Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, Ohio

Good location

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The staff was great, and with a few updates, this would be a great place to stay.
The hotel is in a really good location - walking distance to CKS Memorial and the MRT. The area is relatively quiet for being in the middle of Taipei, so that was surprisingly nice as well. The rooms themselves were a little outdated, and the beds were a little hard (our double bed was two singles put together.)
1 out of 5
by Juanita M.

We left as quick as we could

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Orbitz
The hotel had advertised a shuttle to the airport. This was one of the sole reasons we selected this hotel, it was downtown and it had a shuttle. We didnt get the shuttle, they had no idea what we were talking about. It was too late at night to locate another place to stay so we decided to stay the one night and then move on to another location forfeiting our payment. It had cigarette burns on the floor, the countertops and the bed mattress cover despite us asking for a smoke free environment. There was extensive damp and mold on the hotel walls and when we walked in at night you could just smell the mold, in the daytime was quite bad visually. We left the next morning and the lady of the hotel was nice enough to us and was very apologetic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Slightly Convenient; 15min walk to closest station

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel 13-20min walk to the closest station which is has the lines that contain more stuff. CKS Memorial and the free breakfast and water bottles.
Cons: Pillow case on the pillows on the beds since I didn't look and feel like it has any since it was still white, but there are other pillows with cases
Location: The location isn't bad since it 13-15min to closest station, but I don't think there much around the hotel (we didn't check, so IDK). CKS Memorial.
The hotel is a great stay for the price. You get free breakfast buffet which is from 7-9:50am and the food they have is a good range of foods (congee, eggs, rice, juice, toast, noodles, tofu, etc). The hotel is a bit small. They have a small elevator The style of the hotel is a bit old and it can be seen this the furniture and walls, but its clean enough (not the best place for very clean people). There are no shower curtains in the bathtub so the water spills out to the floor, but maybe that's just the design since they do have a drainer next to the tub. The beds were comfortable enough for me and my friends. They provide water bottles per person everyday when they come to clean, and they provided toiletries and slippers most times when they clean as well. The staff is nice though most of them know very little English. They mostly know Japanese and Mandarin. Most of the people renting the hotel will be Japanese. It has wifi and they can take care of you valuables in a safe while you travel like your laptop. Over all the hotel provides all the basics and it's a good stay if you are staying for a few days to travel around Taipei.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Value for money

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Located at center of the city Friendly staff Nice breakfast High speed wifi
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bug bites... Smoke... Musky room

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: service is good
Cons: improve the rooms so that it is not musky and odorous, especially the smoke smell.. Remove the bed bugs
We were assigned to the 6th floor, the room was badly built, I could see rusted metal. The room is musky and smell like smoke.. The air conditioner is old and loud and produces a weird odor.. and oh yes, the bed bugs bit us like crazy... The 3rd night that we were there, there was another room available on the 3rd floor... sooo much better...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Taipei City

Posted Oct 25, 2014
I was surprised that the stay come with breakfast, and it was cooked with local dishes, delicious and suits asian stomach.
1 out of 5
by tongjunshan

Scary

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Orbitz
This place was pretty scary. The lobby was dingy, smelled like cigarette smoke, the elevator was big enough for 3 people and barely worked, free breakfast was gross (I know good Taiwanese food, and this was just bad). You couldn't keep the room key, the front desk required you to leave it with them whenever you left. Staff was unhelpful when asked questions (using Chinese). Room refrigerator looked like it had never been cleaned, peeling paint and wallpaper, holes in the walls, spiders, curled calking in the bathrooms. The beds were very uncomfortable, AC barely worked. The view from the room was about 10 feet to the ghetto apartment next door, couldn't even see the sky. Worst place ever.
3 out of 5
by Shuting from Singapore

Average stay, good for just sleeping

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Bed and air-condition ok. Quite quiet at our level (level 3, 2 double bed room).
Cons: Fix the bathroom door
Location: Breakfast stores, 7 eleven,family mart (convenient store) banks and many tourist places such as museums and builidings of government ministry.
The bathroom door of our hotel room cannot be closed ~.~.. The blankets or pillows are not changed no matter how many days you stay (for me, it was 5 nights). I guess the price speaks for the quality. Wasn't expecting much, but our room came with hairdryer and electronic water boiler though the water boiler can't seem to work (luckily we brought our own). Not enough electric sockets in the hotel rooms and the hotel phone cannot call to external lines and have to use 7 eleven phones or telephone stands. Reminder to bring travel adapter as the socket in taiwan is 2 pins.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the Chiang Kai-Shek memorial Hall

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The window of the room should be repaired.
Location: Chiang Kai-shek memorial Hall
The room is a bit old out of the window. There is not lock for the window, it looks not safe. Probably, it's emergency escape, because I found one long and thick rope in my room. The breakfast is very nice. My room is a bit large, so it better for the family with 3 persons. In all, the price is available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rock from Malaysia

Review

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Cons: The double bed is too old and the middle sink in. Adjustable aircon. I could not find any switch to turn down the aircon.
I choose this hotel because it is one of the hotel with a 24 hour staff at the desk. I checked in one day and need to leave at wee hour in the morning to catch a connection domestic flight. The staff help me call a cab/taxi as I am from Malaysia and my mandarin is bad.