Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

First and still the Best

Posted Dec 3, 2016
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel in Taichung was the first of its kind in Taiwan for more than thirty years. Because of its staff and maintenance crew, it is still the best amongst the Evergreen Laurel Family of Hotels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Short business trip

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Good size comfortable clean room at reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Just passing through....

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Cons: More comfortable beds...cheaper Taiwan hotels have more comfortable beds. Perplexing short coming at this price point.
Location: Easy taxi ride to a terrific night market.
Needed a place to stay in Taichung for one night.... Decided on Evergreen because it owned Eva Air which we flew into Taiwan. At check-in the staff had trouble finding our reservations from Expedia that we had made 4 hrs earlier. Staff was good. Breakfast buffet was nice...very busy. The only detracting issue was that our beds were very firm...actually closer to being described as very hard...which for the price point of this hotel a disappointing spoiler in an otherwise pleasant one nighter. Would we stay again...maybe...depends on the available options...and how well we remember the hard beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatan, Okinawa

Nice stay for business

Posted Jun 4, 2016
I found this hotel to be a little less personable than other hotels I have stayed at in Taichung. I think it has more to do with their focus on business and wedding parties rather than just leisure travelers. With that said though, Otis stills very nice hotel off of a very busy road and lots of amenities. Would recommend. ☺️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: the bed is very comfortable.
Nice comfortable with friendly staff hotel at reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Good location, professional and friendly staff, clean room.
Cons: None.
Location: Close to convenient stores and restaurants.
I did enjoy staying at this hotel and will definitely come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Nice enough hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Large spacious room
Service was a bit lacking compared to other hotels. Our 4 year old son was expected to squeeze into a very small baby cot as they couldn't provide an extra bed despite having asked in advance for one. I ended up sleeping on the floor for the second night so he had space in the bed. The bed was extremely hard so there was not much difference between it and the floor. Room was clean and spacious and hotel is well located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel with central location

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Central location and good price.
Cons: Rooms are little dated.
Location: Central location with everything near by.
Great staff. Reception staff helped with a much needed early check in. Good breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Great hotel in Taichung

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean, the hotel was very nice, the staffs were nice, it was very comfortable to stay in this hotel.
Cons: none
When I opened the door of my hotel room door, I thought it looked very nice and clean. I spent the night enjoying in this room and I have to say, the bed was very comfy. I felt as everything was excellent. I give this hotel five stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Old tradition at its best!

Posted May 6, 2015
We like the hotel because of its location and have stayed here numerous times. This time, the internet only had suite available so we had to pay almost double the price. Nonetheless, we really enjoyed the room and it is quiet and spacious. We will stay there again!