Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plan B option

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Old facility. Only one set of drink supply even you have two people occupancy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good value with a caveat

Posted Oct 17, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, good bathroom, good value for the money.
Cons: Have a larger map with directions to/from the hotel to places like the nearest subway stop.
Location: One of Taipei's major temples is a short walk away, as are major thoroughfares and a varied selection of restaurants.
The hotel was not particularly easy to find, but once we got our bearings, all was well. The staff was extremely accommodating, for example helping us to organize an excursion outside Taipei and to make arrangements for getting to the airport. The room was small but comfortable. Lighting in the bathroom was excellent, as was the shower. Breakfast was pleasing, though the selection was designed for an Asian palate and not a Western one, which was OK since we may have been the only Westerners in the hotel. My only hesitation about recommending this hotel is the somewhat out-of-the-way location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Disappointed. Not a choice for two and up.

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Cons: Increase the power outlet.
I booked this hotel base on its rating but we were disappointed. Facility : Old and is poor maintained. Furniture are old. The shower faucet was out of order in my first night, and made the floor wet in the whole toilet. I had to tell them to fix it. Staff : Friendly but not helpful. We had two adults for the room. They only provided one card key. We would go out and might not come back at the same time. We requested a second one. She provided another one saying that it could open the door but could not activate the power in the room. We needed to insist to change it. Power outlet: There is only one open power outlet in the whole room. If you have more than one person in your room, you two have to compete each other on the phone charging. Also, the water boiler shares the outlet of the refrigerator. You need to unplug the refrigerator to use the boiler. Breakfast: Beware there is only the Chinese style breakfast. It is plain congee and small dishes of food. Room layout: The layout is bad. When you sit in the sofa, your feet will reach the door. If your companion need to go out, you have to stand up. If someone come in without your awareness, you will get hit. Location: It is OK. There is a subway station around, but not nearby. You have to walk about 20 minutes. Supplies: The custom roll size of their toilet paper is about one third of the ones in market. At my check in, there was only half of the custom roll size available. 2 stars is for pricing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015
closed to MRT station and the staff are very friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joseph from Sydney

Good comfortable hotel

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly service
Cons: Carpet cleaning
Location: It quite far from most attractions, but taxi are fortunately very cheap. There good food nearby too.
Generally pretty clean and tidy hotel. Found no major issues. Carpets could use a clean thought. Staff were very friendly and most helpful. Buffet breakfast was relatively good compared to other hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a. v. from california

excellent

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: western breakfast
Location: good location
everything in the hotel was very good and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jess from Singapore

Metro Hotel (:

Posted Aug 9, 2013
The concierge were friendly and very helpful. Upon hearing that it is our first trip to Taipei, they jumped enthusiastically at the chance to help us locate the sights that are a must-see and go, as well as how to get there. They remembered our names from the point we check-in, never failing to say good morning and good evening to us! Our rooms were very clean and made up very fast. We would head out for breakfast, and within the hour, when we came back, our rooms were cleaned and beds were made! Overall a wonderful experience and I would love to come back here to stay again! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joei from Singapore

Our Metro Hotel stay

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: The efficient service and friendly staff.
Cons: The morning breakfast buffet food and amount available for people staying in the hotel.
Location: I love it that the hotel is quite near to Shilin Night Market so we can easily take a cab back to the hotel at the end of the day when we are tired.
Every hotel front desk staff is very helpful and keen in assisting us with directions and our plans for the day. The restaurant staff also makes conversations with us and is very helpful and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very convenient

Posted Oct 29, 2011
The lobby doesn't seem very fancy fancy type of hotel, but the room is very clean and comfortable. The hotel is well located. You can take the MTR one street away from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cupertino CA

Metro Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2011
I really liked the decorations in the room colors, furniture, mirrors etc. The bed was two beds pushed together. Bathroom was designed weird. Tub was raised about a foot and ceiling was lowered about a foot or two. My head was a few inches from the ceiling and I had to be careful stepping out of the tub because it was raised. Location was very good. Lots of food places nearby. Somewhat close to night markets and clubs. The best thing about the Metro Hotel was the service. The staff was very helpful in calling cabs, translating directions, recommending places, and making sure everything was satisfactory in the room. I would stay there again.