Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from id

Worth the money

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Room and bed are big for Japs standard and for the price. Location is also good, 2-3 blocks from bus and train station. Walking distance fo old town and food are easy to find. We spend most of our time out exploring, and use the hotel for rest only. It is worth the money for resting. But if you plan to relax, do onsen, layback and experience Japan to the max, then this is not the hotel for you. Some good ryokan are around the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Better than expected. Breakfast is simple, but great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good budget option

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: Central location Overall good value for money individual jacuzzi baths for free use
Cons: Needs some updating - but this is underway Not very Japanese as used a lot by european tour groups
Location: Close to both train and bus station and all the sights and restaurants in Takamaya. About 25 mins walk to Hida Folk Village
This is a decent 3 star hotel just a few mins from the train station. Room was of a reasonable size for Japan. Bed was rather old and furnishing drab but the hotel is currently in the process of being renovated so these features should be improved. Bit naughty that the hotel didn't advise that works would be underway during our stay but in saying that we didn't experience any major disruption. Whilst there is no on site onsen , the hotel does benefit from a sauna and individual jacuzzi baths for free use and there is also a reasonably priced massage service. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was ok - hot and cold buffet but quite basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BKK, Thailand

Walkable, quiet, clean, and great staffs

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Walkable. It's close to everything. The great restaurants are around.
The staffs were so helpful and full of service mind. The room is big and quiet. All amenities work well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Extremely spacious & affordable hotel!

Posted Mar 21, 2016
The hotel was extremely close to the Takayama Train Station and Nohi Bus Station for day trips to Shirakawa-go. Hotel was extremely spacious and room size was more to that of a typical western hotel (about 25 to 32 square metres in size), as oppose to the tight and squeezy 15 square metres 'westernized' Japanese business hotels. Plenty of space available for walking about even if you have multiple luggages lying around in the room. Amenities are all included in each room. Staff are extremely friendly and greet you everytime you leave and return to the hotel. Morning breakfast was buffet style and offered about 10+ dishes which were tasty. Absolutely no reservations in giving this hotel a thumbs up and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Takayama!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in a small town

Posted Feb 24, 2016
great value. close to train station. the room is small but clean and nice. the only down side is that it does not have Japanese onsen, but only western Jacuzzi. All in all, worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Location and rooms.
Location: Conveniently located near the bus/train station. Within walking distance to attractions, restaurants and shops.
Great location, close to the bus/train station and within easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lee

Worst hotel in my entire trip

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Upon check in i was informed that the rooms are all heated due to winter. It was about 17C...however room was stuffy. I was asked to open the windows but i didn't feel comfortable. I asked for a fan and was told that they only have 1 fan. I have 3 rooms booked. I asked to speak to a manager but there wasnt any available. She even told me to complain to Expedia. I requested a follow up the next day but no one bothered. Went back the next afternoon and had to repeat myself to another receptionist who repeated that they only have 1 fan. I raised hell and then they offered another fan. Unbelievable!!! The staff attitude is like too bad, speak to Expedia. When a hotel advertises that it has air conditioning,then they have to make sure that it is available through out. If it is not available for certain months then make an indication. We ran into the same issue at Grand Terrace Toyama and they immediately offered us fans for all rooms. That is a 3 star hotel and we paid twice the price for Best Western. From Takayama we moved on to Hotel Nikko who addressed the same issue straight away. I would avoid this hotel at all cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Good hotel at very good price. Room are clean and in good conditions. Hotel offers a very nice spa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri City, TX

Not a good value

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Good location convenient to the train and bus stations.
Cons: Better placement of room furnishings to create space. Better cleaning of bath to remove mildew odor.
Location: Hilda Folk Village. Day Trip to Komikochi.
This was the most we paid during a 2-week trip to Japan, even more than a stay at a Courtyard in Tokyo Ginza district. The room was cramped and the bath had a mildew smell. On check-in, they told us that our reservation did not include breakfast even though our Expedia confirmation showed full breakfast included. Part of the problem was that the Best Western reservation number was not shown on the Expedia confirmation. After several minutes of back and forth, the manager agreed that we would have breakfast included. The worst part of our experience was the evening of Sept 22. After having been turned away at several restaurants in town (it was a Japanese holiday) we returned to the hotel. We were told that the restaurant had a group booking and that tables in the breakfast area were booked, but we could be accommodated if would agree to a single meal option of steak and fries for 3,500 Yen. The picture did not look appealing so we went to the front desk to ask about room service. We were told, "Sorry, the kitchen is too busy." This, even though there is a room service menu in our room. We walked out the front door of the hotel and saw a small Japanese restaurant immediately across the street. The menu posted had English subtitles, but we'd have gone in anyway. There was an empty table which we were invited to and it turned out to be a true Japanese experience. Three of us ate a freshly prepared dinner for less than 5,000 yen total.