Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Excellent, handy location to the east gate of the Taj; fine view of the Taj from the small roof-top terrace, if the city smog permits.
Cons: Perhaps extended hours for pool use.
Extremely helpful desk staff, regarding helping us with a failed car booking from another agency. Very fine, clean pool. Traditional greeting was very warm, cordial. Excellent staff, high quality margle and silk for very good prices in the hotel shop, much better than on the streets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

Stay away!! Do not book here!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, decor, cleanliness, staff attitude, wifi and phone services
We got to the hotel around 11pm to check-in. The lobby is very dated and the furniture looks like a mix-and-match of pieces found at a flee market. Check in staff was not that pleasant to start off with. They checked us in a room in the basement... the room is underneath the lobby, there was a small dark window that was above our heads so you could not see outside or get natural light in the room. The room (and entire basement level) smelled horrible, like mouldy or something. We went back to front desk to explain our discontent and ask for another room on a higher floor. We were told no that the other rooms were booked and we were stuck in basement because we "checked in late" (not our fault our flight arrived at the time it did). Anyhow, the front desk staff then got very rude and started arguing with us over everything. We then asked to cancel our reservation as we would go somewhere else, the front desk was not helpful at all and did not want to refund our reservation or cancel... We had trouble making another reservation since their phones were not working and the WiFi was very weak and spotty at best.. All in all did not end up sleeping there (although we were booked for two nights). Horrible service, ugly hotel, musty and mouldy... definitely stay away! Much better options elsewhere in Agra.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Decent hotel close to the East gate

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: close to the gate and ticket
Cons: improve customer service. smell in the room.
Location: Taj Mahal
Not sure because we booked via Expedia, our room was in the basement with no window. I felt like I was in a box. The room itself was OK - small, clean but had a very strong smell of cleaning product - we let the fan in the bathroom on all the time but that didn't seem to help. The front desk staff was nice and helpful when we arrived but their attitude and helpfulness seemed to change over the course of just 24 hours. We were told to check out before our check-out time (maybe it was Diwali holiday and they needed the room?). I exchanged some dollars - they tried to give me higher notes. When I asked for smaller notes like 500 and 100, she said they don't have them. When I said i wouldn't exchange it - then all of sudden she did have smaller notes. I thanked her but she ignored me. I felt they were rushing us out. Breakfast was OK. The pool is much smaller in person. The view from rooftop is nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Poor maintenance , poor dining service.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The only reason this hotel is surviving becausa of the close proximity to the Taj Mahal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN USA

Great place if you're visiting the Taj Mahal

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: Nothing, Very comfortable and wonderful hotel staff.
Location: All we did was the Taj Mahal. Hotel staff helped us secure a taxi to take us back to Delhi which only cost around $100 versus several hours on a bus
We had a great stay at Hotel Taj Resort. We had to walk a block to purchase tickets for the Taj Mahal and then hopped on a shuttle bus that took us to the East Gate. The location of this resort can't be beat. Hotel staff was wonderful and very friendly. They have a great roof-top pool, bar and restaurant where you can see the top of theTaj Mahal. The restaurant offered great food and we even got a sitar lesson from one of the muscians playing at the roof-top restaurant. We would highluy recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
nothing in the hotel no poll no spa room are very poor i wount recomand this hotel to my freind
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Pleasant welcome by staff and comfortable room.
Cons: Overall improvement in all areas .
Location: So close to the Taj Mahal is a big plus
Satisfactory place to stay and very near to Taj Mahal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Another great stay at this fab hotel.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Excellent service. Staff very kind and helpful. Fantastic location next to Taj, you can walk down or get free bus from ticket centre close to hotel. Pool very welcome after hot day in Agra, just need to chase them for towels. Roof top restaurant very good for cold drinks and dinner. Would highly recommend.
1 out of 5
by Arunkumar

Huge Let down

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Where do i start? As soon as we reached we were checked in abnd given a room with two single beds for a family of 4...at our request we were moved to a room with king bed but the room key was not given...we were provided with bfast coupons and our booking email said free bfast. Following morning we were sat on bfast table started eating and in the middle one of the hotel staff said our bfast was chargeable. After that we had to argue with the check out staff as they were showing us document from expedia showing room only...the shower was shabby ay best with me having to use my belt clip to pull out the lever to get water from shower...ac was a glorified fan...endless trouble avoid at all costs....hotels.com has a lot to offer
1 out of 5
by Vineet

try avoiding this hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
There was a continuous construction noise from the terrace, the food was pathetic and so was the complimentary breakfast. Despite of repeated call to reception there was no help. even tried calling the owner but he did not respond