Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing

Nice hotel with a fabulous view and hot spring

Posted Jan 6, 2017
I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. This hotel is located at the midst top of the mountain and has a fabulous view of the city. 10 minutes' ride from the station and the hotel has a bus shuttle for the guests. Really fabulous hot spring SPA (outdoor and can enjoy the view at the same time. 5 different pools each floor. 2 floors and each for male or female separately). Breakfast is also good and the staff is helpful. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Disappointing for the price

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Room size
Cons: The restaurant prices are ridiculous and the shuttle bus could be more often
Location: The town is amazing but the hotel is a 15min shuttle bus ride away. I highly recommend eating in town, don't touch the hotel restaurant.
We would highly recommend Takayama but this hotel made it by far the most expensive leg of our stay in Japan. The hotel is about a 15min shuttle bus ride away from the train station, this gave us a little less freedom than if it was closer to town. When we arrived I was surprised to see that it had an overpriced, large, gift shop in the lobby, a first in my experience for a hotel. The room was very large and had a good view over the town. It was clean and we had no problems with it. The breakfasts were included and were great, we had fresh fruit and pastries but there was a huge range of choices. Our main issue with this hotel came when we decided to have dinner in the hotel one night. The hotel seems to fairly unashamedly take advantage of its poor location and offers three hugely overpriced restaurants. We chose the one that they use for breakfast service because it seemed a little cheaper. As we got to the entrance one of the slightly strangely mannered restaurant managers (of which there seemed to be 3+) told us to 'wait there'. He then let a number of guests who arrived after us in, and eventually allowed us to sit at a table after 10mins. The food that arrived was one of our most expensive meals in Japan, and probably the poorest quality one that we had there. I can buy better sushi in Canada. These were also the cheapest items on their menu. Very disappointing for the price of the room. The cheaper hotels we stayed in were nicer and didn't charge us a 'bath tax!'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted May 6, 2016
This is a most beautiful hotel I stayed in Japan. Facilities are wonderful. Room are lpspacious, unlike many other hotels in Japan. The hot spring bath overlook the magnificent snow capped mountains. Breakfast is delicious! Very pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: I'd love to visit there again!
Location: a little bit far from the station but they have a shuttle bus once a hour. We often used to go to the town.
Hotel staffs are great! Onsen (hot spring big bath) is wonderful!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Room was nice, good facilities, free shuttle bus to take you to and from the hotel, and very helpful staff. WiFi was sketchy at best, and the buffet dinner was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Deserves better rating... And a better picture

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Went with family and was pleased. Food was good, staffs were friendly, view was great, rooms were clean. Only thing about it is its location, it's about 3 minutes driving from the main street. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are driving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to visit and stay

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The views, the friendliness of staff, the options available and the overall experience.
Cons: The beds, like those in many Japanese hotels and onsens, are quite hard.
Location: Takayama has some historic streets which are well worth wandering through. You an also organise a bus trip to Shirakawa-go to look at Gassho houses.
The Associa Resort is set high on a hill above Takayama and offers impressive views over the valley and to the mountains beyond. The staff are very friendly. The rooms are large and comfortable, have free WiFi and are clean and in good order. We stayed for two nights in January 2015 and would recommend this hotel to couples and families. There are three restaurants in the hotel complex - we at at the Japanese Restaurant on the sixth floor and enjoyed our meals. The hotel also has a good spa and offers an "onsen style" experience with its baths which are entered from the sixth floor. A shuttle bus runs between the hotel and Takayama station on an hourly basis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

A very comfortable and spacious hotel in Takayama

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Lovely hotel overlooking Takayama. The shuttle bus into and out of town works really well. The rooms are really large and were great for our family of five. The only issue was the beds are too hard. Buffet breakfast was lovely and beautifully set up. Rooms were very quiet and had a lovely view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old world hotel with a fantastic views

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The views of the mountains.
Location: Shinohataka ropeway is an easy day trip by local bus & Shirakawa-go village is also a half day easy local trip
The hotel has a terrific view of the snow capped mountains & is worth it for that. The staff were helpful & we had no issues. The hotel is a little out of town & the bus timetable can be a bit limiting however we elected to catch a taxi home at Y1200 and it suited us fine. Rooms are very big & clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from usa

Nice hotel, good shuttle service

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Breakfast very good. Rooms good too. Takayama is an interesting town. Very Japanese experience short of a ryocan.