Ratings based on 1,439 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cebu City

Excellent location in Ximending

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Located in Ximending pedestrian area. Near Ximen MRT station. Nice clean rooms. Our medium sized room had a large king bed big enough for 3 people. We were 3 people in the room. They don't charge you for the 3rd person as long as you don't ask for an extra bed, towels, toiletries, etc. Competent, helpful and friendly staff. Bottled water in the fridge is replenished every day. On top of that there is free reverse osmosis filtered water and ice in the service area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A room that wouldn't darken

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Was given a room (#627) that has a window that overlooks the dining area on the reception floor. Despite turning the blinds, the room is still too bright for one to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotels in XIMENDING

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Brought my parents to Tapei for a short trip and Amba provided an extra large King bedroom to accommodate 3 of us. The sofa bed is comfortable than expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Nice hotel, at the heart of XMD!

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: everything is good! :) Door is Magnetic for you to put whether you want "room cleaning" or "do not disturb" good idea! :)
Good experience! Checking in was a breeze. Got upgraded to a better room, thanks amba! :) Name tags on staff are lego. Very cute! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Conveniently located in Ximending

Posted May 13, 2017
Great service by the hotel staffs, conveniently located in ximending. Walkable distance from mrt and there's plenty of options for food in the vicinity.
4 out of 5
by Hazel

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is my second time staying at Amba. Overall stay is ok except that the housekeeping could have been better. The sink area was not clean up and tidy up properly on the second day of my stay and I think they folded my wet bath towel which I hanged to dry up back on the shelves when it's still damp.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York city

Started bad but ended well

Posted Apr 12, 2017
I am a VIP Expedia member but was not offered any VIP service upon arrival. However once Expedia alerted them to this the staff (manager Mark) jumped to action to rectify situation. During my stay there was a minor issue with construction noises that the staff also tried to rectify. My stay was a bit below par but the staff's effort made it a much better experience. They tried their best to remedy the situation. A+ for effort. I would book again and give them another chance. Sometimes things aren't aligned but doesn't mean it's terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel close to Ximending

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Convenient location. Accessible to metro, close to shopping and eateries. Clean and comfortable room though room is small. Decent breakfast spread.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Hotel in the Heart of Xi Men Ding

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Nicely located in vibrant Taipei City.
Location: Lots of eateries along the street - from breakfast and lunch to dinner is easy within reach of hotel
Good Service and Helpful Staff ... Second time stay at hotel. Helped us with advanced booking of a cab in the early morning for a flight at 7 pm from Tao Yuan International Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Awesome hotel in the heart of Ximenting

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The modern and clean concept of the room
Cons: The light switch in the room.
Location: In the heart of Ximenting.
I have booked a extra large twin bed for 3 of us. Room is very modern and clean. I like the concept that they have curtain in between the sofa bed and the main beddings. Only down side is you cant switch off the lightings on top of the sofa bed unless you switch all lights off. Should be more flexible in that. Beds are comfy and my family likes this hotel very much because they can go down do shopping and eating. Didnt opt for the breakfast buffet as there are so many streets food downstairs. Will definitely choose this hotel again if I am visiting Taipei.