Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Truly a unique spot

Posted May 27, 2018
I really appreciated the attention and love this spot has! From the moment I arrived I was warmly welcomed, given an overview of the hotel as well as what hot springs I should go to. A bit hard to find, but worth the effort!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful house and friendly staff, but...

Posted Mar 30, 2018
We loved the beautiful solo singer house and the interior. Also the staff was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. However, there was an odd smell in the room which was disturbing. I think that the air ventilation is not effective enough. I wish they would soon fix it because otherwise it would have been one of the best hotels on our Taiwan tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

Quiet hotel in the heart of Beitou

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Wonderful staff and quietness. Comfortable bed and great shower.
Location: Near to Metro and can walk to all the thermal sites.
We very much enjoyed our four nights here. The staff are wonderfully friendly and had good English language skills. The breakfasts were Taiwanese style and very enjoyable with each day being different. It is approximately a 10 minute walk from the metro. The hotel is in a very quiet location down a lane way. You can easily explore Beitou on foot and the bus up to the National Park leaves from around the corner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Like an old youth hostel

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Cons: Oddly there is no sign indicating that the hotel address is occupied by Solo Singer. A sign at the entrance in Chinese and English would help.
My experience at this hotel was very disappointing. My room #303 was surprisingly smaller and more dated than I was led to believe from the photo which Expedia had sent to me. There was little furniture to put anything: for clothes there were only three nails against the wall along with three hangers; a coffee pot and a mug were placed on the floor; the low cement ceiling looked dirty as if it were still under construction. No alarm clock. No functioning telephone – there was an old decorative phone. The bathroom had no shelves. It provided only a bath towel. No hand towel. One night I kept hearing a crying child from the neighboring room indicating the wall is thin. The front desk did not open until 10:30, and the breakfast, which was simple, did not begin until 8:30. One had an impression that this hotel’s operating cost must be low. Yet, the non-refundable total amount which I was required to pay at the time of my reservation was much higher than the other hotel in Taipei with more services and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Extraordinary hospitality

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Was looking for something unique and found it at Solo Singer. Our host, Sharon, not only greeted us with exceptional hospitality, but also came looking for us later in the evening worried about us. We were fine, but what other hostess/hotel would do that?! The hotel itself is an old hotel and harkens back to yesteryear with many of the old hotel’s charms kept intact. Our room was lovely, but if you need a TV, you won’t find one, but who needs TV when you’ve got Beitou to explore?! Located close to the MRT and the hot springs as well as many local food stands. It can be hard to find so do your homework prior to arriving. Not a modern hotel, but a fantastic one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint & charming

Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very quaint and can see that great care has been taken to keep the charm of the 60-year old building. Very friendly service. Breakfast was wholesome & excellent. The Solo Singer Cafe was a great place to sit & relax.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Boutique Hotel close to Hot Springs

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed my stay at Solo Singer Inn, which is very nicely done and with some special art and antique in every room. They have a lovely cafe opposite, where they serve some amazing beers. Do not miss out on the Taiwan Tea Ale 2, which is one of the best ales I have tasted in a long time. Also the breakfast they serve here is lovely. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and gave good recommendations for the area. Can only highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
amazing design and antique setting. nice staff too! also the boss "fu lai" cat in cafe is really cool!\ oh !! the breakfast is awesome
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Edward from Georgia

Solo Singer...cool place with great staff!

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The Soli Singer is great but the staff is what truly makes it a special place.