Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Lovely hotel

Posted May 12, 2017
I loved the large, clean and pretty room with the balcony overlooking the ocean and pool. Loved the pool. They need written instructions in English for the air conditioning, TV, and the microwave which all worked differently than in the states
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Delightful setting in Tahiti

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Loved the view and the pool, the suite was spacious and had everything we required
Cons: I felt that the cost of drinks and food was a little high for a resort
Location: Local supermarket 25 minutes walk, local eateries/trucks may or may not be open at night, though not on Easter weekend!
As a last minute holiday booking we were pleased with the spacious suite overlooking the pool, lagoon, ocean and a beautiful vista towards the Island of Moorea. Quite relaxing at this time of year (April) The staff were mostly friendly, and helped us out with our spotty communication in French/English. We were booked for 12 days, in retrospect, 5 days would have worked out enough, then move to different islands for a more overall experience of French Polynesia. Due to the location of the Resort, a $30 cab ride from the airport, we decided to rent a car, to stock up on supplies. Avis has free phone/shuttle located in the reception area, which is also located at the airport. We toured the island of Tahiti pretty much in one day. The Manava Resort has a restaurant, bar, and pool bar, which was fine, but much more expensive than we had imagined. The pool area is lovely, overlooking the ocean, and we snorkeled off the edge of the lagoon. However, it is a busy area with the nearby local Marina with jet ski, boats, kayaks and the usual water related pursuits. Please note that you will be charged visitor tax and resort fee's on departure, despite the notation on our booking saying all taxes and fee's are included.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

No beach

Posted May 2, 2017
Location: Nothing to do except enjoying a sunset.
The explanation of the hotel in the Expedia looks that it has a beach. It is actually not able to access to a beach, No Beach. We thought that we enjoyed beach and booked three nights at the hotel, but did not actually.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A very mediocre hotel close to the water.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Cons: Staff friendliness, cleanliness, facilities repaired and running correctly.
Location: Location well away from Papeete shops. No activities available.
Close to the beach but everything was very tired and slightly run down. Needs some money spent. The staff were unfriendly and very unhelpful. Definitely do not recommend. Pictures show waterfall at end of pool....but as with many other things...not working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We staid there only for 1 night to get on another plane the following day. 10 minutes from airport, clean, has endless pool, restaurant. Overall great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Location: Maybe location is not perfect but you may even spend the whole day at the hotel.
We stayed at Manava hotel for four nights. The room was with the Lagoon view. It was amazing stay. We loved everything: the room, the stuff, the infinity pool, the green tropical trees inside and around hotel. We swam in the ocean and in the swimming pool. I definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel nice view and great services

Posted Mar 17, 2017
I really really really really really really enojyed it xD
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful hotel!!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Everything!! We think it's a beautiful, safe, clean place to stay.
Cons: The restaurant. The man in charge was not helpful when we wanted to order chicken. If there is chicken for salad, then there much be chic for a meal.
Location: It is in close proximity to the airport. We just used it as an overnight, so did not do anything near by. I think a food truck is near at night time.
The Manava is wonderful. The staff is so efficient, polite and helpful. The room was beautiful with a balcony and view of Moorea. Would have loved to stay longer. They will hold your luggage securely until your room is ready, so we relaxed by the beautiful pool. The grounds are kept so nice and beautiful follage.
3 out of 5
by Ryan

A mixed bag

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This place is a real mixed bag. Pros: It is a beautiful place with a gorgeous pool and great rooms. Going out to the pier every morning and watching the crabs was the highlight. Cons: Calling it a resort is a bit misleading. There is really nothing to do there except sit by the pool. They supposedly have a spa, but it was never open. They have a gym no bigger or nicer than you would get at a Ramada Inn, and they had a poolside bar that was rarely open. There are no tennis courts, bikes, nothing. So, if you like sitting by a pool for 9 hours a day with no drinks, this is the place for you. They also have a restaurant that is outrageously expensive, even by Tahiti standards. A cheeseburger was $26 - that is not an exaggeration. Other than that, there is no entertainment and no real options outside. Everything is a super far walk (30 minute walk to grocery store), and the hotel doesn't have bikes or a shuttle, except a shuttle that goes downtown once an hour, costs 7 bucks and holds 4 people. The service is sketchy. It's kind of a lassiez-faire attitude that permeates Tahiti. If you get food, great; if not, great. If your plane arrives, great; if it doesn't so what, just come back tomorrow at 8 am. They don't put out water or coffee and everything is overpriced IF the bar or restaurant is even open.
4 out of 5
by george

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels