Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great white sand beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Over the water bungalows idyllic with good quality restaurants and good snorkelling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel with nice facilities

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Very quiet hotel with nice facilities (swimming pool, comfortable rooms, complimentary use of kayaks). Staff are friendly and available.
Cons: A sandy beach on the ocean. It's mostly a coral beach, so need to be careful where you step.
Location: About 15 minute drive from the airport, in the opposite directly from downtown Papeete (25 minutes drive). A few shops and supermarket 10 mins walk.
Overall the Le Meridien was a good hotel choice in Papeete. It's away from the airport and downtown Papeete, but there is a hotel shuttle for a fee that takes about 25 mins to get into town for shopping. Stayed in a basic garden room, but the view was nice as had shrubs outside but could still clearly see the property grounds like the swimming pool and ocean in the distance. All the hotel rooms face towards the pool and ocean. I guess the garden view rooms are on ground floor, and the ocean view rooms are on the upper floors (only about 3 or 4 floors high). Room was comfortable, clean and spacious, and the AC worked very well. Property has just one very large sand floor swimming pool that was very relaxing. Also included are complimentary use of the kayaks, where there is plenty of coral reefs and tons of tropical fish to see very close to the beach. However, as most beaches in this area, they are coral beaches and not powder soft sand beaches, so bring sandals or water shoes. It's a well run property. Nothing fancy, but comfortable. Outside of the hotel in about 5-10 mins walk there are a few local shops to browse (souvenirs, pharmancy, post office, etc....) plus a supermarket to buy snacks. We found this a nice option to buy a fresh baguette, along with french cheese and meats to make a very tasty sandwich, which is a more economical option to the high food prices around Tahiti. We stayed at another 4-star property in Tahiti, and enjoyed this hotel more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Very dated

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel was tidy but very dated and In need of a paint job and the bathroom had old, childish type tiles which didn't match. Everything throughout the hotel was tired and in need of an upgrade. Beach is not nice but the pool is probably the best thing about the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful, although when we were "upgraded" to a lagoon view room from a garden view, we received a room right next to a massive pond with zero view of the lagoon. I found that a bit strange and would have rather had a view of a tropical garden over a dirty pond. It was a nuisance having to pay for Internet usage, unless you don't mind sitting in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US WA State

Beautiful pool area!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The pool area is beautiful. The free kayaking was great too but not a lot of colorful marine life here.
Cons: Our room had a mildew problem and was noisy.
Location: It is close to a supermarket. There is enough to do at this resort for a couple of days but I wouldn't stay longer than that.
We stayed here our first 2 nights in Tahiti. Our room had a damp locker room smell and there was a rooster pen right outside our front door. The rooster kept us up all night but the beds were comfortable. We took the advice of previous reviews and left the lights on after finding a roach immediately. We only saw one other one during our stay. Not too impressed with our ocean view room which was on the same floor as the lobby so we had very little view of the ocean. The staff and the pool area are great. Very friendly and helpful staff with the exception of one waiter at the formal ocean front restaurant. A lot of locals use the pool area but we met some great people and our kids enjoyed playing with kids who spoke a different language. Be prepared for lots of tops off at this resort if travelling with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent helpful service great location,shows

Posted Nov 20, 2016
The service of staff was friendly and helpful makes you want to come back and the Location and shows were great. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend it as a great place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel, great restaurant

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the room/balcony, the food at the lagoon side restaurant.
Cons: The internet is slow to unusable; the entry to the lagoon needs to be cleared from rocks and weed; they should have CNN available not all French cnls
This is a nice reasonably priced hotel with a great restaurant. The room we had was clean and in good condition. The grounds are beautiful with nice mature trees and beautiful flowers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Bit dated but good value

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Good value for money as a stop over on the way to or from the islands but the age of the room didn't meet my expectations for "Le Meridien" If I ignore my expectations, I was happy with my stay here. It is worthwhile to visit the museum while you are here if you are intested in the history of Tahiti. If you are walking, see if the staff will let you out the back way which is much shorter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Lagoonarium is a feature

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The lagoonarium pool was huge and surrounded by sand. Great for families with small children. The standard garden room was very spacious with huge bathroom (with bath) as well as shower. Very friendly staff.
Cons: No English on the TV, e.g. CNN or BBC news. All French, apart from movies which are purchased. The hotel seems to be marketed mainly to the French.
Location: About 25 mins by car from Papeete. The hotel does have a shuttle to the town. 15 mins by taxi to the airport. The Museum is 10 mins by footqq
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Did not get what we signed up for

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location is good, beach is lovely and kayaking out towards the reef at sunset was a highlight. There is a delicious food truck parked just meters away.
Cons: We asked for king room but got a double and only got king after paying extra $50 to upgrade. Pretty poor, I think. Hotel has no airport shuttle so the only way to get to the airport is overprized taxi. Both our original room and our upgraded room smelled - kind of a faint sewage/stale smell.
Location: Only stayed one night so spent it on beach and then going for dinner at the food truck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful hotel and right on the lagoon

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Brilliant stay. Snorkeling, swimming, kayaking, table tennis, badminton, volleyball, beautiful gardens, nice bars.