Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Javier

Stayed in the japanese room and loved it!

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the japanese room for one night and we loved it. The owner of the hotel was very nice. The room was very clean and the futtons were very comfortable. The location of this place is very good as it is near the train station and near the city centre. The onsen was very clean as well. I will stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good location and comfortable room

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet street
Cons: Electric kettle should be provided in the room.
Location: Close to train and bus stations.
The western-style room has private bath and toilet, is clean, convenient and comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance to the old streets area and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean and reasonable price

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Minshuku Kuwataniya is very close to JR station and its easy to find. Its also close to Miyagawa market and nearby tourist attractions. Overall a comfy stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from perth WA

What a surprisingly good location

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: It has a lift and not those very steep stairs some have. Don't bring heavy bags is my tip .glad we stayed twice!
Cons: Maintain the current stardards
Location: The best for a special part of Tokyo
First time in a Ryokan. Sleeping takes some getting used too and the overall ritual of foot wear. Dining room b/ fast was a great intro to japanese morning food which can be a palate challenge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Traditional minshuku, good public baths with privacy. Toilets separate by gender on floors. Forgot my journal, the housekeeper came over six blocks to find me in the train station, standing in the line. Above and beyond expectations. Domoo arigatoo gozaimasu.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Miyagima gem

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely guesthouse. We opted to take our dinners at the guesthouse and they were excellent kaisiki style.the oysters are the best ever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great value hotel with traditional feel

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Availability of an onsen.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Walkable from main station.
Quite a large room by Japanese standards. Staff are friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
nice location a short walk from the station, excellent restaurant very near, walkable to main sights