Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

good location.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
在市區內靠近捷運,非常方便但又不是人潮擁擠的地方,服務很好,員工都面帶微笑,價格不貴,下次有機會來台北還願意來住。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2015
good value,helpful staff,short walk to metro.would recomand to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, on

Great hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2015
It was a great and a clean hotel. The staff there are friendly and always there to help with any question or direction and problems you have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2014
The staff has been the best part of my experience there! The facility has been well kept although it's not the typical 5-star hotels I've been used to. It met my needs for this business trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Gala Hotel - New Tapei City Review

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location and general convenience of getting to the hotel.
Cons: No comment.
Location: 7-11 just across the street, Daan park, NTU Sports Center and campus, and the U-bikes!!
For the price and location, this hotel was great! Staff was very helpful and the room was clean. The Gala hotel is convenient in so many ways: a 7-11 is right across the street, U-bikes just down the block, and the HSR is only 10-minutes by taxi. I took a Free-Go bus from the airport and was at the hotel in about 45-minutes. If you're on a budget, I would highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janka

It's a great hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Definitely the service and the staff
Cons: Food at the restaurant and maybe new paint of the hotel
Location: not much to do nearby because this hotel is in the middle of the financial district
We booked this hotel not knowing that this in the middle of the financial district, nevertheless, we went ahead and stayed here. We expected very little of the hotel because it's a no frills hotel right smack in the middle of banks and banks. BUT, the hotel staff, who knew very little english, the doorman JASON, and everyone, were very very very helpful. The rooms looked like we were in a four star hotel. The look of the room is so much better than the outside appearance of the hotel. The rooms were bright, spacious and the bed was comfortable. We asked for extra pillows, and extra blankets and just about anything extra and they were just so willing to give it to us. The breakfast was "edible" so to speak and can do better BUT the overall experience at this hotel more than made up for the lack of variety at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucia from Bay Area, CA

Great location, excellent services!

Posted Nov 12, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Thailand

OK, but not special

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Location. Staff generally helpful and friendly.
Cons: Maintenance. Limited English language options on TV
Location: Very close to MRT
The in-room security box was not working in arrival. Maintenance was called in to replace the dud batteries. On second night, we were woken up around midnight due to air conditioner leaking heavily on to floor, requiring a room change. Good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yun from Singapore

Great location, good service.

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Great starting point to explore Taipei by, especially if you want to head to a few places in different corners of the city.
Service was helpful when approached. We asked many questions ranging from directions to places to getting a massage. The staff speak decent English, not really fluent but understandable. Rooms were kept clean and are of a decent size. The angle of the TV is strange, it faces perpendicular from the bed; seems like they put it there more for show than for people to watch. Not a problem for me as I dont watch TV, but if you want to watch and chill at night it might be frustrating. The 2nd night I was there the aircon seemed to malfunctioned and the room wasnt really cold. But otherwise the rest of the nights were fine. The location was great, a bit out of the way from the crowds which is how i like it. Hotel was near the heart of the business district and is very very near to a bus station and a MRT station that is in between 2 of the main lines so it makes going around Taipei easy via MRT. Huge plus point for that. Oh and the main thing I would complain about the hotel is the breakfast. Not just unappealing but done up rather badly; even for a hotel breakfast standard. Then again, I am particular about my food and would like something decent from the hotel early in the morning instead of having to rush out for a meal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david

The room and bed is small for 2 persons.

Posted May 20, 2013
Pros: Not particular, however the price is the main attraction.
Cons: Not in my opinion.
Location: Location is main factor, as I said. It is convenient to reach every corner of city.
It is pretty good to stay overall. Location is prime factor.