access to snacks and breakfast (especially with a need to be at the airport at 6:30 am on our departure day!) On our 2nd stay, we rented a car so that we could drive around the island -- parking at the hotel is easy access & FREE! There have been negative comments in other reviews about the hallway lights and the surroundings. This is a hotel in the city center - not a pristine, resort area. However, we never felt unsafe. Occasionally there are Tahitians sitting on the sidewalks and they may say "bon jour" as you walk by. But they never harassed us. In terms of lighting, the only time that I could think it would be a problem is if you arrive at night and need to find your room for the first time. Low light levels are the norm in Tahiti (as experienced at our 5* resort), so "when in Rome" just go with the flow!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Polynésie française.

Hôtel bien placé en centre ville.

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: La piscine est grande mais il faudrait la rénover car elle peut être dangereuse pour les enfants.
Cons: Vérifier la propreté et les petits équipements.
Location: Tout près du centre ville, c'est très pratique.
La suite familiale est très spacieuse et bien décorée mais il manque quelques petits équipements utiles.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable clean room

Posted Jan 1, 2016
We stayed in a spacious room with separate bedroom and living, mini kitchen. The room was huge, clean, bed very comfortable. The paint was peeling considerably behind the tv and along the floorboards. There seemed to be a ton of deferred maintenance on the property. The pool was in desperate need of cleaning, tiles were missing, wood decking needed treating. Jacuzzi same temp. as pool. Furniture weathered. No shade umbrellas at all. The entire Hotel including the spa was about 1/4 lit. They may be trying to save $ on electricity. I felt like I was in the dark the entire time. Would rate this Hotel 3 stars but rating system would only let me rate it a 4. Any stars less or more it would not accept.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Posted Dec 10, 2015
pool is not every clean, no tea spoon in room, some of restaurant staff is not helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great transit spot

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Great location - 5 min walk to downtown waterfront and roulettes. Very comfortable clean spacious rooms with excellent kitchen facilities perfect for family or larger groups. Poor lighting outside rooms - dark hallways. Shell gas station outside handy but attracts a few dubious types late at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Dimas

Decent hotel, not so nice location

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: The hotel had a very contemporary modern decor, the bed was very comfortable and I liked the design of the bathroom.
Cons: Changing to dual paned windows to block the noise. It was very loud even with a pillow over my head and my finger in my ear!
Location: The location was good as was near to the port and the local market, all within walking distance.
When arriving at the hotel I was a little concerned as it is a very unpleasant looking area on a very busy street. The lobby area and the room was nice but I was given a room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel, overlooking the street. The windows are not dual paned windows and you could hear all of the street noise. We hardly slept at all due to hearing motorcycles revving their engines all night and sirens blaring. It listed complimentary Wi-FI but that was only available in the lobby, in the room you had to connect a computer via an ethernet cable. We turned on the television and aside from CNN, all stations were in French. I was fortunate enough to have brought a good book to read. All being said, I would stay at the property again, for just an overnight, but make sure I requested a room as far away from the front of the hotel as possible.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William J from Mooloolaba, Australia

Papeette, Tahiti - staying for convenience only.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Based on advice from earlier guests we chose not to take meals at the hotel because of limmited fare and high prices. Plenty of places to eat within a couple of minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Our Enjoyable Stay at Tahiti Nui

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Our family stayed at the Tahiti Nui twice. Once before our cruise, and three nights after our cruise. The hotel is in walking distance to the market (a huge plus), next to a convenience store for food items, a short walk to a delicious pizza carry out, and very convenient to walk to the cruise dock. We enjoyed our stay at the Tahiti Nui. The front desk receptionist was very helpful & so pleasant. They provided luggage storage, called a taxi, gave tips and information for the area. We are grateful for all their help and we definitely recommend them. The only problem was the room keys did not always work in the elevator.