Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, California

Amazing resort!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Everything about this place was beyond amazing! Our over the water bungalow was a dream. We also loved the infinity pool with a waterfall, free onsite laundry, filtered water available in the business center, Polynesian brunch. This place is a dream! We definitely want to return with our children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and staff. Beautiful view.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms, grounds, service was decent.
Cons: The dining experience.
We just spent one night at this hotel but it was a good experiece. The grounds are pretty and the view is beautiful. We had a garden view room because we were just there a day and we enjoyed it - we actually had a partial view of the ocean. The room was clean, comfortable and very nice. We ate at the restaurant there and it was pretty average. The hostess was kind and accommodating but our server wasn't that great. The food was pretty average for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Very good experience at this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was nice, big and clean. The bathroom was a bit out of date but well maintained and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by generalmanager.tahiti@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at our resort - the InterContinental Tahiti team look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Guest relation Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Expensive room relative to what you get

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: It's close to the airport.
Cons: See above.
Location: Good location. Not much to do nearby.
Overall this hotel is good. It just seems way expensive relative to other options. The location is good since it's a close ride to the airport. This hotel would be better if they priced it in the range of $120 to $`180 per night. Maybe $200 on a holiday season. Given that nothing else is included it makes you feel like you are being overcharged. For most this is a place to stay on the way to Bora Bora. We stayed at the Four Season and paid much more for the room and food. However, the landscaping, food, activities, and staff are at a much higher level. If you plan to go onto Bora Bora we suggest finding a cheaper option than this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

loved our overwater bungalow.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: beautiful overwater bungalows
Cons: the entrance/lobby feels outdated and the concierge wasn't that knowledgeable.
Our overwater bungalow room was fantastic with beautiful views. if you have to stay in tahiti for a night before moving onto another islands, this is the place to do it. the rest of the hotel, however, was much more "meh." the food was hit or miss (the mahi mahi sandwich was fantastic!! the buffet - not so much.) Since the restaurant is open air, flies and gnats swarmed around the fruit and other food. There was live music in the morning during breakfast and we found it irritating. Lots of kids, so good for families - but couples beware. You're much better off heading to Bora Bora or Moorea for quiet relaxation time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Reasonably comfortable rooms in an old style hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Staff were generally helpful with the lady concierge extremely efficient and helpful.
Cons: Refurbish soon and find a new executive chef
Location: Close to airport and pools excellent.
The hotel needs a major renovation for both rooms and public areas. The room cost doesn't equate to what you receive. The food outlets are very expensive for very average food although Tahiti as a whole is hardly a foodies Paradise. Staff were friendly and the ladies love the bare chested chaps doing the porterage work. Next visit we will try somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US WA State

Beautiful resort close to Papeete but secluded.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Lagoonarium, pool areas and staff were all great.
Cons: I travel with cleaning supplies because we bring our children on all of our trips. I had to touch up our bathroom as the toilet seat was not clean.
Location: You are a short drive to Papeete but the resort still feels secluded.
The lagoonarium at this resort is amazing. The pools are as well. The resort had lots to do but was still relaxing and not crowded. We brought our children and stayed in one of the overwater bungalows. It was like a little cabin and we loved it. The staff was friendly and in the evening, the bar next to the restaurant by the main pool had great live music that could be heard in all of those areas. Be sure to take the ferry over to their sister resort in Moorea. It is an amazing resort with an even better lagoonarium. The islands are completely different. They booked everything for us for a day trip right in the lobby and we saved quite a bit of money compared to other excursions I was considering. I brought mosquito repellent devices and they were not needed. Seemed to have less mosquitoes at this resort in comparison to another resort we stayed at our first two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by generalmanager.tahiti@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion at our Tahiti resort. With best regards. Guest Relation manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place to stay in Papeete

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Excellent location close to the airport and city centre, this resort has amazing views. We had a lagoon view room and we could see the beautiful pools, the ocean and Moorea in the distance. Service was great and staff were friendly. The food however was a bit average. Overall wonderful place though and I would definitely go back there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by generalmanager.tahiti@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Ia Orana from Tahiti! Thank you very much for choosing our resort and giving us a 5 star rating on your recent stay. We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our resort and please let us know when you are coming back… Warm regards, Guest Relation manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckalnd

Hotel quite dated

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Location and the staff
Cons: Defiantely need to be able to get a decent expresso coffee
Location: Hotel has a shuttle bus into town for small fee, and you can get a local bus down to the local supermarket. close to airport too.
the location is fantastic, and the facilities very good. But the hotel is very old now, and the rooms have been updated. the other areas are quite dated now. the food was quite good, they do need a very good espresso coffee machine and qualified operators. the room bar fridge was empty - you had to ask to get it filled, and who could bother.! the menu at Lotus restauarant was good, but the food was very dated and old fashioned presentation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by generalmanager.tahiti@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your review. In reference to our rooms mini bar not being filled, the average lengh of stay in our resort is less than 1.5 night. A majority of our guests arrive late at night and depart early the next morning to the islands therefore, we are unable to refill or control mini bars and this use to generate lots of complains. Consequently we have decided to fill up the minibar upon guests request who can call room service 24/24 at no extra charge (usually mini bar drink are much more expensive than in the restaurants). I apologize if this information was not clear enough on your mini bar order list. We took also good note of each of your remark and look forward to welcoming you back. Sincerely. Guest Relation Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Heaven on earth!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: The privacy is wonderful. The grounds are lovely, and all the amenities and design is perfect.
Cons: The need a very good espresso machine!
Location: The resort is north facing and very protected. You can get a free shuttle boat to township, but there is not much there to see. Lots of activities.
Wow, what a fantastic resort, and the attention to every detail and service. From the moment they meet and greet at airport, until they drop you back again. The rooms are fantastic, everything you need. Nespresso machine in room (just as well as the coffee is not good at restaurants). The food was good, staff all so friendly and attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by generalmanager.tahiti@ihg.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Greetings from Tahiti and thank you for your feedback. Glad to read that you had a great experience and we look forward to welcoming you back. Wiht best regards. Guest Relation Manager