Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Ok for a stopover

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to an amazing reef with sharks
Cons: Most of it. If i was running an international group of hotels I would want to be doing it better than my own group but also better than the competitio
Location: Good snorkelling and paraponting although make sure you go the the qualified parapont group
Was ok for me as I just needed time to kick back. It's not the idyllic Tahitian resort you have in mind. For that you need to go to bora bora. Restaurant churns out food which is average but expensive and caters for group tours and American cruise ship groups. Pool is below par and gets pretty murky. Room was comfortable enough but the twin beds were pushed together to make a double. It also smelled of mildew and the AC was fixed on one temperature despite having a control in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand.

Gorgeous facilities excellent for families

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The food is very, very expensive and inconsistent. Some was amazing, some below average. Try and have your meals/drinks off site.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Nice hotel right on the beach front

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Nice beach front and lots of fishes in the water
Cons: I first came here about 5 years ago when it was first upgraded. I think it could defiantly do with another upgrade
Location: Location is about 15mins away from the airport and 20 mins from the central city. You can drive around the whole Island in about 3 hours.
For this trip we stayed in the Overwater Bungalows - They are nice and quite large. In general the whole hotel could do with an upgrade but overall it is still a nice place. You can use the kayaks and there are 2 restaurants you can eat at on site. The location is a little away from the city centre and airport about 15mins which is still close but I would advise a car unless you generally don't want to explore much. The hotel is very close to a bunch of shops which is great - Supermarket, Bakery, other stores and 2 petrol stations are very close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice stop over before Bora Bora

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Great hotel, a little bit of a drive from downtown not to much around the area, but there was a supermarket down the street which was very convenient. The pool and beach area were very nice and the use of the kayaks was great. The breakfast was ok, the dinner was much better at the restaurant. The wifi was a bit hit and miss, but overall our stay was pleasant and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The over the water bungalows are awesome. It was my best vacation ever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from irvine, ca usa

Ok place to stay

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This is a nice resort but definitely not luxury or the cleanest place. Room seemed a little dirty and we didn't have a tv remote or wifi access. Had to call maintenance. We stayed a few nights at intercontinental in Tahiti. That resort was 1000 times better and way closer to the airport. This hotel cost 2600 xpf to get there via taxi and 4000 xpf to get back to the airport. Not really worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great white sand beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Over the water bungalows idyllic with good quality restaurants and good snorkelling
4 out of 5
by Ashley

Clean beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great stay, just be sure to get the breakfast package in your stay because it's pricey. We ended up going to the near by super market for some good food so it was a much cheaper option and still great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel with nice facilities

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Very quiet hotel with nice facilities (swimming pool, comfortable rooms, complimentary use of kayaks). Staff are friendly and available.
Cons: A sandy beach on the ocean. It's mostly a coral beach, so need to be careful where you step.
Location: About 15 minute drive from the airport, in the opposite directly from downtown Papeete (25 minutes drive). A few shops and supermarket 10 mins walk.
Overall the Le Meridien was a good hotel choice in Papeete. It's away from the airport and downtown Papeete, but there is a hotel shuttle for a fee that takes about 25 mins to get into town for shopping. Stayed in a basic garden room, but the view was nice as had shrubs outside but could still clearly see the property grounds like the swimming pool and ocean in the distance. All the hotel rooms face towards the pool and ocean. I guess the garden view rooms are on ground floor, and the ocean view rooms are on the upper floors (only about 3 or 4 floors high). Room was comfortable, clean and spacious, and the AC worked very well. Property has just one very large sand floor swimming pool that was very relaxing. Also included are complimentary use of the kayaks, where there is plenty of coral reefs and tons of tropical fish to see very close to the beach. However, as most beaches in this area, they are coral beaches and not powder soft sand beaches, so bring sandals or water shoes. It's a well run property. Nothing fancy, but comfortable. Outside of the hotel in about 5-10 mins walk there are a few local shops to browse (souvenirs, pharmancy, post office, etc....) plus a supermarket to buy snacks. We found this a nice option to buy a fresh baguette, along with french cheese and meats to make a very tasty sandwich, which is a more economical option to the high food prices around Tahiti. We stayed at another 4-star property in Tahiti, and enjoyed this hotel more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bungalow stay

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The sandy bottom pool was interesting and created an nice atmosphere. Employees at the front desk tried their best to resolve the internet problems.
Cons: Internet access should always be first class and well run. It was very frustrating trying to get it to work. Someone had to come reboot the server.
Location: Kayaking was nice but currents were strong. There were not enough life jackets so all the kayaks could be used at once.
I was surprised how run down the bungalows were. There was a slat missing in the bathroom so there was always an opening to the outside -early morning light came through it. There was also a board missing on the dock leading up to the bungalow. The entire dock was in some disrepair and was not scenic. As you drove in the cart from the lobby to the bungalow, the entire route was unimpressive. We had just come from another resort where we had also stayed in the bungalows. The others were much more first class. Cushions were collected from the furniture while guests were trying watch the sunset. Everything seemed to be more about the convenience of the hotel and employees rather than the enjoyment of the guests. The restaurant was really expensive for what you got and the drinks were marginal for the price paid. Internet access was not convenient. We spent long periods of time trying to get it to work and eventually an employee had to come out and remove a panel from the wall to reboot the server. Very inconvenient and frustrating. There was not a cork screw in the room. We had to wait a long time for an employee to arrive with one and then we felt obligated to find appropriate money to tip the worker. Each "luxurious" bungalow should include a $3 corkscrew for convenience of guests.