Ratings based on 968 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Tainan Railway Station.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The room was big and clean, it has a nice view of Tainan City. I enjoyed the breakfast as there were great variety of food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan, your residence in Tainan, in the very near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tainan

Overall Quality does no match the Brand

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We were surprised that the overall cleanesd and maintenance were not satisfied... not comptible as other Shangri la hotels we had stayed in the past.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan, Hotel Management
Firstly, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on Expedia. We are regretful to learn that your staying experience did not meet our usual standard. We have looked into this issue and re-emphasized the importance of this issue to our team. Again, your feedback is very important to us and we hope that we will still have an opportunity to serve you again, and offer you a great Shangri-La experience in the neare future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Very good value for the size of room although not as luxurious as Shangri-la in other major cities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay in Tainan

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
I had upgraded to a suite on arrival to the hotel, so my excellent rating is for a suite. One of the best rooms I had ever stayed in (and I traveled a lot). Great bathroom and very convenient room in general and the use of the lounge (which is included in the suite package) was worth the extra money. The location is walking distance from many of Tainan's major temples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We truly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles , ca

Nice ,

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Nice , convenient, pleasant staff....good gym ....liked that it was connected to a dept store .....comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Comfortable and luxurious

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Had a wonderful experience here. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast had good variety and pretty good compared to your standard boring hotel bfast buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great city views

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Free wifi and car parking. Free room upgrade. Room starting to be a little shabby for 5*-needs a new carpet and general refresh. Breakfast choice and quality huge. Lovely pool but beware- loses sun by about 1pm due to poor design- the building completely over shadows it! So early sunbathing...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

just awesome!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: super comfy bed!!! Tainan train station and mall right beside it, and quite close to historical/tourist attractions.
Cons: we didn't try the amenities or buffet but I am sure they are good
Location: lots!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Staff are very patient to give sightseeing and restaurant recommendations.