Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 3, 2017
We had a great experience at this hotel. Very clean and awesome location. My only negative would be the price as we have paid less for a similar room in other parts of Japan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Holiday at Takayama

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Just opposite from rail and bud station but quiet. Major interesting areas are within walking distance.
Cons: Bed was hard, small and of poor quality. Need to replace.
Location: Near transportation. Restaurants & shops nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The most disappointing feature of the room was that it was so tiny - really only a room for a single person. The bed was only three quarter size not even double and there was no room to open up a suitcase. Its best feature was its proximity to the railway station. There were other rooms in the hotel that appeared to be bigger. When booking you need to be aware that the 'special' deal is this sort of room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a room to rest...

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Walking around would cover the town and its ancient beauty in less than a day.
We came during the autumn festival. Basically used the hotel to sleep at night. Bit overpriced for the offering. On the plus side, it's just minutes from JR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Good location right across the train station. Within walking distance of the old town area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location near Train station

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Convenient location for train and bus travel.
Cons: Tourist related information in English to be made available at the hotel.
Location: Great. The bus stand is minutes away and you can take buses to popoular tourist locations.
We stayed just one night on our way to Shirakawa-go from Kyoto. It served the purpose without any problem. The hotel is visible when you come out of the station. The bus station is adjacent to the train station. So it worked well the next day to board the bus within minutes of leaving the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: The staff were welcoming.
Location: Well located to the station, buses, restaurants and old town.
The hotel was close to the station, shops and many tourist sites. The staff were helpful and friendly and spoke some English. The room was average but comfortable enough to use as a base.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located opposite station

Posted May 3, 2016
Stay spoilt by less than helpful staff. Only issued us with one card to get access to room and absolutely refused to allow my wife access until I arrived. Also did this with other guests. Had system allowing us to nominate not to have sheets changed for environmental reasons but ended up with new sheets and an unmade bed with old sheets. No big deal but ???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Nice hotel. Great location.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Large room by Japanese standards.
A nice place to stay in a great location near train stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Close to the station

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Location--close to the train station and also the main attractions in town
Cons: Some nearby restaurant suggestions (and their hours) near the hotel
Location: It's a 10-15 min walk to the 'downtown' area of Takayama. Half an hour-ish walk if you want to get to the entrance of the walking trail
We chose this hotel specifically for its proximity to the station (JR Takayama) and to the rest of the sites in the town (which, I should mention, is very walkable). That's pretty much what attracted us to this hotel over others! The group I was traveling with doesn't speak Japanese but all the staff we interacted with can speak English (handy if you have multiple room bookings under each individual's name)! Check in went smoothly and quickly, which was nice since we booked through Expedia. There's also a konbini (convenience store) a block over from the hotel so no worries in case you need to dash outside for late night munchies. It's an older hotel (which is pretty typical in smaller towns, I find) but clean. I won't be back in Japan for a while but I'd stay here again, due to the sheer convenience of its location. If I had one improvement, maybe some listings of good restaurants nearby for dinner, and hours. We found that most restaurants were full and/or closed early when we arrived in the evening (which was around 6PM).